We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel with walking distance to everything you want to see” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Macia Alfaros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Macia Alfaros
Ranked #29 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good hotel with walking distance to everything you want to see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

The hotel had a nice position in the Jewish part of the town. it also had a large underground parking.
At first the hotel presented itself as a small hotel along a busy town road, but it turned out that there were lots of rooms, a large pool and restaurants at the back of the hotel.
Had we known when we checked in we would have asked for a room at the back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are much more quiet than rooms to the street outside at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    468
    226
    73
    35
See reviews for
213
484
28
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Verbier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
195 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Short run from rail station to location on north edge of famous old town, just north of remains of old Roman temple. Short stroll to main Plaza de Tendillas and the labyrinth of alleys and narrow calles. An older hotel, a bit musty, smell smoke here and there?But bigger rooms than otherwise? This space welcome. Good bathroom. Small swim pool. Basic gym but it worked. Good service, responsive. Never ate there. Breakfast is always far better at the bar of a local cafe, lunch is a snack and dinner? Plenty choices. Overall good value?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is a 4-star hotel, that should really have 2 stars, maybe 3 at a stretch. We were not helped with our luggage from the car to the lobby, despite asking for help; the help arrived AFTER we had unloaded the car, the kids, the baby carriage, and moved everything and everyone to the lobby. We were given a black&white copy map of the streets around the hotel, and ultimately had to find another real map. We were charged for using the safe in the room, which was new to us, and made us feel being nickel and dimed. Our 'triple' room was small and dingy, and during our first night stay, there was a leaking ceiling in the bathroom that flooded that room, and created a stink overall----we did not get any apology for the flooding, the smell, or the inconvenience; we were not given another room upon requesting it. There was no sense of appreciation on the part of the staff about the inconvenience they had put my family through, and of our concerns about hygiene with little kids. I would not stay at this hotel again, and not recommend to anyone else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seema S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cordoba hotels

switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

summary: within walk range to main place of the city, parking available for 17 EUR/day, good middle-up for correct price. SEE MY TIPS BELOW TO SAVE MONEY FOR VISITING!

things to know: we stayed 1 night for 52 EUR

plus:
+ : within walk range to many public places where you can eat well
+ : good hotel, clean, modern, nice bathroom
+ : for this price, it is good quality/price
=> it's a good and convenient hotel in city centre. I will stay there again

minus:
- : swimming pool but close early (20:30 p.m) when in June light and warm is available until late
- : parking is expensive (17 EUR/day but is safe)
- : staff is unpersonnal => nothing to complain but not warm

Take care with your car in Cordoba, it's terrible!

Room Tip: if you arrive before 9 am (minus 10 minutes => 8h50 latest, better arrive earlier), you can visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ehlstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile



The hotel is older and not too attractive from the outside. However, the lobby is spacious, Spartan in appearance but nicely furnished. The rooms are comfortable, clean with very good A/C perhaps too good, the blankets in the closet were needed. I found the tub slippery the first time I showered but eventually found a paper tub mat hanging on the towel bar which helped. Shower water temp fluctuated from my preferred temp then run very hot or very cold. Water leaked under the shower partition onto the floor which would not have been a problem except that the floor drain was slightly raised and the water sat on the floor.
The pool area was very nice but small. Pool towels were not readily available when we visited.
WiFi available throughout the hotel; usually had two bars of signal. The corridors are a maze and very difficult to navigate if you lose your way. Elevators are very small and accommodate only two people at a time with luggage or four without.
Reception was very friendly and helpful. Price was excellent and included breakfast. The breakfast buffet was attractive, well stocked with typical Spanish food; meats, cheeses, breads, eggs, cereal, fruits and yogurts. The attendant was available if needed and she kept the buffet clean and replenished. Hot milk and tea were available as was coffee, which was self serve from a machine but of good quality.

The location is convenient to the old town, about a 10 minute walk to the Mosque and other attractions, i.e. the Roman bridge, Jewish Quarter. Due to the location of the hotel the price of the rooms are quite attractive. The walk is interesting as you can see much of the old town section. Lots of restaurants along the way as well as churches, museums etc.

I do not think I would book again, not because it is a bad place but because I feel we could do better next time.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venezuela
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I thought this hotel was over priced. Rooms were not that clean and a bit old. I wouldn´t stay here again. The lobby service was great. They gave us a map, helped us with a cab, etc. Note that the hotel is in the center but the center is not the historical part. It´s not far but it´s different. It is a 15 -20 min walk.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The bed is hard-soft so you should get any back problems while staying at the hotel. Our room was generally clean and nice but 1) no new shampoo except for the first day, 2) very limited toilet paper availble, 3) cleaning lady forgot to take the trash makes me want to give a low score. The rooms do not have a water boiler for boiling water for formula milk. The staff was very helpful about us bringing a baby and offered a baby cot. When we had a problem with getting to the hotel they refused to offer us any help nor call the police as "it was our mistake" and even they said "it is not the first time this happens". The location requires you to walk 15 min every time you want to get downtown to e.g., mosque but if you want to shop e.g., shooes then it is good located as it is in the opposite direction of downtown. Breakfast is very good - go for cafe largo

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lrni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.9 mi away
Hesperia Cordoba
Hesperia Cordoba
#13 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Patios De Cordoba
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Center
Hotel Cordoba Center
#10 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tryp Cordoba
Tryp Cordoba
#16 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Conquistador
Eurostars Conquistador
#15 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macia Alfaros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macia Alfaros

Property: Hotel Macia Alfaros
Address: Calle Alfaros 18, 14001 Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Macia Alfaros 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Macia Alfaros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macia Alfaros Hotel
Macia Alfaros córdoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing