We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very poor hotel - more like a B and B”
Review of Los Omeyas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Los Omeyas Hotel
Ranked #36 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This is advertised as a 2* hotel and the pictures on the literature etc may mislead you. In reality this is a “bed and breakfast”establishment with rude, surly staff. The bedrooms are built around an atrium which can be opened (by owners) in warm weather. Even when closed the place is very noisy as voices echo around. Those rooms on 1st floor open onto the atrium so although there are windows if you open them the inside of the room is then rather public. Those on the 2nd floor (roof level) benefit from fresh air and can be quieter. Note that the windows open INTO the bedrooms and have very sharp edges and as the rooms are small it can be hazardous. Very limited storage space – a shelf only in a twin room and no luggage rack. Bed sheets were very thin – could see the mattress pattern through the bottom sheet and as the bedding is made up of rather itchy blankets it was not very comfy. Bathrooms needed updating, towels were grey and thin. No bath mat provided and several people in the Ramblers Worldwide Holiday group slipped on the tiled floor when stepping out of bath/shower. Breakfast consisted of a cup of coffee or tea, glass of sweet orange drink and a toasted bun – at a cost of EUR4.50. If you want a small bowl of cornflakes it is an additional EUR2.50! No public seating areas and no other catering at hotel. Other than on Christmas Eve when Cordoba effectively closes and there are no restaurants open for evening meals, this was not an issue as we did not want to spend any more time than necessary here anyway! The only thing going for it is that it is 2 minutes from the Mezquita de Cordoba but there are plenty of other good hotels nearby and Cordoba is sufficiently compact that you are never far away from the sights and sounds of this historical city! Most people arrive in Cordoba on foot as there is limited access to vehicles along the very narrow street so check if you hotel offers a pick up luggage service or you’ll be pulling your case over cobbles.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 2nd floor and away from the lift if you want some peace and fresh air
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMarpleInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

This small 2** hotel is situated only yards away from the Mesquita/Cathedral and is within easy walking distance of all the attractions of the old town. Like most old moorish/spanish buildings it is built around a central courtyard where breakfast is taken. Our room was clean and comfortable and we had a safe which cost 2euros a day for the key. We didn't have a fridge and considering the temperature outside was 40c, it would have been nice to have one. The room was air conditioned so we slept well. There are two downsides to this hotel: 1) The very basic breakfast which is orange juice, coffee, toast and jam or pate. Because we were in a party of 22 people we were asked to all come down to breakfast together which was somewhat chaotic. We had to queue and then as they had no trays, the various elements of the breakfast had to be carried in relays to the table. Someone needs to give them some organisational advice! 2) Because the hotel is in a very narrow side street coaches cannot park anywhere near, so luggage has to be trundled a long way across the bridge and up to the hotel - not good if you have a large case and it is very hot. Because we were such a large group the hotel did meet our coach and transport our luggage in their van, which was a relief, but I don't know if they would do this for individuals. However if you are wanting a quaint budget hotel and want to do all your eating in local restaurants then this hotel is quite adequate.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Footlooseatlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

While its site, only 50 yards from the corner of the Cordoba mosque could not be more convenient for tourists like us, Los Omeyas has little else to recommend it. This is particularly true if you are driving and in need of the hotel parking: this is three long blocks away, in a dark cellar, down a precipitous and sharply-spiraling ramp--and not only that, there is so little room that wedging even our small Skoda in its space made exit from the car possible from only the driver's side. (The street, Encarnacion is so narrow that approaching the only entrance to the hotel, it is impossible to open the car doors for the encroaching walls on either side. Fine for foot traffic but for drivers, a nerve-wracking, tire-rubbing challenge.) Though clean, the rooms are very bare, bringing to mind budget motels on lonesome highways in the upper Midwest--albeit one with white marble floors. There was a recurrent smell of natural gas in the bathroom: after shrugs from the front desk clerk, we slept with the windows cracked widely. The breakfast (on a B&B policy) is meager at best and taken in a windowless, charmless room adjacent to the functional lobby. The staff was young and affected a clueless demeanor, discouraging even the simplest requests for advice, assistance etc. My wife and I--and the couple with us--would advise Cordoba visitors to investigate other places to stay.

Room Tip: Check the room offered before you sign the register: check the operation of the fixtures in the bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBonnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Loved this little hotel! Great location steps away from the Mezquita and walking distance to many other attractions. Clean and safe. Maybe a little bit outdated with the bedding, etc but fits the area. Front desk staff were all very helpful with directions and recommendations but would not make a call for us to book a Hammam bath.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyJtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Rude, unfriendly staff. Extremely noisy all night and early morning. Poor quality breakfast. All in all a most unpleasant experience. The only saving grace was it's location near the Mesquita and historic section.

Room Tip: Not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pembroke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We had the same experience with the staff that here is already written: if there is any misunderstanding or complaint they become very unfriendly and don't even try to solve the problem, they won't even listen to you what's your complain about. For the money we paid for this (small and noisy!) room we expected a little bit more service and professionalism of the staff. Therefore: not recommended!

Room Tip: Don't book a hotel in the most touristic area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelspain2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I stayed here 1 night of April 21,2011.First thing I needed to tell if you're already book this hotel.Please print the map before you go.There are 2 hotels with the same "Los Omeyas Hotel" But it located in different alley.And I'm not recommend if you're newbie driver coz the alley is very very small.The parking space is a bit far from the hotel.

This hotel is only 15 foot steps to Cathedral,other tourist attraction in Cordoba and shopping areas.So,The price,I paid is 98 euro a night without breakfast. I think, it for the good location.

The room quality is really really poor.I mean it.

The bed is extremely soft.It felt like a 20 yrs old bed (If I keep one that long should feel like that) .I couldn't sleep at all.That's why I said only 1 night maximum.

The door lock really cheap quality hardly to open.No fridge with small bath room.For the real world this hotel should cost not over than 48 euro max..really! I don't know how they charge those price.May be coz I went there in the holy week...

The walls and doors were thin..So,please expect that you will hear drunk people on the street ,in the alley yelling,hosy ridding pass, a noise from cars and room next to you.

The staff all friendly and helpful..this is strength point of the hotel.

I take the bus from train station 1.5 euro to San Fernando and walk about 10 - 12 mins to this hotel.On the way back the road was closed so take the taxi to the hotel for 9 euros.

If you have to pay the same price I was paid I'm not recommend this one..try other hotel that a little bit far from Cathedral with more decent size of room.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0_Gyrfalcon_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Patios
Hotel Los Patios
#39 of 65 in Cordoba
449 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marisa
Hotel Marisa
#42 of 65 in Cordoba
150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mezquita
Hotel Mezquita
#32 of 65 in Cordoba
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gonzalez
Hotel Gonzalez
#40 of 65 in Cordoba
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Maimonides
Eurostars Maimonides
#22 of 65 in Cordoba
1,326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Carpe Diem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Omeyas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Omeyas Hotel

Address: Calle Encarnacion 17, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Price Range: £37 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Los Omeyas Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Los Omeyas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Los Omeyas
Los Omeyas córdoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing