We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heart of the City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Catedral Almeria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Catedral Almeria
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Almeria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Heart of the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

This hotel provides a great opportunity to experience the soul of Almeria due to its old town location, modern features that preserve historical architecture, and excellent service all for a good value.
Can be a little noisy from weekend activity in square. Walking distance to great restaurants, main shopping, beach and historical monuments.
Carmen was a wonderful hostess!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjmsba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    82
    28
    13
    13
See reviews for
23
126
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Magnificamente situado, habitación amplia, disponibilidad de internet aunque no la utilices, amabilidad del personal, limpieza, modernidad a la vez que sobriedad y elegancia. Hubo un pequeño problema que el personal solucionó rápidamente. Los pintores habían terminado su trabajo y el personal de limpieza no revisó el cuarto de baño cuando abandonaron la habitación los pintores, cuando llegamos tuvimos que avisar para que lo limpiaran, no tardaron ni un minuto en subir y reparar el error.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taube1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

was it the view over the central square and the Cathedral? was it the high ceilings? was it the elegant staircase with chandeliers, the beautiful rooms with amazing beds? In the charming town of Almeria Hotel Catedral is the place to stay for a touch of minimalistic romance. In combination with a special price offer, it was a treat!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olyvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Potentially a lovely hotel - we were let down by a failure to inform us when we booked of a problem with the water heating system. Equally when we arrived later in the day we were not informed. Even in the evening we were told that we would have to keep running the shower to get hot water - nonsense - the water heating had been off all day!!

We were barely apologised to and the staff saw no reason why they should have warned us or offered a discount.

I cannot recommend this supposedly four star hotel!!

Terry W

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORWAY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Having previously stayed in Torreluz iii we decided to try this hotel for a change because of it's impressive location( in the cathedral square).

The room, despite it's size, did not live up to the impressive entrance and exterior. Firstly it was obviously not cleaned to a high standard with dust visible in many places. This made it itchy and unpleasant to stay in. There was no mini bar. The television didn't work and when we complained about it we were accused of changing the settings by an unfriendly member of staff. Although the bed was comfortable I did not enjoy my experience here and will not be returning. The impression was of a cold, uncaring atmosphere and not worth the extra euros! Will be sticking to Torreluz iii in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

Almeria has very limited 4 star hotels, this is definately the best of the bunch I would say. The building is very pretty and situated in a lovely little square although there were a load of roadworks going on throughout our stay.

I agree with others that have reviewed this hotel, the service here is quite poor and the staff are quite abrupt and not very welcoming at all.

We booked the Junior Suite on the top floor which was huge and decorated very nicely, very trendy although I noticed immediately the poor standard of cleanliness....dirty dusty floors, stains on the valence sheet, fingers marks on pretty much everything, especially in the bathroom. Nice room for the money but be warned it is situated directly under the hotels generator which was VERY noisey, I was ok as I came armed with my earplugs but my partner wasn't so lucky!

The rooftop terrace is nice, sunbeds laid out and a nice little jacuzzi to cool down in although the whole thing was closed off for a wedding for 2 days during our stay. They appear to hold a lot of functions in this hotel and because it is not non smoking like most places in Spain, the ground floor on many occasions was engulfed with cigarette smoke which was really quite nasty, we were lucky we were based on the 5th floor, if you were on the first or second this could be a problem (unless you like inhaling cigarette smoke of course)!

Good points, overall pretty good value for money, free internet access in every room and a constant supply of bottled water on all floors.

Note....the hotel does not provide free parking, this comes at an extra cost of 15 euros per day.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seashore987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon England
Level Contributor
162 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

The hotel is situated in the beautiful Cathedral Square within easy reach of shops and the Alcazabar . The hotel is full of original features which make it very attractive. A previous review mentioned the bells which rang at 8 am onwards but they did not bother us and I quite enjoyed hearing them. There is free internet access in the room on a state of the art computer. There is private parking for 15 euros a night in a nearby carpark which is interesting to find due to very small one way streets. The room was smart with a large bed and good bathroom. No tea or coffee in the room but free bottles of water outside the room. Almeria is a lovely very Spanish small city, easy to walk around with plenty of restaurants and tapas bars. The Alcazabar is stunning and from there the views of the city, mountains and sea are amazing.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aeb67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almeria hotels
0.7 mi away
NH Ciudad de Almeria
NH Ciudad de Almeria
#1 of 34 in Almeria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Vieja Hotel and Lounge
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nuevo Torreluz
Hotel Nuevo Torreluz
#4 of 34 in Almeria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Almeria
AC Hotel Almeria
#8 of 34 in Almeria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tryp Indalo Almeria
Tryp Indalo Almeria
#5 of 34 in Almeria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elba Almeria Hotel
Elba Almeria Hotel
#3 of 34 in Almeria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral Almeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral Almeria

Property: Hotel Catedral Almeria
Address: Plaza Catedral 8, 04001 Almeria, Spain (Formerly Husa Catedral)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Almeria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Almeria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Catedral Almeria 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Catedral Almeria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Catedral Almeria
Husa Catedral Hotel Almeria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing