We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for visiting old Córdoba”
Review of Hostal Azahar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Azahar
Ranked #3 of 39 Cordoba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Ideal for visiting old Córdoba”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

If what you want is a decent place to sleep in old Cordoba then this is for you. It's a hostal - not an inn or B&B as some have expected - that's just Tripadvisor's category. A hostal in Spain provides you with a room and little else - so on that basis I was not disappointed - in fact I was more than pleased with our choice.

Even before we arrived we had good service - a welcome email will loads of information about getting there and what to do once you had arrived. On arrival we had a warm welcome and our room was ready 2 hours before normal. Well done! The room itself was modern with good quality furnishings and most importantly a comfortable bed. The bathroom was a basic shower room. The aircon worked and was quiet. Did not try TV. WiFi worked perfectly in room and on patio. Also every day at 16:00 complimentary tea and coffee is served on the patio.

The only downside was the limited storage in the room. The wardrobe was small with only 4 coat hangers supplied and a dressing table and chair would have been useful. The bathroom needed a shelf on which to place your toiletries.

The location could not be bettered (equalled but not bettered). Quite literally a few metres from the Mezquita/cathedral and within easy walking distance for the main attractions and numerous places to eat and drink.

Others have commented on noise - this is Spain - it's noisy - accept it! I suspect that this establishment has changed hands and was formerly 'El Tablon'. I would suspect that the poorer reviews date from this earlier period.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank port-nou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAzahar, Owner at Hostal Azahar, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are glad that you liked staying here. Hostal Azahar started in March 2013 so, as you pointed out, older reviews doesn't belong to us. We are working to improve the storage in the rooms. We hope to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    117
    28
    5
    3
See reviews for
57
143
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Couldn't possibly be better located. Spacious rooms and truly exceptional staff. Only negative is that sound proofing is negligible and noisy neighbours could be heard clearly throughout the building, so ear plugs were a must for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mystic-Cabbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAzahar, Propietario at Hostal Azahar, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you so much! We are glad that you liked our place ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Stayed here in the hostal for one night during our trip to Cordoba. Location was our main reason in choosing this hotel and in that respect, it did not disappoint. It's located within walking distance (right next) to some of the most popular sights of the city. This is especially helpful for those with plans to visit the Mezquita early in the morning when admission is free and before all the package tourists come in for the day.

Hotel itself is quite humble but does the job. The place is usually manned by mature and very friendly staff who speak little, if any, English. The rooms are simple but are airconditioned, clean and most importantly, pleasant. Although a bit on the small side, It was good value for what we were paying.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We arrived in Cordoba on a very busy weekend and were lucky to find a place to stay. The folks at the front desk were very nice and friendly. They gave great restaurant information. The place is very conveniently located and next to a little cafe where there owners are sweet and accommodating and make great espresso.
The room was in a row of cell-like rooms. No air, bad mattress and paperthin walls. We are pretty flexible and low key with our travel but we literally got no sleep for two nights. We asked if there was a better room once the weekend travelers thinned out and were told no. When a couple spontaneously showed up and were shown a quieter room (as I was standing there), we decided that enough was enough and we headed to another spot (which was awesome and cost the same! We really did love Cordoba though! Lovely city.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MicheleinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

First, this is neither a bed and breakfast, nor an inn, as we understand those terms. There isn’t even a small frig in the rooms. Earlier reviews refer to an honesty bar/refrigerator in the minute lobby, and it had been represented to us that there would be some means of heating water, and a microwave, available by the time we arrived. But nothing of either kind materialized; the refrigerator was completely empty, and the ancient coffee dispenser is out of commission. TA would be well advised to move the hotel into the hotel category, and rate it accordingly.

Having said that, the people who run the Hotel Alcazares are so nice, pleasant and helpful that I hate to be critical of some aspects of our stay there. Miguel and Maria, the brother and sister who own (manage?) the hotel speak no English, but try extremely hard to meet guests’ needs. You cannot park near the hotel. Miguel accompanies you to park your car in a garage five minutes away. Leave it there for the rest of your stay. When you leave, Miguel will go with you, if as I did, you have no idea where that garage was. He had printed out directions for us to drive to Sevilla airport as well. My wife has serious dietary restrictions, so he arranged with a nearby hotel to cook her the breakfast she requires in the morning. He is a sweetheart.

We rented, for top dollar at the hotel, the second floor room with the private terrace, and the “view of the Mezquita”. The room was fine—large bedroom, good bed, huge bathroom. However, the heralded “view of the Mezquita” really is a view of about ten feet of the building at one corner and the street on the side of it. It’s a perfectly pleasant place to have a cold drink in the late afternoon/early evening, but there is no view to speak of. Having read reviews of the other rooms, which are much smaller and seem to have noise issues from adjoining rooms, this is probably the room to take, if you decide to stay there. We always request quiet rooms, as we are sensitive to noise, but we heard absolutely nothing to bother us at all here. It’s a good location, but there are a large number of other hotels in the area, so I would compare price and quality before choosing this hotel. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Boston_MARambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

First, I have to say that the service at this hostal was great. The men who worked here were warm, kind and genuine, and made us feel very welcome in both the hostal and the city. Second, the location is just fantastic - literally across the street from the Mezquita and on the same street as a multitude of restaurants and shops. I don't know why any of the reviews mention the hostal being loud, as the rooms seem to face the interior courtyard, which is silent at all times of the day. While the hostal isn't luxurious or particularly beautiful, it's a comfortable and clean place to stay for one night (which is what we did). The air conditioning and other basic amenities were good and we were happy with our stay here. Perfect for those staying in town to see the sights for a day or two.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyetotelescope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

My husband and two teens travelled around Spain for nearly three weeks, staying in some very nice hotels, a couple bed and breakfasts and a couple smaller inns. I have to say that for the money this was my favorite. There were two men working different shifts, they were so warm and kind in helping us get adjusted, helped us with our Spanish and gave us good tips. The room was clean, spacious and the AC worked just fine. We had a little courtyard with flowers outside our door that were especially sweet. I don't know why anyone complained about this being a loud place, it's on a corner by the mezquita and traffic is restricted there, so it's pedestrians mainly but we didn't hear a thing as our room faced the interior courtyard. In the hot months it's perfect because you don't have to walk far to see the major attractions and the mezquita was probably the most remarkable place we visited in Spain. For breakfast i recommend the small bar/cafe across the street, Annie makes great toasted breaks (typical Spanish breakfast) with ham, cheese or jam, as well as other typical dishes. Whatever the complaints below were about heat, noise and cleanliness, that was not our experience at all. If you have kids it's great too because you can get two rooms by the courtyard and still be able to afford it.

Room Tip: as for one facing the interior courtyard, it's really pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
0.2 mi away
Las Casas de La Juderia
0.0 mi away
Eurostars Conquistador
Eurostars Conquistador
#19 of 65 in Cordoba
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Patios De Cordoba
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Palace
Eurostars Palace
#9 of 65 in Cordoba
2,351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Carpe Diem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Azahar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Azahar

Property: Hostal Azahar
Address: Calle Corregidor Luis de La Cerda 68, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Azahar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Azahar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing