We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A pleasant hour.

It's on the small side for a cathedral, but quite striking inside. As others have mentioned the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
OriginalJerseyGirl
,
Jersey, United Kingdom
Lovely building

This pleasant cathedral has bathroom facilities & handheld guides, which were easily to follow. It... read more

Reviewed 15 September 2018
Alexandra R
,
St Andrews, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 513 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Almeria
from US$53.90
More Info
from US$82.60
More Info
from US$38.40
More Info
Reviews (513)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
55
51
19
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
51
19
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio guide entrance fee worth a visit beautiful building pristine condition special interest palm trees euros per person awe inspiring interesting visit interesting place civil war cloisters religious choir paintings history
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've never paid to go into the Catedral but attended the service. A lovely space and well worth a visit.Its steeped in history and the bells are wonderful.

Thank UkSylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

It's on the small side for a cathedral, but quite striking inside. As others have mentioned the commentary on the audio guide was a bit drawn out, so I didn't listen to all of it. But interesting as being a place of worship and a fortification.

Thank OriginalJerseyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you are interested in cathedrals then give this a look. The audio tour is very interesting giving details on the history and architectural features of the design.

Thank HappyHols012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ineresting style of architecture, is a "Cathedral Fortress" full of history and it is the best way to understand the times Spain was invaded by the Moorish. It is not the full on super decorated place to see but more a testament of the wars between Spain the The Moorish.

Thank Campaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

You'll fine this in the small area of the old town. Certainly worth a visit. Nice atmosphere and good photo opportunities inside and in the square.

Thank 205jeanniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

You pay to enter and get an audio tour. It’s a beautiful building, not what you’d expect inside from the outside. We found the commentary a little dry though so was easy to lose track of what was being said. I don’t regret going in, but wouldn’t put it high up on a list of things to do in Almeria unless you had a special interest.

1  Thank londongirl245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

At 5 euros each I was expecting so much more. The cloister is nice and the inside is the cathedral is pretty, but it’s very small with not very much to see.

Probably one for the devout religious visitors. There’s an audio guide included in the price but I didn’t bother with it after the first couple of stops as it was more detail than I was interested in.

1  Thank chowso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

This pleasant cathedral has bathroom facilities & handheld guides, which were easily to follow. It has a very small gift shop

1  Thank Alexandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

We spent a good hour here with someone who knew the cathedral and history well. Very interesting and absorbing, especially the history of Catholicism in Spain. I would recommend an audio or local guide to get the best from your visit.

1  Thank LMS570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Reluctant partner accompanied me round the cathedral, beautiful, liked the commentary in English , not at all religious but still found interesting.

1  Thank Piffin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews