We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Azahar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Azahar
Ranked #2 of 36 Cordoba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Although there's no parking in the centre of Córdoba, this little hostel is right in the centre, facing the Mesquita and only a 10-15 minute walk from convenient parking. Located easily to see all the sites of the city, the staff are friendly and helpful with maps and advice. Our room was a bit small but clean and spacious enough for a night. We were warned via a sign that hot water is limited but we had plenty for morning showers for 3 adults. Rooms seem to lack sound-proofing and the air-conditioner was noisy so sleep quality wasn't great but the beds were comfortable and the hostel is so charming that it was still a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCLouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    111
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
48
139
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

Excellent place. Clean, comfortable incredibly friendly service willing to tolerate my broken Spanish. They let me stash my luggage after checkout so that I could freely sitesee before my train departed. The location is literally fall down next to the Mezquita. Great value especially if you are traveling on your own. Lucked out and got a room with a pleasant balcony overlooking the mosque district. Ask for Room #4 if that's your kind of thing.
All and all, its a hostel that feels like a well run hotel at a 1/3 of the price. For once, I don't resent handing over money for loggings. Wish I'd stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MastadonBBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAzahar, Gerente at Hostal Azahar, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you very much for your comment! We are glad that your stay here was pleasant. We hope to see you back any time ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodchurch
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Wonderfully comfy bed, helpful friendly efficient staff, clean, simple and quiet right in the centre. Small downsides - no where to put toiletries in bathroom but plenty of room for a shelf or two - and the tv system was not easy to operate. However we were very happy there - the free coffee/tea at 4 pm is an unexpected but welcome bonus. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Probably in the middle away from the roads - as we were by chance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosalie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAzahar, Gerente at Hostal Azahar, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Rosalie,
Thank you so much for your comment and the feed back. We are trying to improve our storage in our rooms. We hope to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

I'd like to say only nice things about this place because the staff, location & general cleanliness are so good but unfortunately the hotel lacks any noise proofing between rooms so you will hear everything your neighbours are doing - & I mean everything.

My advice would be take ear plugs & be prepared. The cost, $50 per night, make it very attractive & the free coffee/tea from 4pm makes it social & a really nice touch however the noise issue is a let down.

Location wise you will not get a better location, literally opposite the walls of the Mesquita. Be warned about the sound & you will have a happy stay.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We felt we had hit the jackpot with this wonderful room at an affordable rate, in touching distance to the Mezquita and the river. Our beautifully decorated corner room with 2 balcony windows was large enough and the bathroom newly renovated. The guesthouse itself is newly renovated and has a modern yet authentic feel. The free coffee and tea in the afternoon in the internal courtyard is a nice touch and appreciated. The only downside of this beautiful environment is that it is extremely noisy on the 1st floor, not from inside the hostal, but from the street noise. This is one of the busier roads, so the cars, motorbikes, horse-drawn carts and people chatting walking past, make this tricky to sleep before 02h00 and after 08h00. Earplugs are a definite must here. For me ...happy to cope with the noise for the central environment, beautiful room and views. An added bonus ...the staff are really friendly and helpful. Highly recommended !

Room Tip: Corner room facing the road for the view and the beautiful balcony windows. If noise is an issue tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpostaySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAzahar, Gerente at Hostal Azahar, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you so much for your comment and the feed back about our hostel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed in this hostel one night and it was great. The room we got was pretty small, but it had everything you need: tv, cupboard, ac, private bathroom. The hostel has been recently renovated, so everything was new and great looking. Also, everything was very clean.
In the afternoon, tea and coffee were served for free in the interior patio.
The location was by far the best: it's just 5 meters away from the Mezquita, in a very picturesque street, full of restaurants, shops and cafes.

I'll definitely go back next time I visit Córdoba.
Good hostel for a good price!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAzahar, Owner at Hostal Azahar, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for your review! We hope to see you back soon ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

If what you want is a decent place to sleep in old Cordoba then this is for you. It's a hostal - not an inn or B&B as some have expected - that's just Tripadvisor's category. A hostal in Spain provides you with a room and little else - so on that basis I was not disappointed - in fact I was more than pleased with our choice.

Even before we arrived we had good service - a welcome email will loads of information about getting there and what to do once you had arrived. On arrival we had a warm welcome and our room was ready 2 hours before normal. Well done! The room itself was modern with good quality furnishings and most importantly a comfortable bed. The bathroom was a basic shower room. The aircon worked and was quiet. Did not try TV. WiFi worked perfectly in room and on patio. Also every day at 16:00 complimentary tea and coffee is served on the patio.

The only downside was the limited storage in the room. The wardrobe was small with only 4 coat hangers supplied and a dressing table and chair would have been useful. The bathroom needed a shelf on which to place your toiletries.

The location could not be bettered (equalled but not bettered). Quite literally a few metres from the Mezquita/cathedral and within easy walking distance for the main attractions and numerous places to eat and drink.

Others have commented on noise - this is Spain - it's noisy - accept it! I suspect that this establishment has changed hands and was formerly 'El Tablon'. I would suspect that the poorer reviews date from this earlier period.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank port-nou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAzahar, Owner at Hostal Azahar, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are glad that you liked staying here. Hostal Azahar started in March 2013 so, as you pointed out, older reviews doesn't belong to us. We are working to improve the storage in the rooms. We hope to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Patios De Cordoba
0.2 mi away
Las Casas de La Juderia
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eurostars Conquistador
Eurostars Conquistador
#16 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Palace
Eurostars Palace
#9 of 70 in Cordoba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hesperia Cordoba
Hesperia Cordoba
#13 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Azahar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Azahar

Property: Hostal Azahar
Address: Calle Corregidor Luis de La Cerda 68, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Azahar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Azahar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing