We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location made up for our sub standard room”
Review of Hostal El Triunfo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal El Triunfo
Ranked #32 of 38 Cordoba B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect location made up for our sub standard room”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Having read reviews before booking we new this was a budget hostal, however our room was dark with only a tiny window, cracked walls and a bathroom that had mould on walls and around bath- not enough hot water for shower one morning! This was a busy pre-Easter period so the price was high which we expected but considerably more than the great Hostal where we had stayed in Seville during the rest of the week.

The only thing going for this accomodation is the great location with walking distance around the ancient area of Cordoba, restaurants and tourist sites however there are many other hostals close by and would not recommend this one.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank embax92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    51
    91
    58
    78
See reviews for
52
150
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

This hotel, right next to the walls of the Cathedral, can't be beaten for location and value for money. It is a typical Spanish Hostal so as long as you don't expect the facilities of a five star Hotel you won't be disapponited. It is clean and comfortable and the receptionist was friendly and helpful. He had already booked our party into the Light show at the Alcazar without us asking though we had actually prebooked it online. That too was only a short walk from the Hotel with some very nice small cafes and restaurants nearby.

Because it is in the centre and there are lots of tourists around it isn't the quietest of Hotels to stay in and unlike most Hotels in Spain where there is little movement before 9am there appeared plenty going on as early as 7.30am.

There was parking for a charge. There is a post at the entrance to the street to prevent unauthorised traffic but one only has to mention the Hotel's name in the speaker to be allowed in to unload the car. A Hotel employee accompanies you to the car park which is some distance away.

If you are only visiting for a night or two, want to be right in the heart of the Historical centre and not pay a fortune then this could be for you.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teabag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

This hotel is just perfect if you want to visit the Mezquita and areas around the Cordoba historic city. It is facing the Mezquita, the roman bridge is just behind this hotel and there so many restaurants around it.
I did not take any taxi to travel to this hotel, the bus stop is just 5 mins away by walking. The room are simple but comfortable enough for a night stay... the only thing missing is a hair dryer but I was just too lazy to ask from the reception.
One big thumbs up is that this hotel have free WIFI... no hassle of finding a cafe or paying for a WIFI...
My room has a tiny balcony, to the right a view of the mezquita and to the left the Roman Bridge... seriously a good affordable budget hotel... Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZuLtall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Directly behind Mesquite and in front of the Roman Bridge, this hostel looked more like a hotel except for the keys are not automatic. Our room was small, with a small balcony next to a busy pedestrian road which was a bit noisy at night. There was a TV in the room but no hairdryer. Free WIFI but the main entrance computers were not free (about .50 cents for 10 min of use) The breakfast was included but the buffet was not at all presentable or appealing (very thrown together, manufactured packaged rolls)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madridchika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

This was really the worst hotel ever during my several stays in Spain. Loud, thin walls, breakfast was terrible!!!. IPlease beware. Only the location is good, next to the Mezquita! Avoid this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dlarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cordoba hotels

New Zealand
Level Contributor
141 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

we were very nervous booking this hotel given the other reviews, but there was little choice as not much available. However, the hotel surpassed our expectations. The room itself was lovely, small but perfectly formed. The cleaning staff were very thorough, the shower is a handheld hose - but the hot water was plentiful. The restaurant is reasonably priced although the service is a little slack. We tried lots of local places and were very impressed with the service, price and quality of food. Cordoba is a lovely place to stay and this hotel mad our trip even more pleasant. The location is fantastic - you can walk from the train station (it takes about 30-40min with luggage) or a 5 euro taxi ride. We couldn't access internet from our room (as we were in one of the very back rooms) but you can access in the lobby. There is an elevator as well. Beds were very comfortable - we were a little cold, but there are extra blankets available.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleCurrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We booked a room for 1 night at the Hostal El Triunfo. After reviewing the comments on trip advisor, we were worried but decided to stay there because of the price and the location. You can't be closer to the Mezquita, which is great. The hostel is ok. Our room was very very small but was facing la Mezquita, the bed was not really comfortable. The walls were very thin, we could hear noise inside and outside our room constantly, and we stayed during the low season (can't imagine what it is during high season). The toilet is so small that when you sit on the toilet, your face is in the sink. The service at the front desk was fine. I don't think we could have stayed another night, but for 44 Euro, we couldn't complaint.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GenLag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.1 mi away
Los Omeyas Hotel
Los Omeyas Hotel
#40 of 70 in Cordoba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Serrano
Serrano
#46 of 70 in Cordoba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Maimonides
Eurostars Maimonides
#20 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Patios
Hotel Los Patios
#37 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Conquistador
Eurostars Conquistador
#16 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hacienda Posada de Vallina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Triunfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Triunfo

Property: Hostal El Triunfo
Address: Calle Corregidor Luis de La Cerda 79, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal El Triunfo 1*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal "El Triunfo" is located in the historic heart of the city and enjoys one of the best enclaves in the area. In less than a minute, guests can walk to the Roman bridge, crossing the Guadalquivir river to the Calahorra bridge, to the Christian Kings Alcazar together with the Royal Stables and the Jewish Quarter, with its beautiful network of streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostal El Triunfo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing