We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only bad hotel in three weeks of Andalucia touring”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Los Omeyas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Los Omeyas Hotel
Ranked #40 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The only bad hotel in three weeks of Andalucia touring”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

While its site, only 50 yards from the corner of the Cordoba mosque could not be more convenient for tourists like us, Los Omeyas has little else to recommend it. This is particularly true if you are driving and in need of the hotel parking: this is three long blocks away, in a dark cellar, down a precipitous and sharply-spiraling ramp--and not only that, there is so little room that wedging even our small Skoda in its space made exit from the car possible from only the driver's side. (The street, Encarnacion is so narrow that approaching the only entrance to the hotel, it is impossible to open the car doors for the encroaching walls on either side. Fine for foot traffic but for drivers, a nerve-wracking, tire-rubbing challenge.) Though clean, the rooms are very bare, bringing to mind budget motels on lonesome highways in the upper Midwest--albeit one with white marble floors. There was a recurrent smell of natural gas in the bathroom: after shrugs from the front desk clerk, we slept with the windows cracked widely. The breakfast (on a B&B policy) is meager at best and taken in a windowless, charmless room adjacent to the functional lobby. The staff was young and affected a clueless demeanor, discouraging even the simplest requests for advice, assistance etc. My wife and I--and the couple with us--would advise Cordoba visitors to investigate other places to stay.

Room Tip: Check the room offered before you sign the register: check the operation of the fixtures in the bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBonnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    121
    54
    30
    17
See reviews for
77
100
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Loved this little hotel! Great location steps away from the Mezquita and walking distance to many other attractions. Clean and safe. Maybe a little bit outdated with the bedding, etc but fits the area. Front desk staff were all very helpful with directions and recommendations but would not make a call for us to book a Hammam bath.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyJtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

Rude, unfriendly staff. Extremely noisy all night and early morning. Poor quality breakfast. All in all a most unpleasant experience. The only saving grace was it's location near the Mesquita and historic section.

Room Tip: Not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pembroke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cordoba hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

We had the same experience with the staff that here is already written: if there is any misunderstanding or complaint they become very unfriendly and don't even try to solve the problem, they won't even listen to you what's your complain about. For the money we paid for this (small and noisy!) room we expected a little bit more service and professionalism of the staff. Therefore: not recommended!

Room Tip: Don't book a hotel in the most touristic area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelspain2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,335 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

I stayed here 1 night of April 21,2011.First thing I needed to tell if you're already book this hotel.Please print the map before you go.There are 2 hotels with the same "Los Omeyas Hotel" But it located in different alley.And I'm not recommend if you're newbie driver coz the alley is very very small.The parking space is a bit far from the hotel.

This hotel is only 15 foot steps to Cathedral,other tourist attraction in Cordoba and shopping areas.So,The price,I paid is 98 euro a night without breakfast. I think, it for the good location.

The room quality is really really poor.I mean it.

The bed is extremely soft.It felt like a 20 yrs old bed (If I keep one that long should feel like that) .I couldn't sleep at all.That's why I said only 1 night maximum.

The door lock really cheap quality hardly to open.No fridge with small bath room.For the real world this hotel should cost not over than 48 euro max..really! I don't know how they charge those price.May be coz I went there in the holy week...

The walls and doors were thin..So,please expect that you will hear drunk people on the street ,in the alley yelling,hosy ridding pass, a noise from cars and room next to you.

The staff all friendly and helpful..this is strength point of the hotel.

I take the bus from train station 1.5 euro to San Fernando and walk about 10 - 12 mins to this hotel.On the way back the road was closed so take the taxi to the hotel for 9 euros.

If you have to pay the same price I was paid I'm not recommend this one..try other hotel that a little bit far from Cathedral with more decent size of room.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0_Gyrfalcon_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huercal Overa Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

If you want a hotel with a great location for sightseeing, this is the hotel. We were just on the corner of the Mezquita and in walkable distance to all other historical sites.
The hotel was of a good standard for a 2*.The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels etc and the staff were always pleasant. The only downside to the hotel was how thin the walls were to the adjoining rooms, you could hear everything!!!!!.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pumakit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2008

This is a very old-fashioned hotel in a great location, but the level of service leaves a fair bit to be desired. The rooms are quite small, which is fairly standard in Spain and not a problem for me as a solo traveller. But when I arrived the room smelled as though it hadn't been used in some time, which was fairly offputting. The linen was threadbare to the point of having holes in it and wasn't always changed when the room was cleaned. I wasn't in the room much, so I didn't realise the tv wasn't working until my last day there, which wasn't a problem for me, but might annoy some.

Some of the reception staff were really lovely and helpful, despite my limited Spanish, but the service overall was pretty inconsistent.

  • Liked — great location close to the Mezquita
  • Disliked — cranky manager with Basil Fawlty-standard customer service skills
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Patios
Hotel Los Patios
#39 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mezquita
Hotel Mezquita
#30 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eurostars Maimonides
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marisa
Hotel Marisa
#47 of 70 in Cordoba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gonzalez
Hotel Gonzalez
#41 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Paula
Hotel Don Paula
#4 of 70 in Cordoba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Omeyas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Omeyas Hotel

Property: Los Omeyas Hotel
Address: Calle Encarnacion 17, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Los Omeyas Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Los Omeyas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Los Omeyas
Los Omeyas córdoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing