We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent boutique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balcon de Cordoba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Balcon de Cordoba
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have just had an exceptional stay in this wonderful hotel, situated right in the heart of Cordoba.
The hotel is beautifully decorated with many historical artefacts. The rooms are all very comfortable with large beds, soft pillows, air conditioning, etc...
There is a lovely inner courtyard for lunch or dinner and a great rooftop bar to have your sundowner with great views over the city.
The hotel arranged tickets for a very good open air flamenco performance, as well as a trip round the city on the Segway (see Cordoba by Segway) and a great way to see the town at the start of your trip so that you can go back and visit it later!
The welcome of Alexander and the rest of the staff could not have been warmer.

Room Tip: No 4! Overlooking the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellePlagneNickP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    105
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
157
623
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We went to see for 2 nights if this hotel merits having the highest classification on Tripadvisor, it does:

Quality of sleep is of uttermost importance in a hotel and Balcon de Cordoba offers huge beds, top quality linen, an enormous mattress, perfect temperature adjustments and control over the light. All in a nicely designed environment, with a mix of some modern as well as antique furniture with even some archaeological pieces as highlights. Upon entering the spotless room one immediately feels at home and in peace.

Service is as good as it gets: the whole team is helpful and attentive, but to the exact level: not intrusive. The manager speaks various languages and immediately upon arrival provides a good map and quickly explains the main attractions in town. The hotel has some nice corners to sit around, like small patio's etc. Each time there someone from the staff came around to see if we wanted something to drink, etc. As this is an antique building there is a whole history attached to it. The hotel has an entry at the back, one should use this facility at least once: surprise!

Location could not be any better: its just 30 steps away from the mosque, Cordoba's centre, on a narrow side street without much traffic. Needless to say the roof terrace views are breath taking, both at night as well as during the day. Everything is so nearby that one can just relaxing stroll everywhere within minutes.

Breakfast is delicious: as this is a small luxury hotel it is just as one would expect: freshly squeezed natural orange juice, a small menu card for eggs that are instantly made and nicely served on the patio. There are fresh fruits, breads and cheeses and cold meats, all of the highest quality. Obviously large chain hotels, regardless of their category, cannot match this level of quality.

In summary one can say that this hotel has the highest ranking on Tripadvisor in Cordoba and the team in the hotel is working very hard to maintain the classification and meet customer expectations which are understandably very high. The service comes also with many small details such as fruits and small pastries in the room, flower on the bed, high quality toiletries based on olive oil in the bathroom, free high speed internet connection, etc. With such superb decoration, location and service it is difficult to find anything negative about this hotel and should therefore remain any tourist visitors preferred choice in Cordoba.

Room Tip: The suits and the rooms with the terraces are of course the best selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WWTravel_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Our first visit to Cordoba, and what a wonderful time we had visiting all the wonderful historic buildings, all within easy reach of the Hotel Balcon de Cordoba. The weekend stay at this hotel was made even more enjoyable because of the wonderful staff who were all so helpful and efficient, the level of cleanliness and our room were second to none. They made my husbands special birthday, even more special. We shall definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank antony n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We loved the room with the balcon and canopied bed under the Andalusian skies, the beautifully renovated part of a convent from the Middle Ages, the warmth and personalized service, the modern amenities and dining al fresco overlooking the Mesquite

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdK54121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This is a gem of a hotel and worth every penny. I loved the mini tour that the hotel reception gave us, explaining the history of this old former convent and the mosaic pebbled courtyard.

The most spectacular views of Cordoba can be had from the rooftop terrace. A beautiful tranquil place to spend the late evenings looking out over the heart of the old city and the cathedral. Order a meal up there and you'll get excellent food with polite and gentle service.

The menu is a little limited, but everything on it is good. Try the orange blossom tea with the baclava type pastry for desert - it was excellent and then just chill and stare up at the night sky full of stars.

The only downside to the hotel is finding it, especially if you are arriving in Cordoba by car. My tip is to ring the hotel, get the directions from them (don't rely on GPS - the street are VERY narrow and you could do serious damage to your car!). The hotel will indicate where you can bring your car and they will take it and park it for you.

But despite the slightly inconvenient access, the place is amazing and the morning breakfast in the beautiful courtyard is amazing! Enjoy!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank zaahid b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a charming hotel, in an historic building that has been beautifully renovated. Staff were attentive, and willing to help with all sorts of things, including flight reservations and mailing home of a large purchase.

Highly recommended!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank podleyblumstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My only regret of our trip is that it would have been nice to spend more time in the hotel; I feel we didn't explore all that there was to offer. However, the staff were amazing, the food was wonderful and the next time we go to Cordoba, we will definitely be staying here! We were in Cordoba for the International Film Music Festival and relied a lot on the staff to help us find venues and help us obtain concert tickets. We would not have had such a good time without their help. Personally I would not want to try to drive to the hotel; we even asked them to arrange for us to be picked up from the train station; however the information that they provided to us in terms of how to get to the hotel by any medium was excellent and I had super quick responses to emails that I sent as well.

Room Tip: We had room 3 on the ground floor which was nice and quiet. If you're intending on keeping Spani...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JennieHHesketh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.5 mi away
Hospes Palacio del Bailio
0.2 mi away
Las Casas de La Juderia
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Palace
Eurostars Palace
#9 of 70 in Cordoba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Viento 10
Hotel Viento 10
#2 of 70 in Cordoba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Patios De Cordoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcon de Cordoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcon de Cordoba

Property: Balcon de Cordoba
Address: Calle Encarnacion 8, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Balcon de Cordoba 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"We have raised a balcony over Córdoba to be enjoyed by our guests as a true home. This is a warm-hearted invitation for you to find rest with us while discovering the treasures of a magic, ancient town." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your Balcon de Cordoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing