We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of Cordoba history”

Museo Arqueologico de Cordoba
Ranked #12 of 140 things to do in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: September 16 to June 15: Tuesday to Saturday: from 9,00 to 20,30 hours. Sundays and festive of opening: from 9,00 to 15,30 hours. Monday closed (excluded holidays). June 16 to September 15: Tuesday to Sunday and festive: from 9,00 to 15,30 hours. Monday closed (excluded holidays).
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view of Cordoba history”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I loved the whole city, and this museum was one of my favorite attractions. Nice new building, neat artifacts, and remains of an actual Roman structure underground.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sherlock19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paco187430, Conservador at Museo Arqueologico de Cordoba, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for his response, we wait for him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    176
    47
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It actually sits on top of a Roman theatre”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We got in for free simply because the person in charge of the tickets had not arrived, perhaps overslept. This experience gave us a feel for the layers that made up the city of Cordoba and how three distinct cultures built on top of one another.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank babette_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paco187430, Conservador at Museo Arqueologico de Cordoba, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinion. Estamos trabajando para ofrecer mejor servicio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
3,577 reviews
3,177 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,132 helpful votes
“A Good and New Museum”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Archaeological Museum has a new building that was finished about 3 years ago. I had been to the old museum before. The new museum highlights the valuable items of the museum. The main valuable objects are the statue of Aphrodite, the Pegasus Mosaic, and the sculpture of Mithras Sacrificing the Bull. I had asked one of the workers in the museum about this and he gave me the information about the most valuable items in the museum. Thanks to him I learned much in this museum. The museum allows non-flash photography, which is great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paco187430, conservador at Museo Arqueologico de Cordoba, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for the opinion. Best regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A great collection of artifacts. The basement shows the development of the Roman theater that the site is built on. Set in a charming square with a great cafe. Free for EU citizens.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JamieNot55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paco187430, Conservador at Museo Arqueologico de Cordoba, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We found this by mistake and very much enjoyed it. They show the history of the city through archeological finds and it is very interesting. We were amazed at how long humans have been in the area. The other interesting part of the museum is going in the basement and walking through the ongoing dig and excavation of the Roman Theatre.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank daglight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paco187430, conservador at Museo Arqueologico de Cordoba, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for the opinion. Best regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museo Arqueologico de Cordoba also viewed

 
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
 

Been to Museo Arqueologico de Cordoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing