We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent Old World Charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mezquita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mezquita
Ranked #31 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Magnificent Old World Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This has to be one of the best hotels we';ve ever stayed in. On entering the doorway you are greeted by wonderful wall decorations and furniture which exude Old World charm. A taste of elegance. The reception staff were very helpful and gave us lots of information about the location and directions on where to find restaurants, beautiful walks etc. We were directed to room number 5. What a delight. Beautiful furniture and a fabulous bed. A little balcony opened up to a greta view of the Gateway to the Mezquita. Although during the day there was lots of hussle and bussle with people going in and out of the Mezquita, plus a little cafe just outside the hotel, in the evenings it was really peaceful and the only noise was from the street cleaners earley the next morning, but it wasn't really loud.... well it didn't wake my husband and he's a very light sleeper.
We had booked the Flamenco at Tablao Cardenal which was just a 5 min walk around the outer walls of Mezquita, just perfect.

Staying at the Hotel Mezquita really made our stay in Cordoba perfect

Room Tip: Number 5 was a lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annmarie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    228
    88
    25
    11
See reviews for
68
252
47
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

You couldn't be better placed for the main attractions of Cordoba, with bars and restaurants nearby too. Considering this is a 2 star hotel the accommodation, food and staff were amazing, I had already read a tripadvisor review that recommended an interior room, which was lovely and quiet, as had noted that exterior rooms could be quite noisy. The room was fairly basic but comfortable, the main areas of the Hotel are beautiful and full of character and unusual antiques. The inner courtyard where breakfast was served was gorgeous and breakfast was good too; the staff very friendly and helpful especially when we were trying our Spanish!

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed a night and it was just right next to the main attraction ..
Breakfast is average.
The spot is not lively in evening but if you are there for the attractions go for it.
Feria festival was on and prices was above normal so cant tell much about that

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Eminent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel is just a few steps from the cathedral/mosque. It is close to bars and restaurants in the old town. It is just a short walk to the bus stop for the bus to Cordoba railway station. The
hotel has lots of character and is efficiently run. I had a single room with a wonderful view
across the roof tops to the mosque. Breakfast is served in the courtyard and is pretty good.

Room Tip: I can recommend my room - 15 - for single travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very well located right next to the entrance to the Mesquita. Perhaps this was its problem. The hotel does not have double glazing on its windows. We had a room overlooking the shopping area in which it is located and heard every conversation by holiday makers in the shopping area till the early hours of the morning and the garbage trucks which ran from the early hours of the morning as well. If they could double glaze the windows overlooking the shopping area, that would be sensible. Also there were no safes in the room. Not acceptable these days when room safes are a standard service.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lyn9032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here for a night during a tour of Andalucia with a friend. You cannot beat it for location - the side gate to the Patio de los Naranjas at the Mezquita is directly across from the hotel entrance.
Very interesting interior, with inside courtyard for breakfasts (didn't sample - went up the hill for best value breakfast ever with locals at Fifth Avenue) and lots of historical-looking artefacts. Felt slightly dark and moribund though, and the staff were fairly helpful without being particularly friendly.
Our twin room inexplicably had four beds so it was as well it was reasonably large. Quiet though and a good night's sleep. Didn't see loads of other options for hotels, so in the price bracket, for atmosphere and location I'd probably recommend it even if I would probably look for somewhere else myself.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a good view. Didn't get one, so may not matter what you ask for. We sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Our room was small, clean and somewhat quiet. Internet only worked in the lobby. Our beds were hard as a slab of cement.

The hotel is in a great location, directly across from the Mezquita Mosque. I assume this is the reason we were charged 125 Euro per night. The room and hotel do not justify the price, particularly when compared to better hotels that we stayed in in Madrid and Sevilla for less money. "Old town" Cordoba is relatively small. We pretty much walked the whole thing, so there is no reason to stay right across from the Mequita.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duke07701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Patios
Hotel Los Patios
#41 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eurostars Conquistador
Eurostars Conquistador
#15 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Carpe Diem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eurostars Maimonides
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Posada de Vallina
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Patios De Cordoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mezquita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mezquita

Property: Hotel Mezquita
Address: Plaza Santa Catalina 1, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mezquita 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old Jewish Quarter, opposite the main entrance to the Mosque-Cathedral and surrounded by historical monuments, this hotel has 31 rooms with fully-fitted bathrooms, satellite TV, direct telephone and individual air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mezquita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mezquita Hotel córdoba
Hotel Mezquita Cordoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing