We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, very good value and wonderfully close to the cathedral”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Catedral Almeria
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Almeria
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We booked a fortnight beforehand and managed to get a 15% discount on the room for most nights. When we arrived, we were delighted to find that the windows of our room were literally a couple of metres from the walls of the cathedral - this hotel is in an amazing position (also making it easier to find again after a walk!). The room was very spacious with a sofa, desk, lounging chair and kingsize bed, and very large bathroom. The room was kept scrupulously clean and had very good air conditioning. The dining room/restaurant was spacious and the staff attentive (although they sometimes seemed a bit understaffed on a morning) and the concierges all spoke English (which seemed otherwise quite rare in the area).
The pool on the roof was a bit of a let down - I think it had been intended as a pool/bar but for some reason (lack of guest interest?) it was unstaffed although there were sun loungers etc: similarly the jacuzzi fittings did not work (although the shower did). The hotel parking was also not on site which was a little misleading.
But these are small matters as overall the hotel was a fantastically pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: Rooms near the cathedral are above the hotel restaurant and so can be a bit noisy until midnight but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eab108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

Very nice hotel at the center of Almería. Quite big rooms, nice decoration and right breakfast. Maybe a bit noisy because the restaurant was just below our room.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canalbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This hotel provides a great opportunity to experience the soul of Almeria due to its old town location, modern features that preserve historical architecture, and excellent service all for a good value.
Can be a little noisy from weekend activity in square. Walking distance to great restaurants, main shopping, beach and historical monuments.
Carmen was a wonderful hostess!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pjmsba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Magnificamente situado, habitación amplia, disponibilidad de internet aunque no la utilices, amabilidad del personal, limpieza, modernidad a la vez que sobriedad y elegancia. Hubo un pequeño problema que el personal solucionó rápidamente. Los pintores habían terminado su trabajo y el personal de limpieza no revisó el cuarto de baño cuando abandonaron la habitación los pintores, cuando llegamos tuvimos que avisar para que lo limpiaran, no tardaron ni un minuto en subir y reparar el error.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taube1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

was it the view over the central square and the Cathedral? was it the high ceilings? was it the elegant staircase with chandeliers, the beautiful rooms with amazing beds? In the charming town of Almeria Hotel Catedral is the place to stay for a touch of minimalistic romance. In combination with a special price offer, it was a treat!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olyvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Potentially a lovely hotel - we were let down by a failure to inform us when we booked of a problem with the water heating system. Equally when we arrived later in the day we were not informed. Even in the evening we were told that we would have to keep running the shower to get hot water - nonsense - the water heating had been off all day!!

We were barely apologised to and the staff saw no reason why they should have warned us or offered a discount.

I cannot recommend this supposedly four star hotel!!

Terry W

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Having previously stayed in Torreluz iii we decided to try this hotel for a change because of it's impressive location( in the cathedral square).

The room, despite it's size, did not live up to the impressive entrance and exterior. Firstly it was obviously not cleaned to a high standard with dust visible in many places. This made it itchy and unpleasant to stay in. There was no mini bar. The television didn't work and when we complained about it we were accused of changing the settings by an unfriendly member of staff. Although the bed was comfortable I did not enjoy my experience here and will not be returning. The impression was of a cold, uncaring atmosphere and not worth the extra euros! Will be sticking to Torreluz iii in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almeria hotels
0.1 mi away
Aire Hotel & Ancient Baths
0.7 mi away
NH Ciudad de Almeria
NH Ciudad de Almeria
#1 of 30 in Almeria
948 reviews
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Almeria
AC Hotel Almeria
#8 of 30 in Almeria
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Vincci Hotel Envia Almeria Wellness & Golf
1.7 mi away
Elba Almeria Hotel
Elba Almeria Hotel
#3 of 30 in Almeria
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nuevo Torreluz
Hotel Nuevo Torreluz
#4 of 30 in Almeria
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral Almeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral Almeria

Address: Plaza Catedral 8, 04001 Almeria, Spain (Formerly Husa Catedral)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Almeria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Almeria
Price Range: £55 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Catedral Almeria 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Catedral Almeria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Catedral Almeria
Husa Catedral Hotel Almeria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing