We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel with excellent service”
Review of Balcon de Cordoba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Balcon de Cordoba
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique hotel with excellent service”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have stayed in several Moorish styled boutique hotels in Andalusia and this by far is the best one when it comes to architecture design, room comfort, breakfast, and best of all, their service! The hotel is steps away from the Mezquita and in the old town center, conveniently located to all tourist places and restaurants. The hotel's modern and Moorish styled interior feels serene and relaxing just like the pictures shown on the hotel website. During check-in, there was one couple before us and one couple after us. The staff immediately and politely asked what we like to drink while waiting. After check-in, the staff gave us a tour of the hotel and the building history. We learned about a second entrance to the hotel by the Courtyard of Flowers which was very convenient. The roof top terrace has several tables, patio furniture and propane heaters to keep warm during the evenings. The view over the city from the terrace was beautiful both during the day and in the evenings with the lighted Mezquita. The daily breakfast is a delicious buffet plus a small menu where you can order various types of egg dishes cooked to perfection. The Mitra suite room has a living room and reading/study room. There are many balcony doors open to a small standing room only balconies in every room. The bedroom is also very good in size with two soft chairs and a coffee table. There a very large bathroom with a large built-in wall cabinet with lots of drawers for clothes, shoes and suit cases. I've traveled in many places in the world and stayed in many similar type of boutique hotels. This is the only hotel where my room is cleaned after I came back from breakfast, and from outing in late afternoon or evening, twice a day. We stayed 4 nights and met many of the staff members during all shifts. Everyone of them is courteous and dedicated to make sure you have a wonderful experience. We will return again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the large suite with a living room and study/reading room area. It's really spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank NextPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    109
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
161
640
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Fl
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is a special place in a great location. Walk through the courtyard and upon your arrival, the pampering begins. The house is exquisite; the rooms are beautiful, the service impeccable. The only bad thing is leaving.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmmartin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

This stylish 10 room boutique hotel, converted from an old convent, could not be better located just steps from the Mezquita. It has a lovely small courtyard entered off the street and an incredible rooftop terrace overlooking the old town. Very attentive staff, compact but complete breakfast buffet, well appointed bathroom. Great.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kronikle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We expected good things from this hotel after reading all the reviews and our expectations were met without exception. Excellent, courteous, warm service. Comfortable, beautiful surroundings. Exquisite taste in every detail. Bountiful, delicious breakfast. Our family of four (2 small children) were treated very kindly. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and hope to return ourselves. The staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable.

Room Tip: The roof terrace is gorgeous. This isn't a hotel for children but we dragged our children along...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Larchana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

What a delightful hotel. Location is the best - just a short walk to main attractions as well as modern Cordoba (itself a treat).

A former convent, the hotel's entrance and central court yard create an upscale, serene ambiance. The front desk staff are uber helpful and friendly. Breakfast (room and choices) make for a perfect start of the day.

The only point preventing a 5 star rating was the room. Being upgraded to a suite the initial impression is, well, impressive. However, the bathroom is downright funky. The sink is in the center of the room with no mirror available for shaving, etc. The closet was in the bathroom. The toilet was a separate room - enclosed with a clear door. The bedroom side walls faced the street (much noise - even in November) and the court yard (providing stereo noise from the street and, in good weather, clatter and chatter from the breakfast area just below.

Ask for a quite room and you will be in an almost perfect hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ccran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The hotel is situated around a charming courtyard and the reception just beyond, where we sipped an espresso, while - in our case - Ludovic took care of everything, including upgrading us to an amazing and sultanesque apartment, comprising a lavish living room, ample bathroom and idem bedroom, with windows to both courtyard and street. Could not have been more comfortable. The hotel serves the most excellent breakfast with fresh pomegranate seeds, my first in Spain, and also has a charming roof terrace from where you can contemplate the lit cathedral and Mezquita tower at night and sip a cognac under the gas burners needed on a chilly November night. Unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schateau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel could not be better situated, within a short stone's throw of the cathedral and most of the best of the old city. It has been beautifully and delicately fashioned out of a very old house with a wonderful inner courtyard so is full of character and history. The roof terrace has an extraordinary view over the town and must be wonderful for evening drinks when the weather suits. Service was great and breakfast an interesting buffet. Our standard room was tasteful and delicate but a little tight. Stepping straight out on to a public landing meant that a sense of privacy was hard to create. Top marks for a distinctive, boutique building and atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.5 mi away
Hospes Palacio del Bailio
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
0.2 mi away
Las Casas de La Juderia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Palace
Eurostars Palace
#9 of 65 in Cordoba
2,328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Patios De Cordoba
0.5 mi away
Hotel Viento 10
Hotel Viento 10
#2 of 65 in Cordoba
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcon de Cordoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcon de Cordoba

Property: Balcon de Cordoba
Address: Calle Encarnacion 8, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Balcon de Cordoba 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"We have raised a balcony over Córdoba to be enjoyed by our guests as a true home. This is a warm-hearted invitation for you to find rest with us while discovering the treasures of a magic, ancient town." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Balcon de Cordoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing