We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Macia Alfaros
Ranked #29 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
beirut
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Cordoba what a lovely city maybe the best of Andalucía, macia alfaros hotel was perfectly located with a window to the narrow street (typical of Cordoba) where you can watch all the processions of Semana Santa live during the Easter week ….that was amazing the best experience we had during Easter …the staff was helpful smiling warm …with a warm AndaluCian atmosphere and interior… I definitely recommend to stay there if you ever visit Cordoba…

Room Tip: street view rooms ...lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard_yas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    485
    236
    76
    35
See reviews for
222
505
28
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

At most a thirty minute walk from the railway station led us to this serene, characterful hotel. Efficient and friendly reception staff soon had us checked in; then it was out and about to further explore the ancient sights after our previous visit last August was hampered by the daytime temperatures. Overall, we were pleased with our stay and value for money. A good hotel quietly going about it's business of attracting visitors to an intriguing city. We hope to return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UnclePaulCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The hotel's central location is ideal for exploring Cordoba's old town on foot and has a large underground parking garage for visitors arriving by car. It was our second stay so we knew the ropes and all our dealings with Reception were just as pleasant as the first time. My wife had meetings so I rented a bike which I left securely overnight in the luggage room. Access to the rooms is easy and the housekeeping in our room was very good. Wi fi strength was good throughout the hotel. The breakfast choice was quite adequate for the price although light breakfasters might find a simple coffee and croissant more economical in a nearby cafetería. Later checkout was no problem. Putting location and price together we found it to be good value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The photographs of this hotel are flattering. A little disappointing on arrival as it feels a little dated, with outdated furnishings. On the plus side, it offers good value for money, centrally located, rooms at the back were quiet, clean good sized bedroom with a comfortable bed and all facilities. Staff were helpful, and free car parking,

Room Tip: Situated on a busy street, choose a room at the back overlooking the pool and courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScotlandandMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Dingy hotel located on narrow, polluted street that was unpleasant to walk along. Hopelessly outdated--formica heaven. Acoustic ceiling tiles in the hallways. Horrible sewer smell came from the bathroom; it seemed to start when the people next door were taking a shower (yes, we could tell) so we put the stopper in the bath and ran some water in it--doesn't make any sense, but the smell did seem to dissipate after that, although we also opened the window.

No balance in the plumbing so the shower was alternately scalding and freezing; I'm surprised they haven't been sued. The WiFi was intermittent at best and slow when it did work, which was rarely. We had been attracted by the pretty courtyard/pool pictures and since it was a warm day in December, we set off to find it in the hopes of relaxing somewhere away from the sewer smell. Walked through scary dark areas of the hotel and finally found that the courtyard is locked for the winter months. Location is a fair walk from the old city. Would not recommend this hotel, would never stay here again, and can't account for the glowing reviews. This is in no way a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneJohns33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cordoba hotels

Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I like centrally located hotels, and this is one of them. Just 5-10 minutes from Cordoba's central square and pedestrian shopping district, Macia Alfaros is great choice for everyone who wants 4* lodging but short walking distance from city life. Anyway, huge lobby, a bit confusing network of corridors and elevators, big rooms, king beds, large bathrooms with tubs are some of highlights of this hotel. It is very clean, and all rooms have all necessities. Bed was one of the most comfortable I ever slept in, pillows are soft and hard enough, curtains provide total darkness, and our room was pool-oriented, so it was very silent.
Breakfast is generous, plenty of variety food and you may count on finding just about anything you'd like for continental one. WiFi is available in rooms, but in case you want to Skype, be prepared to do it by the door, or in corridors. The only downside is room deposit box: available through pre-activation on reception desk, €5 deposit, and €2.75/day. Unneeded.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexAndic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
418 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This hotel does everything a four star should but there are tiny flaws. Aircon, which in this case was used as heating, was iffy at times. But the other features of the hotel made up for that: Beautful interior courtyard view, very thick curtains allowing no disturbing light in plus a huge welcoming front yard (in a city where space must be at a premium) and a huge reception area.
Service was professional and friendly too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.9 mi away
NH Cordoba
NH Cordoba
#12 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Center
Hotel Cordoba Center
#10 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Patios De Cordoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tryp Cordoba
Tryp Cordoba
#17 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Conquistador
Eurostars Conquistador
#16 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macia Alfaros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macia Alfaros

Property: Hotel Macia Alfaros
Address: Calle Alfaros 18, 14001 Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Macia Alfaros 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Macia Alfaros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macia Alfaros Hotel
Macia Alfaros córdoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing