We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but basic room”
Review of Hotel Gonzalez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gonzalez
Ranked #40 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The taxi ride to the hotel was very exciting as it is located in the old part of Cordoba where the streets are barely wide enough for a car. Being right in the old part of the city was a real thrill. This also meant that there were plenty of restaurants to hand which was just as well as the hotel didn't serve food. The rooms were basic and the beds were hard, but the ensuite was a good size. The hallways are all tiled, so although they were clean, they were also quite noisy when people were coming and going from their rooms - this didn't help the sleep quality! The wi-fi was only available in the patio area, but at least it was available. The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to help us organise our train trip to Granada.

Room Tip: Choosing one that doesn't face onto the street will reduce the street noise element.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

Room very dark and small. Had an odor like boiled cabbage. Had to sit sideways on toilet no room for legs.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBELaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Cordoba gave me a "Canary Islands" feel, but this hotel is close to the attractions. Clean, nice owner. The restaurant across the street is horrible.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 11Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed in Cordoba for two nights, the hotel is located in the old center not too far away from all major attractions, the price is not very high and for that you get a standard room, no complaints, just a standard room at a standard hotel, we took the rooms at the garden so we had no problem with noise it was very quiet.

If you don't want any luxury but do want to be in the old center this hotel is a good solution as everything is close.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald_jelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Our room was quiet, not facing the street. Small, but clean and adequate.

Close to the TI and a 2-3 minute walk to the Mezquita.

We were told breakfast was included when we booked on-line, but the lady clerk said it was extra. I told her she might be mistaken, and she grudgingly gave me vouchers. Glad I did not pay for breakfast. The toast and croissants were crusty as heck. The OJ and cafe con leche were OK.

Would I stay here again? Yes.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hobolinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We walked from Cordoba Central railway station on a sunny afternoon to this square in the old part of town (Juderia). Saw the H sign on the wall and assumed it was the hotel we had booked over the net. As it turned out this was not the hotel we had booked. We liked the appearance and asked to see the avaialble rooms. Liked what we saw and the offered price; so decided to stay here instead. Better than the one we had booked.

We selected a twin bedded room with an attached bathroom that looked and felt newly refurbished. The flooring was marble (cold) throughout - good for chilling wine by simply laying the bottle on the floor for a period!. Both the room and bathroom were very clean, spaclous, very quiet, well appointed with windows for natural light. Disregard the view from the windows. they overlooked other roofs and a terrace with airconditioning units. The towels and sheets were clean, crisp and fresh. Beds were firm and comfortable for a good night's sleep. Adequate toiletries were provided in the bathroom.. Although there was a window to the outside in the bathroom, given the cold marble floors and floor to celing tiles, hot shower made the water condense all over the cold wall and mirror surfaces even with the window open. Electrics in the room is via a small key provided with your room key that has to be inserted into a slot in the room. There is a small TV with Spanish TV and radio channels only.

We were on the second floor in the newly refurbished block at the back of the building. Access to rooms in this block is by staircase only. Lift / elevator is avaialble in the older front section adjacent the reception.

The hotel has no eatery or facility for drinks. However, there is a restaurant just outside the front door with tables outside in a section of the square for coffee, beer, snacks, breakfast, etc. Prices here may be slightly higher than elswhere as it is bang in the middle of tourist area. It would have been nice to have coffee / tea making facility in the room or a simple breakfast facility within the hotel. There is room for it in the courtyard.

The location is brilliant. It is virtually within a few minutes walking distance of all the old city main sites; the Alcazar, Mezquite (mosque) / Cathedral, Roman bridge, Synagogue, etc. City centre, the river and other parts of Cordoba are all within 20-30 minutes walk. Cordoba is a small city. And the people are friendly and warm.

Despite lack of a restaurant / breakfast facility in the hotel it was a nice place to stay. The receptionists we met were David (we think, a local lad), Mohammed (a liberal Morrocan settled in Cordoba) and Ellen ( an Argentinian married to a Cordoban & settled in Cordoba for years) who were all very friendly, chatty and helpful.

Cordoba is a lovely little city and hotel Gonzalez, very acceptable considering the price. We stayed for two nights. We felt the facilities (or lack of some) were adequate (and acceptable) for our stay.

I would recommend the hotel as it offers reasonable value for money and proximity to everything in the old town.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CK110210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

As a two star hotel, the rooms are fairly plain, but clean and functional. The bathrooms were fine. The hotel is located just steps from Cordoba's main tourist attractions, and it could get a bit loud. Our room faced the street, and next time, I would ask for one facing in to the hotel's plaza. Apparently the hotel used to offer breakfast, but now sends guests across the street to a not-very-appealing cafe, which charges 7.5 euros for toast, OJ and coffee. Not bad, but not great. Overall, though, a very good value, in a great location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mezquita
Hotel Mezquita
#29 of 65 in Cordoba
559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Carpe Diem
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Patios
Hotel Los Patios
#41 of 65 in Cordoba
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostel El Antiguo Convento
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#49 of 65 in Cordoba
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Paula
Hotel Don Paula
#9 of 65 in Cordoba
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gonzalez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gonzalez

Address: Calle Manriquez 3, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Price Range: £25 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gonzalez 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located inside a restored 16th. century palace, formerly home to the descendants of the renowned Cordoba painter Julio Romero de Torres. Only 40 metres from the Mosque-Cathedral, the hotel has a traditional Hispanic-Arabic courtyard. The hotel has 31 rooms, all with fully-fitted bathrooms, satellite TV, direct telephone, piped music and individual air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gonzalez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gonzalez Hotel córdoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing