We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmly welcoming..perfectly located”
Review of Hotel Don Paula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Don Paula
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Warmly welcoming..perfectly located”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We were very impressed with this lovely little hotel and the family who ran it. Our room was fairly spacious, immaculately clean and quiet. It was wonderful to be so centrally located so we could go out and sight-see but pop back into the hotel if needed without getting too far away from the main attractions. We absolutely loved Cordoba...except for being caught off guard the evening of New Year's Eve when everything shut down (except for rather expensive all evening, all inclusive and rather dressy New Year's parties at a few select restaurants). We finally gave up looking for a place to eat dinner at about 10pm and wandered back to the hotel. When the manager's son found out we hadn't eaten...he delivered a wonderful (gratis) dinner to our room (a platter of cheese, ham, shrimp bread, crackers and two delicious hot meat dishes). We were blown away!!! I will chose the memory of meeting wonderful people like this over the elegance of a 5 star hotel any day!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seattlerph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    187
    23
    2
    1
See reviews for
105
423
38
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Very helpful (and essential!) video managed to get us to this tiny hidden hotel once we had navigated the auto via exits several times! The welcome at the hotel from the family was friendly and very helpful with recommendations of sites and restaurants. The lunch recommendation was spot on with Bodegas mezquita but the dinner at taberna del rio very disappointing as it was the day after the fiesta so everything we wanted was off and we suspect the chef was too. Anyway back to the hotel. Basic but spotlessly clean rooms, minimal toiletries so bring shampoo. Excellent location right in the heart of the old part of Cordoba. Helpful valet parking and excellent directions on departure. A lovely stay just too short!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahajtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We booked a room at Don Paula after reading the reviews here and we are very satisfied with the hotel. Clean, quiet, near everything. Run by a family who really makes you feel at home and who are always ready to help you. The bed was excellent with two extra pillows in the wardrobe so you don´t need to " beg " for them as in other hotels; the bathroom has a stool ! ( you can´t find that in many places either ) and the water pressure and temperature in the shower are just excellent.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marga2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The hosts were wonderful and although the parents could not speak English we were still able to communicate with them. Check in was easy, although we had to wait for another couple who wanted to check out a room before deciding. The room is basic, but spotlessly clean. Beds were singles and very comfortable. Air conditioner worked very well. Rooms were quiet. The location could not be faulted and it was lovely to wander around the narrow cobbled streets and find delightful little plazas with their water running. We used taxis to get to and from the station (getting older) and it was interesting how they navigated the narrow streets.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TARDIS4956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Hotel Don Paula is very conveniently located in the charming old part of the city, in or next to the Jewish quarter. It is about 15-20 minutes walk from the train station, 10 minutes walk from major attractions of Cordoba, including the Great Cathedral and Mosque. It's so convenient that we went back to the Cathedral/Mosque next morning when it's free to enter between 8:30 am and 9:30 am. The minibar has two bottles of water and four packs of drinks--all complimentary, which is unusually nice. The wi-fi connection is good. The room is bright, clean, and well appointed, and it has a safe for valuables. The hotel is run by the father and three sons; they speak English and are helpful. The room rate is very reasonable, making Hotel Don Paul an excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The family that runs this hotel were just wonderful. We were having some troubles with our car and they were so helpful. The parents didn't speak English, but the son did. I can't say enough how pleased we were that we chose this hotel.
It's a bit bare-bones compared to the other hotels we stayed in on our 3-week road trip. The room was a bit cramped, the bathroom wasn't modern. But that was ok. It reminded me of traveling as a student. It was clean and quiet, and the bed was fairly comfortable.
Another thing that was just great...we arrived by car, and the hotel is somewhat inside of the city, which is always challenging even if you have a GPS. When we made reservations a few months in advance, they provided us with a video that they made. They set up a camera in a car and drove to the hotel. We watched this video just before driving to Cordoba and found it to be an amazing thing! We recognized all the spots where we were supposed to turn and voila! We found it effortlessly. And when we got there, they said "just leave your car out front and we'll park it for you". How easy is that! Cities can be a real challenge when you're driving and they took out all the pain.
It was an easy walk to the Mesquita and fun parts of the city. A good find.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squeakybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I am nearing the end of a week's stay in this hotel, and am very happy to have selected it among hotels in Cordoba. It is just a few blocks walk from several of the centers of Cordoba that are of major interest to tourists -- some of them in one direction, some of them in another direction. The hotel itself appears to be run by a family, and they do a great job of keeping their guests comfortable. The rooms are reasonably spacious, and come equipped with a little refrigerator which they keep stocked with juices and water available for your use free. You can shop at a DIA supermarket not far away and bring food back to the room if you tire of eating at restaurants or just want to keep snacks on hand. i have not tried these, but they have some vending machines in the common area on the ground floor that appear to provide coffee and other drinks as well. Contrary to what i have found to be common in Spanish hotels, they do not forbid you to eat in your room. They provide you a map showing the hotel's position relative to the major tourist attractions. it's perhaps a 5 or 10 minute walk to the mosque/cathedral in one direction, and a shorter walk in the other direction to one of the main squares in town with the shop-lined street that gets to that square. The old synagogue and the Casa Sefarad are also easy walks. Other attractions, like the fabulous patios of the Viana mansion are longer walks, but I managed that walk despite my 70 years of age and a somewhat weak ankle, so odds are good you can manage it even more easily. In short, if you are not looking for a luxury hotel, but are happy with a very nice mid-level hotel with excellent service and a great location from which to explore town, this is a great choice.

Room Tip: There has been some street repair going on outside while i've been here. A room looking into th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Msafiri_Hodari_Sana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Carpe Diem
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Palace
Eurostars Palace
#10 of 65 in Cordoba
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Las Casas de La Juderia
0.6 mi away
NH Cordoba
NH Cordoba
#14 of 65 in Cordoba
2,564 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viento 10
Hotel Viento 10
#2 of 65 in Cordoba
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Paula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Paula

Property: Hotel Don Paula
Address: Plaza Pineda n 2, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Paula 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Don Paula, you will benefit from an exclusive location in the extraordinary city of Cordoba, right on the old town. The hotel is located in a small square near the Iglesia de la Trinidad, properly situated between the shopping area and the famous neighbourhood called La Judería, where Jewish population used to live during the Muslim era. This neighbourhood is listed as a UNESCO World Heritage site. Thanks to its location, whoever is staying at the hotel may find everything that is interesting to visit in Cordoba really close, such the Mezquita Catedral, The Alcázar de los Reyes Cristianos, The Sinagogue or the main square Las Tendillas, and only five minutes walking from the hotel.You can also find several traditional restaurants as well as shops and businesses surrounding the hotel.The Hotel’s location is well-known as a quiet and familiar environment.The Hotel provides you with 10 rooms, all equipped with bathroom, TV, air condition. There are one public parking at 300 meters from Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Don Paula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing