We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but it is not a good place to stay.”
Review of Hotel Mezquita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mezquita
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location but it is not a good place to stay.”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Hotel Mezquita is right next to the Mezquita. It is the only value they have. Others is just not right. The charge is too high (over 100 a night). The floor is not clean. The wifi signal is only available in the lobby and the staff did not mention that when they give you the wifi password. No hair driver equipted in the room. The so-called store luggage service is just put your luggage right next to the recpetion counter. (Is it safe? I doublt that.) If I get one more chance, I will not choose this hotel and I would rather stay in the nearby city and arrange a one day tour in Toledo.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KTBYU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    239
    92
    25
    11
See reviews for
73
261
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The Hotel Mezquita is very well located if you want to be write by the Mosque in Córdoba and a central tourist spot, however, given how much we paid, I don´t think the ratio of quality to price was very good. It was a popular weekend in Córdoba, however I think the service could have been better, and for the price, breakfast could have been included. The staff wasn´t very friendly. There are much nicer places to stay in Córdoba for the same price or less.

Room Tip: Choose a room that doesn´t face the street, otherwise it will be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeland, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

This room was expensive for the accommodations that were provided. The room itself was okay but the bed was extremely uncomfortable and small for two. It was like sleeping on a piece of plywood and the there was one large pillow to share. The bathroom was good but there was no hair dryer, a large negative for my wife. We also had a window facing the mesquita which proved to be very loud for most of the night. I would not stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank soulsurfer_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I was travelling solo and asked for a quiet room, through Booking.com. I was given a room on the second floor at the back but with a nice view of the Mezquita tower ( Giralda). The room was very quiet. For an inexpensive hotel it was quite well furnished with Andalusian objects. The central location was a plus for me -although I could imagine a noise problem if one was on the side facing the Mezquita. Wifi only works in the downstairs public areas, and it was gloomy and cold when I was there I had to be warmly dressed while using the internet as the public area has an open area to the street.

Note: some of the informtion about visiting the Mezauita is not clear as it suggests if you are not in a group dyoucan gain free entry at 8.30. But this seems to only apply to those attending Mass and one has to be out by 9.30

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the second floor facing the Mezquita - these rooms are quiet, have a great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod010513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The location of this hotel right across from the Mezquita turned out to be a problem for me rather than a plus. Our room was on the street side and there were constant streams of tourists walking past at all hours and no double glazing to keep the noise out. I did ask if we could be moved to the back of the hotel but due to being the weekend there were no other rooms available. I checked out a day early for this reason.
The room was very basic although spacious with two tiny hard beds and tiny TV with just spanish channels. It was clean but lacking in comfort and more than alittle old fashioned for my taste.
The hotel itself was full of antiques and interesting artifacts to look at and a pleasant patio for breakfast.

Room Tip: The area around the Mezquita is very busy at all hours. Be aware of this when booking a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tulipsofamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

As the name says, the hotel is located opposite the Mosque-Cathedral of Cordoba.
The hotel hall is well decorated and looks grand but the rates at this hotel are quite good.
My bedroom was tiny single room with a single bed and private bathroom. But its price was quite cheap, so it was a good value for my money. It was decently clean and comfortable with a nice view. The breakfast was simple but delicious, with good coffee and it was served in a beautiful courtyard. It had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenaB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Loved the location on the first night of our trip in May, 2010. It was just opposite the Mezquita. On our return trip, we had a room at the back of the hotel that wasn't as nice, but the location couldn't be beat. Very friendly staff.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the Mezquita can't be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 656JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.0 mi away
Eurostars Conquistador
Eurostars Conquistador
#17 of 65 in Cordoba
1,593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Maimonides
Eurostars Maimonides
#20 of 65 in Cordoba
1,256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gonzalez
Hotel Gonzalez
#41 of 65 in Cordoba
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Posada de Vallina
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Carpe Diem
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Patios De Cordoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mezquita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mezquita

Property: Hotel Mezquita
Address: Plaza Santa Catalina 1, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mezquita 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old Jewish Quarter, opposite the main entrance to the Mosque-Cathedral and surrounded by historical monuments, this hotel has 31 rooms with fully-fitted bathrooms, satellite TV, direct telephone and individual air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mezquita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mezquita Hotel córdoba
Hotel Mezquita Cordoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing