We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced.”
Review of Funky Cordoba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Funky Cordoba
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced.”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Would recommend it just for 1 or 2 nights tops. Staff is friendly and, although they can't communicate in english fluently, they try their best to understand and help you with whatever's needed.
The hostel is not the cleanest place I've ever stayd, specially the bathrooms, and the kitchen didn't have enough basic utensils, making almost impossible to cook over there.
The location is ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    46
    35
    21
    17
See reviews for
5
40
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was fine if you want an affordable stay for a stopover in Cordoba. The rooms were nothing special and there wasn't a typical 'fun' atmosphere that I enjoy in hostels. Staff did their job but not particularly friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marygold99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The beds hadn't been made and there was hair all over them. The safes in the room were broken and the bathroom was disgusting. We sat around for a long time waiting for someone to speak to but didn't even get acknowledged. There was one girl running around doing everything while the remaining staff members (who were the people staying in our filthy room) were too busy making and eating their lunch to talk to us or help out. Do not stay here!!! Go to the Bed and Be hostel!

Room Tip: Please do not stay here. It is a horrible hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l_beans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cordoba hotels

Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The name isn't Terrace Backpackers Hostel anymore. It us changed into Funky Hostel Cordoba, maybe they try to be one. Well there are pros and cons of course. The room is packed. I stayed in a 5-bed dorm, but the fifth bed is forced to fit in the room so it makes very little space to move around or to store the bags. The hostel is not that clean. The terrace rooftop is somehow dirty and slump. The good things are the location and the AC. The hostel is walking distance to the Mezquita and most of the tourist sites. But since Cordoba is very hot, after walking the whole day you need to rest in AC room, and this hostel provides AC in every room. I guess all the hostel fee goes to the energy cost.

Room Tip: Just make sure the AC is working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I like how close it is from the mezquita, and the staff are very helpful, they even told me what time of the day to visit the mezquita and Alcazar for free! I stored my luggage there after checking out the next day, and came back late in the afternoon before heading for bus station all wet because of the heavy rain, the staff saw me and the first thing he asked was, "Do you need a towel and a blow dryer?"

The room was very basic and a bit dirty though. There was a weird smell, but probably it was because I was sharing the room with 3 big guys.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serenayuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

This isn't a party hostel, but then Cordoba is pretty small anyway. I only stayed here one night on the way from Seville to Madrid and took advantage to have a chilled-out evening. Get yourself your own room with ensuite, it's really good value. Location is great, really close to the Mezquita - make sure you visit! - and there's a nice rooftop terrace but didn't really see anyone on it.

I had a few issues connecting to the wifi, but otherwise all good, and the staff were really friendly. One thing to watch out for - I took the bus from the station and for some reason the onboard screen with the stop name announcements was wrong. So I got off the bus way before the hostel. Basically, make sure you get off the bus when you're by the river - the bus stop is by the river, and the hostel is just one street away! Probably worth checking a map too. And I guess I was a bit unlucky with a dodgy bus!

Good hostel for one night stay, but more like a hotel but really really good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxmax_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

This hostel now goes by the name of Funky Cordoba and is part of a chain that is found in Granada and Malaga as well. It's a really cool place with a downstairs bar and the rooms are adequate. However we were overcharged with our booking on hostel world and they politely refused to give us a refund (mind you they chucked the 2e breakfast in for free). There isn't too much of an atmosphere and on the second night one of the girls was locked into our bathroom! Apart from that the staff were nothing but polite and we had a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldengap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.2 mi away
Backpacker Al-Katre
Backpacker Al-Katre
#7 of 51 in Cordoba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.6 mi away
May Flowers Hostel
May Flowers Hostel
#5 of 51 in Cordoba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Osio
Hostal Osio
#5 of 38 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Sueno Hostel
El Sueno Hostel
#23 of 51 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hostal Restaurante Carlos III
0.6 mi away
Cordoba Bed and Be
Cordoba Bed and Be
#2 of 51 in Cordoba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Cordoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Cordoba

Property: Funky Cordoba
Address: Calle Lucano 12, 14003 Cordoba, Spain (Formerly The Terrace Backpackers Hostel)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Funky Cordoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing