We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sizeable steaks, relaxed atmosphere in the heart of old Cordoba”

La Tranquera Restaurante
Ranked #26 of 862 Restaurants in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: First argentinian- Spanish restaurante in the juderia.....asador, steakhouse, charcoal grill, argentinian beef. Traditional cordoban food, tipical argentinian kitchen.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sizeable steaks, relaxed atmosphere in the heart of old Cordoba”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Looking for an appetizing alternative to the ubiquitous tapas of Andalusia? Do you have a hankering for a high-quality, grilled steak? La Tranquera is a good choice. The owner is friendly and helpful. The steaks (ribeye, entrecôte, filet mignon) are ample and very tasty. They are served with thick-cut, deep-fried potato slices and a fresh side salad with a balsamic dressing. The beer is cold, refreshing and plentiful. Steps from the Mezquita in an unassuming space brimming with character.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poethammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    279
    54
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was the best meal we had in Spain! The service was excellent and in a great location to enjoy people watching. We would definitely go there again and again! Great value for the money

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ftryon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A very good dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just passing by and thought it looked interesting and it was !
Helpful waitress as the menu was in Spanish. Steak was perfect with lovely salad and fried potatoes, bottle of good wine, water, beer and coffee for 2 for under 50 euros - not bad !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karijude600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best place in cordoba!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I recently visited Cordoba and had a great time at La Tranquera! We stumbled upon it by chance but must admit it was brilliant.

There was no English on the menu so we were a little concerned as our Spanish is terrible. The lovely owner went through the whole menu with us dish by dish! There were so many great Spanish and Argentine dishes we were kind of stumped with where to start so we ordered a few tapas and a meal to share.

The food came out and my gosh! Huge portions and absolutely delicious! We tried some typical cordovan dishes too which were great!

The prices are excellent, setting exactly what you picture of spain and the staff were some of the nicest we came across in Spain!!

Highly reccommend!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Biwako-bass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Taste of Argentina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We ate there 2x because the food was so good. Our waiter the first nite turned out to be Gonzalo, the owner, who introduced himself as such the 2nd visit. He is from Argentina and knows how to cook their specialties. We had been to Mendoza a few months before and were familiar with good Argentine cooking. This restaurant is quite comparable to that. The steaks are great. The meat and the Rabo de Torro empanadas are quite tasty, more so than the cheese empanada. Service and decor are good. There are just a few tables at ground level, so you may have to eat upstairs. The wine list is good and the prices are more reasonable than a good US steakhouse.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thewac0kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tranquera Restaurante also viewed

Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
 
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
 

Been to La Tranquera Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing