We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, modest hotel, good value”
Review of Hotel Albucasis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Albucasis
Ranked #51 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We had a simple twin-bedded room on the first floor overlooking the patio. Beds very firm and comfortable. Plenty of cupboard space. Only basics in the room, we missed having a chair of any sort and one of us had to sit on the luggage rack. Tiny soap in the bathroom! Staff very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast (7 Euros) simply croissant, wholewheat toast plus jam & coffee and not amazingly good value. But generally very satisfactory in this price range. Location excellent, we arrived by bus from Granada, took a taxi (7 Euros) and had no trouble at all getting to this hotel which is in the attractive old Juderia area, handy for the Mesquite and river. We paid 45 Euros per night for the two of us, hard to beat!

Room Tip: Our room (16) was quiet and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2012

Albucasis hotel is located in the heart of the old city but...Very difficult to get to even with a GPS. The streets are extremely narrow and the parking adjacent to the hotel is difficult to get into +extra charge of 15 EU. My suggestion is to park in the city parking somewhere and then take a taxi to the hotel. The rooms are spartan, the AC works only if you shut the windows and not strong.

Room Tip: Get a hotel with an easier approach or get a hotel in the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayulaOmerIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Trying to find this place really put a strain on our relationship. We were using Google maps but there are so many one-way streets that are narrower than Paula Deen's arteries.

The place itself was okay. The main reason we stayed here was because it was cheap and it had a parking garage. On the day we checked out, they let us keep the car in the garage while we went to see the Mezquita. The rooms are dark and not very pretty, but they are clean and the a/c works fine (a huge must if you are visiting Cordoba in the summer). Their Wifi was also reliable. The receptionist looked as if he hadn't slept in months but his curiously zombie-like appearance seemed to fit in with the atmosphere of the hotel, and he was helpful enough.

Conclusion - if you are looking for a cheap, clean place to stay in Cordoba, and aren't fussed about food or a view or ambience, this is really the perfect place in which to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faeriehazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This is a fairly simple place down a quiet street but not far from the action. It is a short walk to the major tourist sights as well as many restaurants. We thought the decor was simple but it was clean and the staff helpful. If you don't have a map in hand it will be hard to find it because of the maze of alleys and streets in the old part of the city. We stayed in the winter and the lack of adequate heating left one feeling a bit chilly on the stone floors but I think that story would flip in the warm summers.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lasrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Simple and pleasant rooms overlooking quiet and private courtyards. A gentle breeze seems ever present, when the windows and wooden shutters are left open. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the location is excellent. If you haven't studied the map, it may take a little effort to find, but that's the nature of staying in the old Jewish quarter of Cordoba.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DS646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed two nights at the Albucasis. If this is your first trip to Cordoba, we suggest that you take a taxi from the train station to the hotel. The taxi is not very expensive and the hotel would be very difficult to find on your own. The location is excellent for visiting the Mesquita, the Synagoga, the Albayzin, many artisan shops, and some of the town outside the Albayzin. The room was on the large side for hotels in the old part of town and simply furnished. The staff varied from very helpful to complacent. Breakfast was minimal and we did not feel it was worth the price.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GarnetMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Although we had made a reservation over the tel. this wasn't found on arrival. Luckily although high tourist season the establ. had very few guests(?), so accomodated us. At the end of our stay we paid our bill. All seemed to be in order. When we got home we found out why our reservation had not been found, a month or so later, when our credit card was billed again for the trip because we had not shown up!! There was no apology ever and to setttle the matter took a long period of time and several e-mails in spanish and even tel. calls in spanish etc By a native spaniard friend before a refund at different exchange rate left us out of pocket still despite myself asking for this not to be the case. As a previous guest said the rooms were very basic-of a university dorm. level. It was quite an uptight feeling when handing the key in all the time etc!!Our stay was in spring 2010. not november , as stated.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pickytweeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Cisne
Hotel El Cisne
#54 of 65 in Cordoba
63 reviews
1.2 mi away
Exe Ciudad de Cordoba
Exe Ciudad de Cordoba
#39 of 65 in Cordoba
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hospederia Alma Andalusi
Hospederia Alma Andalusi
#44 of 65 in Cordoba
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mezquita
Hotel Mezquita
#28 of 65 in Cordoba
560 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Abetos del Maestre Escuela
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marisa
Hotel Marisa
#36 of 65 in Cordoba
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albucasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albucasis

Address: Calle Buen Pastor n. 11, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Price Range: £31 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Albucasis 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel provides its customers extra bed, cot, hairdryer and television, tourist information.We are located in a quiet corner of a typical street in the old quarter of Cordoba Jewry, 3 minutes from the Mosque and many monuments and museums that have this beautiful city, restaurants, taverns, tourist office, and for nature lovers on the banks of the Guadalquivir river is the Sotos of Albolafia where you can see more than 100 different bird species, all accessible on foot and to relax a little, 30 minutes by car or bus to our sierra morena beauty is not so much can describe and we recommend visiting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Albucasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albucasis Hotel córdoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing