We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banos Arabes de Cordoba
Ranked #10 of 39 Cordoba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Firstly - be careful - there are other banos arabes in Cordoba. This is a review of the Hospedaria Banos Arabes off calle Almanzor. The baths can be visted separately for 22 euros for unlimited time, but this is a review of the hotel.

The situation is ideal for exploring the juderia, 3 minutes from the mezquita and the alcazar. It's a small hotel (7 rooms) - actually classified as an hostal, presumably due to lack of restaurant, etc.

There is no parking, so you do need to factor in the cost of this 8 - 16 euros a day depending on where you want to park. As with all Spanish towns, I advise parking at a suburban station (usualy free) and taking the train into the centre. It may cost about the same, but it is better for stress levels. The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the station (with a good map)

The staff were really pleasant and helpful. They explained everything well and were relaxed but attentive. I don't know whether they speak English, but there were clearly written English instructions in the room.

The room was small, but prettily decorated and had everything you might need. There was good linen, comfortable mattress, etc. The aircon was efficient and very welcome with outside temps of 44 degrees. There was a multispray shower thing which was pleasant but seemed a bit pointless with the other facilities on offer. There was a tiny, shared terrace accessible through French windows

Self service breakfast was included. Fruit, yoghurt, bread, cake, cold meat, cheese, cereal, bottled juices, toast, jams etc. It can be taken in the tiny eating area or on a small pretty terrace.

Wifi was available throughout the hotel free of charge

The main attraction, of course, is the baths. Unrestricted use is included in the room cost. They were open from 10 - 10 (later at weekends) and were a real treat - a flotation pool, warm pool, cold plunge pool, hot pool and steam room. Massages available at very reasonable rates. Mint tea and almond cakes served on request and free of charge. No hidden restrictions or costs. You do have to wear a silly hat, but then so does everyone else - and the lights are low!

We paid 80 euros for the room, which (even midweek in baking July) is a fantastic bargain. I can't imagine a better place to stay for any kind of visit to Cordoba and I thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you require a lot of space, ask for one of the bigger rooms
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JSofiaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for Banos Arabes de Cordoba
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

Beautiful Ist floor room overlooking the Arab baths on the ground floor(though made the air very humid in the room which , however, is air-conditioned if we'd wished it) - not a huge problem given time of year,though no outside window as such.Tucked round a side street within the Juderia, five minutes walk to the Mezquita and close to some characterful bars/ restaurants and the stunning old walls.Nice friendly welcome and some interesting books to borrow.
Breakfast was self-service in a modern small functional space,quite adequate.Make your own toast situation - worked fine as the hotel wasn't too busy.
We peeked into some of the other rooms that were empty and may choose them in future as they had natural daylight, just a personal preference.There also seemed to be a roof terrace, closed when we were there but would be a nice place for breakfast.
We parked our car in an underground public car park about 5-10 minutes walk away,safe and not too expensive.
Overall - a great stay and we'd choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotlandmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I actually booked this place having seen the reviews on booking.com and was not disappointed. There's no parking but the paid public car park is 5mins walk away just outside the city walls. If you're driving I wouldn't recommend trying to drive up the place even to drop your bags off as the streets are extremely narrow.
We booked one of the superior rooms which was enormous, and it was lovely to be able to use the baths more or less at any time of the day or night. We used them on both the days we were there and also booked a massage - very relaxing.
The location right in the heart of the Juderia (3mins from the Mezquita) is a real bonus.
Breakfast was more than adequate and we took it on a private shady terrace instead of in the dining area.
We would definitely stay there again if we were ever in Cordoba. In fact, Cordoba was my favourite place in our whistle-stop tour of Andalucia. Far less touristy than Granada or Seville, which was surprising given how stunning the Mezquita is.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aliog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I've just stayed for 3 nights at the Baños Arabes de Cordoba (15-18 September 2011) and I must say it was a very pleasant stay, overall.

People might be (unpleasantly) surprised by the (high) price of the rooms, but you have to remember this is a (only) 7 room B&B with a fantastic, wonderful, "wet" plus just below:

- the Arab Baths, the Roman Heritage the Arabs followed of a set of baths made to heal body and mind. Superbly decorated, wonderful courtyard, marble columns, floor and pools, arab lanterns, candles at night, quiet smooth music, you feel transported several centuries back in time...

There are 4 different small pools: a floating pool, with its water saturated in salts in which you have the wonderful experience of floating effortlessly; the hot pool: the warm pool; the cold water pool and the steam room. 15 minutes in the steam room and then a jump into the cold water pool, I tell you, it is just unbelievably great and eases any tired body of the long minutes walking through Cordoba, inside and outside the fantastic Mezquita... The trick is to keep alternating between the different temperatures for a even higher and complete relaxation. And imagine what is feels like to have all this downstairs from your room, waiting for you, from morning to late at night...

The hotel guests can use the baths for free for as long as they want, from 10 am to midnight from sunday to thursday and from 10 am to 2 am on fridays and saturdays, which is the strongest point of the Baños Arabes de Cordoba, together with the unbeatable location, inside the old jewish quarter, 5 minute walk (less when you know your way around) from the Mezquita, right in the heart of Old Cordoba.

Some notes that will help:

- the pools are small but perfectly enough, they're not meant to be big swimming pools but relaxation pools where you can float around, swim a little or just sit in the marble ledge that serves as seating place.
The floatation pool is one of the smallest, it can be used by no more than 5 people at the same time, but since its just one part of the multibathing experience, if there's no place it's just a matter of waiting on the chairs around it a couple of minutes until someone gets out. The cold water pool is just an elevated black stone pool with room for two people, which is just fine because you don't want to stay there for much more than a minute or two, it's a complement to the steam room (place for up to 10 people at the same time).
The hot and warm water pool can hold up to 15 people at the same time although that happens rarely because, again, people keep going from one pool to the next, the place is never really "crowded".

- drinks are available and not expensive at all (and there's free water and free tea).

- only taxis can enter the narrow streets surrounding the Baths although they can't take you all the way to the entrance although they leave you a mere 100 meters away from it. If you have your own car you might park it temporarily to unload the baggage near the Red Cross Hospital (5 minute walk) and then either put it on the closest 24 hour underground parking (10 € per day, 8 minute walking distance from the Baths) or park it for free on the other side of the Roman Bridge, in the Barrio de Miraflores, a 15-20 minute walk from the baths (I preferred the underground parking, all in all, it's safer and the car is closer).

- the staff is helpful and speaks english, french and german.

- the breakfast is good, no eggs but good spanish cured ham, 3 types of spanish cured sausages, fresh tomato, good olive oil, fresh fruit, cereal, milk, coffe, etc, perfectly enough, who needs a "full english breakfast"?...


Needless to say, it's THE perfect place for couples, young or old, although the Baths (who are entering the routine of the people of Cordoba too, who actually enjoy a discount, as well as retired people with a even bigger discount, which I found very fair and attentive) are for all to enjoy.


So, if you want something special, perfectly located, a completely different and wonderful experience and if you don't care too much for luxury rooms (they are functional and overall fine, but some people might find them a bit plane compared to other hotels who offer superior rooms for the same price, little rough on some "edges", some less than perfect details, although that can be explained by the "work in progress" attitude of the owners, who preferred to open the Baths and keep polishing the faults over time), don't hesitate, the prices might be high but do the math, add the 26 € per day per person that you would have to pay as a non-guest going to the baths, take that amount off of what you pay for the rooms and you find out it's not a bad deal, especially if you stay for more than 2 nights.


Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank ArturEduardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We came across this newly-opened hotel on our preferred booking website, just in time for the spring Festival of Patios. While still working out some of the kinks, the hotel is a wonderful place to stay if you are exploring Cordoba on foot. It is conveniently located just a couple of blocks from the Mosque Cathedral, and hotel guests have unlimited access to the spa area -- a warm pool, a hot pool, a cold pool, a steam room, and a mineralized flotation pool -- perfect therapy for tired, sore muscles! There are only seven guest rooms, but the spa area is accessible on a paying basis to non-guests. Breakfast is a serve-yourself Continental spread. The hotel staff is friendly, flexible and helpful without being pushy.

Room Tip: Two rooms overlook the spa patio area.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TotheEndsoftheEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rafa_Balmori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Rocio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
0.2 mi away
Las Casas de La Juderia
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Palace
Eurostars Palace
#10 of 65 in Cordoba
2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ayre Hotel Cordoba
Ayre Hotel Cordoba
#27 of 65 in Cordoba
966 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tryp Cordoba
Tryp Cordoba
#18 of 65 in Cordoba
1,113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hospes Palacio del Bailio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banos Arabes de Cordoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banos Arabes de Cordoba

Address: Calle Almanzor # 18, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cordoba
Price Range: £47 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banos Arabes de Cordoba 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Banos Arabes de Cordoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing