We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location is okay, but you can do better”
Review of Hotel El Cisne

Hotel El Cisne
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Cisne
Ranked #52 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“The location is okay, but you can do better”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed here for one night in May. When I originally planned my trip, I didn't realize that I'd be passing through Cordoba during the annual Patios Festival. When I tried to book a hotel, I discovered that there were no vacancies anywhere . . . except at Hotel El Cisne. The Patios Festival was great, but the hotel was not. The location is actually not bad: it's a short walk from the train station and across the street from a nice park (although the window in my room was facing a wall). You can walk through the park to get to the Old City and it isn't too far. The hotel itself was dated and the room was very basic. The room looked clean, but the bed and pillow smelled very strongly of cigarette smoke (in what I understood to be a non-smoking room). When I tried to cover the the pillow with a towel, I found a dead insect in the towel. Ew. The free wi-fi didn't work in my room, so I had to go down to the lobby to get online. The walls were thin and the noise of closing doors and conversations from other rooms made it hard to sleep. The staff was friendly, but I wouldn't recommend staying here unless you have no other options.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaykay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    21
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
18
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

If you are looking for an average, clean hotel close to the train station in Cordoba, this is a good choice. The rooms are ok and clean. Wi-fi is free, but does not work well in all rooms. It can be loud as some doors need to be slammed to close properly (even some closet doors). Staff is not extremely nice but helpful enough.
There is a cafetería downstairs where you can have a simple and unexpensive breakfast. Plenty of shops and restaurants around, but the old town is a bit further apart.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MITOMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hotel is rather dated but was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff didn't speak English but we got by fine and they were very friendly and helpful. We were pleased to be able to get an excellent light breakfast in the bar for a small price. There were restaurants and cafes close by and it was just a short walk to the Plaza de Tenillas in the centre.

Room Tip: A room in the front overlooking the park is preferable to one looking out on a brick wall!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We wanted a Hotel near the Train Station so I picked Hotel El Cisne from the Internet which is very close. The Hotel is an older one, small and the rooms were adequate, clean and reception was friendly. The beds were ok and overall it is not a bad hotel, just older. I thought it was a little expensive for the rooms (75 E total) but it is well located within walking distance of many stores including El Corte Ingles, parks, and restaurants. We enjoyed walking around the city in that area even though it was extremely hot that day and night. There is a small restaurant on the first floor which is attached to the facility but not listed as part of the hotel. They had a very good breakfast deal for a little over 2 Euros. (coffee, pastry, juice). There is some limited free parking in front of the hotel. Overall, it served our purpose and was clean although I am sure there might be better bargains around.

Room Tip: We were located on a side not facing the main road and did not hear any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texhank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thessaloniki
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This hotel is actually in the centre of Cordoba, near the and the cafes, near Plaza de tenillas,which is a central square. The old town and the Mesquita are a bit far,but still...walking distance. The hotelitself is clean and comfortable.The personnel is very helpful and friendly, but don't speak English! The bar is economical, but no English is spoken there either! However, everybody seems willing to help. Breakfast is poor: only coffee and ONE piece of pastry:croissant, choco croissant, buiscit OR toast with jam.By the way, El cisne (pronounced thisne) meansQ the swan!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaraThessaloniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#55 of 65 in Cordoba
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Itaca Colon
Itaca Colon
#46 of 65 in Cordoba
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Serrano
Serrano
#47 of 65 in Cordoba
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Selu
Hotel Selu
#32 of 65 in Cordoba
595 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#50 of 65 in Cordoba
288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Albucasis
Hotel Albucasis
#49 of 65 in Cordoba
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Cisne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Cisne

Property: Hotel El Cisne
Address: Avenida Cervantes 14, 14008 Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel El Cisne 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Cisne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing