We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stiff, unfriendly, incompetent desk manager (...only staff?...)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hospederia del Atalia
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“stiff, unfriendly, incompetent desk manager (...only staff?...)”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

all in all, a very disappointing experience from the minute we stepped into the "lobby". Very difficult for our Navi to find, difficult to stop your car anywhere conveniently near to drop luggage near the hotel, and after this original frustrating experience, only gets worse when you encounter the first member of staff at the reception desk.
Location is good, but rooms are ludicrously designed, stuffy, noisy with none of the charm one would expect in the center of old town Cordoba. Staff is un friendly, no communication, and the concept"hospitality" especially at the desk shines due to its absence. this experience unfortunately destroys any expectations one might have of friendly Cordoba.
Definitely, overpriced.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ruby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    128
    50
    12
    6
See reviews for
47
176
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Its redeeming feature is the location. It is hidden in an obscure off lane corner but provides an easy walk to the major attractions.

The down side is that the rooms were designed by a madman (in one case we had to climb over the bed to get in). Without air-conditioning you need the windows open, but on one side you have a music/dance school with noise until 9:30pm on the other a courtyard with people being boisterous until 2:00am. Take your pick.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are clean but contain a tardis like shower arrangement where the on-board radio works just fine, but getting the main function (the shower) to work is more of a challenge.

The staff seem more like robots than real people. If you are lucky, you may find the day manager who is decisive and pleasant - if not, start whistling.

Room Tip: Make sure you see the room before accepting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We got a very good deal for this hotel and paid under 40€ a night, although I think its normal price is at least twice that. We decided to park our car along Paseo de la Victoria and walk down as we didn't fancy driving through the narrow streets of Cordoba, which was a good idea. We nearly missed the hotel as you need to walk through some big black gates and across a courtyard to get to it, but to be fair, it is clearly sign posted unless you're expecting it to be right there in front of you!
Thr staff on reception were lovely and very helpful and although we'd been allocated a twin room, they quickly found us a double one.
The rooms are comfortable and although not particularly spacious, they are big enough (and the bed was really comfortable). All rooms have a space age shower, which is a bit of a treat, although be warned, if you don't take the cover off the plug hole, you'll flood the bathroom!
The hotel is a minute away from the Mezquita and right in the hustle and bustle of old Cordoba, but also near to the shops etc.
I often visit Cordoba and I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

This hotel has a great location right in the middle of the Juderia. Very near the Mezquita and you can walk to anywhere in Cordoba from here (historic area). Very difficult to locate. We used a taxi from train station. If your driving you'll have to park somewhere else and walk to it. Get good directions in advance! Rooms somewhat small but very clean and well appointed. Staff very helpful and friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GA_Traveler34877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
154 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

This hotel has a great location for Cordoba. We walked everywhere. The room was very clean too and we appreciated being able to check in early. This hotel could get a five star TA rating from me and others if it added basic amenities that were lacking such as a minibar, safe, and a computer in the lobby to access Internet. They also definitely need to change and offer reasonable prices for their wine in the bar. We wanted to enjoy the rooftop terrace and have a bottle of wine, but all of their wine cost more than 24 euros...we paid it, but thought that it was price gouging. With a little investment, this hotel could be great.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPSWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed with out two children (11 and 8) at end of August and booked the family room which was two rooms with an arch in between. The room was perfect - beds really comfortable, enough room to move around and relax, very quiet for a city hotel. There were two TVs and loads of storage space. The bathroom was very clean and smart. We had the breakfast on the two mornings which was very good - coffee, rolls, fruit juice and yoghurt. The roof terrace was a nice area for the children to explore and very pleasant at night. The staff were very helpful and the car park facility was very useful. We requested directions before we got to Cordoba and they sent us a map which was very easy to use. The location in Cordoba was ideal too - everything within walking distance and a great tapas bar across the road - Bar Raphael. All in all a highly recommended hotel! Our children loved it!

Room Tip: The family room was great for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wfay50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed in Cordoba for one night, last july.They gave us an early check in at a family room(actually two connecting rooms).One of the bathrooms has a plumbing problem and we could not use it.Room is well decorated but a bit too small... Breakfest was a real shame,overpriced and with only a few itens.It was very hot and milk and yougurts were kept out of the fridge...Most of the restaurants at the historic center were closed for vacations and the city had no "energy"...
I would not recommend to spend the night in Cordoba in july.Maybe the best option is to spend the day visiting the Mezquita and Juderia (both worth the visit) and then follow the trip to other places in Andaluzia.We took a train to Granada on the next morning were we found best hotels .restaurants and a nice night life.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilbertos303631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Maimonides
Eurostars Maimonides
#20 of 66 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gonzalez
Hotel Gonzalez
#41 of 66 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Carpe Diem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Patios De Cordoba
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Posada de Vallina
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Conquistador
Eurostars Conquistador
#16 of 66 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospederia del Atalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia del Atalia

Property: Hospederia del Atalia
Address: Calle Buen Pastor 19, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hospederia del Atalia 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular new hotel in the Cordoba´s Jewish Quarter, opened on May 1, 2010.Exquisite decoration and personal attention.Parking on request.The best terrace overlooking the Mosque of Cordoba, where you can dine or enjoy a drink. Mtb and road bike tours leaded and developed by the Giro d´Italia´s winner Pavel Tonkov.Iberian Ham Route in Los Pedroches´ Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hospederia del Atalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing