We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit pricey and probably trying to be too many things”

Oasys MiniHollywood
Book In Advance
More Info
US$56.33*
and up
Full-Day Western Theme Park Tour of Mini Hollywood - Oasys
Ranked #4 of 83 things to do in Almeria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: In Tabernas, the only desert in Europe, are the authentic westerns scenarios, turned into the most original Mediterranean Theme Park with Live Shows, a huge Zoological Reserve with more than 800 animals of 200 different species, Pool Areas and a large range of Restaurants, Educational Activities and Events and Celebrations management.
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Western part of this attraction looked like it should be great. The two shows were great, but after that there wasn't much to see or discover. They could have made more of all the movies and stars that have apparently used this place. If you are a film buff, you will be a little disappointed. The other sites near by may well be better option, especially considering the price.

There is also a zoo, which is real hard work walking round in the sun. The animals seem to be finding it rather hard too.

Our kids are all over 12 so paying 22 euros each was rather painful and simply not worth it. They then also have the cheek to charge 2.95 to park! Glad we went but would never return.

2  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, CM at Oasys MiniHollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us.

Parque Temático del Desierto de Tabernas –Oasys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 293 of 1,554 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was definately a trip for the men out there that have never grown up!
They get the cowboy's, a through back to their childhood, and the Can-Can girls in the saloon!
The Good The Bad and the Ugly, A Fist full of Dollars are a couple of old western films that were actually filmed here.
Joking apart it was a good day out!!!!!!!
There is actually a Zoo attached that you can visit included in the entrance price. My advice on the Zoo would be to take good comfy shoes at it is one hell of a hike to get around it!
There were a couple of surprises at the Zoo, they had Hippo's which I have never seen in real life and the closeness you are to the Tiger and Hyena is unreal.

3  Thank jennifer r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Oasys MiniHollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Know that it is our aim that pass a pleasant experience and that's what we are working and trying to improve every day.

Parque Temático del Desierto de Tabernas –Oasys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We traveled to this attraction with my wife and fifteen year old son, having viewed previous contributions and, on the whole, I would endorse what has been previously said. I did not expect an original film-set... and the whole experience surrounding the western themed areas was first class. We thoroughly enjoyed the gunfight scene and the can-can show..... on each of the two occasions that we watched them.
We did venture into the zoo areas but were immediately depressed by the sight of a tiger in a small compound and so did not stay for long; and treated ourselves to that second round of western style entertainment instead.
We did not visit the water park so can offer no comments about this.

2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, CM at Oasys MiniHollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2014

Thank you for your comment. Unfortunately has not been 100% satisfied in our park.

Parque Temático del Desierto de Tabernas –Oasys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The good-

Water area (pool/slides/jacuzzi) was wonderfully refreshing and a great breather in the heat! Changing rooms available for those who don't arrive in swimwear. The slides are heaps of fun and unmanned so rendering lots more fun!

The set of the western still looks similar to the original in "fistful of dollars" (we rented the movie that night and thoroughly enjoyed pointing out various parts!)

Seeing and petting the horses who seemed well loved and cared for. Also kids and adults alike can sit on one of them saddled-up for a pic (free-with your own camera).
The photo opps are vast-we had one in a "wanted" sign which has resulted in amusing outcomes! We all already had western sun hats so it added flavour to the theme!

The bad-

Entry price a little pricey but it is to be expected regardless.


The show, although enthusiastic and generally great, needs maybe a script re-write? ...pretty sure you don't survive bullets to the head! Or hanging...twice. But in a sense this was funny too so I suppose I can't really call it a negative. Plus, some of their moves with the horses were pretty cool!

The ugly-

The camel in the zoo definetly looked depressed/in need of a buddy (im no zoologist/vet but im pretty sure it wasn't happy!) rest of the animals seemed alright, a few of them needed bigger enclosures and more shade (tigers...hyenas...). But otherwise it was interesting to look around but very hot, so take water (although various refreshment areas are available).

Overall: a thoroughly entertaining day out and id be curious to check out the fort bravo set down the road next time!

2  Thank Lgccpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, CM at Oasys MiniHollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We hope to visit again.

Parque Temático del Desierto de Tabernas –Oasys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I was really disappointed. I expected to see the remains of sets from the spaghetti westerns of fifty years ago but there's nothing left of the original Dollar film sets with the possible exception of the El Paso bank. It is no longer a working film studio but rather it has become a western theme park for kids. There is also a zoo and pool. So, don't bother with it unless you have a couple of eight year olds in tow.

Fort Bravo, a couple of miles up the road, is still used as a film set. It was used in a Dr Who episode a couple of years ago.

2  Thank BlackAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, CM at Oasys MiniHollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2014

Thank you for your comment. Unfortunately has not been 100% satisfied in our park.

Parque Temático del Desierto de Tabernas –Oasys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oasys MiniHollywood also viewed

 
Almeria, Province of Almeria
 

Been to Oasys MiniHollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing