We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Catedral Almeria
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Almeria
Reviewed 27 December 2013

unique location next to the cathedral and beautiful square.
nice roof terrace with a plunge pool
Spacious clean rooms, friendly staff, great breakfast, nice tapaz unique terrace evening
we are coming back next year

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

The location is just next to the cathedral. Just in the heart of everything. The room is nice, well renovated with great shower.
The room though did not have any view (although I asked for a room with a view on my reservation). A narrow window which did not allow much light in the room. Also, the roof terrace was closed. The weather was great and we could even sunbathe but we could not get to the terrace. The service in the hotel is a 1 star- none.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect for enjoying the city of Almería by foot (we arrived by train for the weekend) as car parking nearby is hard to get and quite expensive. Our room was nicely decorated, but we didn´t have a view. For the view we asked to go up to the rooftop terrace (during summer, there is a jaccuzi here...to call it a pool, as I saw elsewhere, is a very far stretch from reality), and it was really nice.
When considering this hotel, try to book well in advance...and check whether some sites offer better prices than the hotel itself (we saw both situations, about a week apart some 5 weeks before we were planning to go there)...we booked for 3 nights (no breakfast included) and payed 140€. When staying in the hotel, you can get a tapas menú (consisting of 4 tapas, really big and good quality, together with 2 drinks) for the very interesting price of 15€...only sunday to thursday, I remember.
The bar & restaurant are very popular, so be aware there might be noise and tables might be hard to get, but we cannot complain about this, neither do we complain about the reception : although the person at the reception wasn´t always the same, they were always friendly, and the restaurant bill we had charged to the hotel bill was correct. Near our room, there was a fridge with free bottles of water, which we could really appreciate a lot. We had free wifi, and our bags were kept in a closed and transparent locker space near the reception the last day of our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank onzils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Perfect location, Small room, poor reception. It seems thatnthe hotel is an after-thought of the bar and the restaurant which dominate the scene downstairs.

This being said the beauty of the catedral at the door steps of the hotel and the situation at the heart of the old town still make it a very decent stop, but not a 4-star one. Very reasonable price should be taken into consideration as well.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Bernard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The location of the Hotel, directly next to the cathedral, is very nice. But the hotel is definitely no 4 star standard. The two negative points were the unfriendliness of the stuff at the reception desk and our room. The room was spacious, but the view was awful. From our window you could only see the courtyard with its air cons. Therefore, the windows were pasted with some weird stickers. Furthermore, the room has had its best days. But the hotel also had some pros. There were fridges with free bottles of water. And the hotel also had a nice rooftop terrace, with sun loungers and a (closed) pool. Overall the hotel was not that good as it seemed, but still value for money as a double room was only 50€.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank SGP08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

(+)
Beautiful, spacious, modern rooms on a good location, great internet connection

(-)
No fridge, a bit noisy

We had a bad experience with the restaurant where service was slow so we left the money on the table outside to leave to our rooms. The day after, we were accused rather strongly of not paying which was not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mootjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We booked a fortnight beforehand and managed to get a 15% discount on the room for most nights. When we arrived, we were delighted to find that the windows of our room were literally a couple of metres from the walls of the cathedral - this hotel is in an amazing position (also making it easier to find again after a walk!). The room was very spacious with a sofa, desk, lounging chair and kingsize bed, and very large bathroom. The room was kept scrupulously clean and had very good air conditioning. The dining room/restaurant was spacious and the staff attentive (although they sometimes seemed a bit understaffed on a morning) and the concierges all spoke English (which seemed otherwise quite rare in the area).
The pool on the roof was a bit of a let down - I think it had been intended as a pool/bar but for some reason (lack of guest interest?) it was unstaffed although there were sun loungers etc: similarly the jacuzzi fittings did not work (although the shower did). The hotel parking was also not on site which was a little misleading.
But these are small matters as overall the hotel was a fantastically pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: Rooms near the cathedral are above the hotel restaurant and so can be a bit noisy until midnight but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eab108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almeria hotels
0.1 mi away
Aire Hotel & Ancient Baths
0.7 mi away
NH Ciudad de Almeria
NH Ciudad de Almeria
#1 of 30 in Almeria
947 reviews
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Almeria
AC Hotel Almeria
#8 of 30 in Almeria
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Vincci Hotel Envia Almeria Wellness & Golf
1.7 mi away
Elba Almeria Hotel
Elba Almeria Hotel
#2 of 30 in Almeria
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nuevo Torreluz
Hotel Nuevo Torreluz
#4 of 30 in Almeria
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral Almeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral Almeria

Address: Plaza Catedral 8, 04001 Almeria, Spain (Formerly Husa Catedral)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Almeria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Almeria
Price Range: £56 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Catedral Almeria 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Catedral Almeria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Catedral Almeria
Husa Catedral Hotel Almeria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing