We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel................but!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa de los Azulejos
Ranked #31 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is a really nice, characterful, and well located hotel with super friendly and helpful staff. Unfortunately our fate was sealed when we were given a lovely ground floor room with a big patio. The first night no problems, but Friday and Saturday night the basement restaurant provides "entertainment", as in live music which carries on until 12.45/1.00 a.m.The basement has an outside courtyard and the noise resonates pretty loudly, and that's being generous. When we complained, the staff were most sympathetic saying it happens every weekend. The manager at least gave us a near 50% reduction in our room rate as some form of compensation, but basically we felt like we'd been stitched up by being given "that" room. The room is called "Laurel"............do NOT accept it if offered it at the weekend!
Such a shame............if the situation arises every weekend, as it must, then the manager is simply saying, " I take more money/profit from the restaurant/bar than I need give back in compensation, and it's just tough on you for being given the room."
If we were back in Cordoba on the other 5 days of the week, we would definitely stay there again.........but may be not.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel L, Propietario at Casa de los Azulejos, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

I'm very sorry about the noise that the concert did. It was a private party and it was hard to make them finish before 1 a.m. because I promised that schedule when we made the engagement.
We have change our police for events in order to avoid noise for the guests.
Economical situation has conditioned this situation.
Once again sorry, you were right about your complaint and we will take care about having the same problem.
Manuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is a nice hotel from which to explore Cordoba. The owners are very friendly and helpful. I would say the bathroom was more impressive than the bedroom, though the latter is spacious. There is an inner courtyard, but it is not really a comfortable hotel in which to relax.
We were happy here and would stay again. Cordoba is certainly worth another visit .

I would recommend the night illuminations at the Alcazar. Wonderful light effects on the fountains accompanied by great and dramatic music.

I would also follow the hotel's recommendations for restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john28London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel L, Propietario at Casa de los Azulejos, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Good morning,

We are looking to improve the relaxing atmosphere in the courtyard by offering other services like a little and assorted snack menu or a nice music. We are glad you liked our suggestions for places to visit or restaurants.

Thanks for your comments

Best regards

Manuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

This quirky little hotel is quite perfect. The hosts could not be more helpful. Manuel you are a star.
The rooms are lovely and reception area (patio) and breakfast balcony really lovely. Breakfast was delicious with excellent quality fruit. So if you dont want the plastic chain hotels and prefer genuinely friendly people in interesting setting this is the place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel L, Propietario at Casa de los Azulejos, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Hello again,

Thanks very much for your comments. I was working in a 714 rooms hotel in Mexico and I agree with you about the human touch. Every house has her own character and this House is like a mix between been hosted in a hotel and been my guest in my house. Thanks again.

Best regards

Manuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Great location in the center of Cordoba. But before you can enjoy this beautiful place you have to fight your way through Cordobas alley labyrinth and most important ENTER A FORBIDDEN STREET to successfully reach it with your car…if you cannot find it stop in front of the mayor’s house and find your way by foot.

But it is definitely worth it, once you are there you will see the renovated Spanish mansion, the nice Patio and enjoy the tranquility of this place. If possible book no economy room as it is on the ground floor next to breakfast area. Might be a bit loud in the morning and walls are thin in all of Spain. As a matter of fact this made the room constantly a little dark as we couldn’t open the window as it was facing to the inner courtyard (=patio). Despite this fact, we liked our room as it was spacious, clean, had a good bathroom and a comfy bed.

Wifi worked well and breakfast buffet was pretty good surprisingly as it is included in the price. Staff was friendly and helpful but especially Manuel the owner is a great guy. As we met accidently in the city he invited us to his home to show us the wonderful patio of his family and having a nice conversation. This would never happen in a hotel so we were very happy staying in this family run accommodation.

Parking in general is a big problem in the center of Spanish cities, so we were glad that we were offered a space in the near surroundings for 15 € a day. Be prepared to reserve it in advance to your stay as the spots are limited. For eating I can highly recommend the Taverna Salinas round the corner which serves excellent typical Andalusian food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suparichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel L, Propietario at Casa de los Azulejos, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Hello again,

You are right about the challenge to get center town with the car, even the big forbidden signal (and the small letters about the permission for hotels) is a little scary, but you got it, that's the thing.

Thanks for your compliments and, sincerely, for me is a pleasure to show you my parents house, (as well as the whole hotel of course) making part of the Courtyards Contest, it is really a peace of heaven in hearth.

I'm glad you enjoy your stay in Córdoba. Thanks a lot for coming to Casa de los Azulejos.

Yours sincerely

Manuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

What a welcome! The best we've experienced in our 7 days in Spain so far. We've been surprised at the lack of understanding of English not even to mention speaking basic English experienced. Also, the standard of hotels we've stayed it didn't match what we are used to in similar star hotels back home in South Africa. Arriving at this lovely, "real Spanish house" hotel was so refreshing. Eba, the lady that welcomed us is fantastic - she is warm and friendly and can communicate very well in English. The room and bathroom is spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was also lovely, outside on a beautiful Spanish terrace-would definitely return and recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cordoba

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mellymos5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel L, Propietario at Casa de los Azulejos, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Good morning,

I can only say thanks, from all the staff of Casa de los Azulejos, for your comments. We really appreciate it.

We will see you in your next visit to Córdoba.

Yours sincerely

Manuel Luque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

A wonderful little hotel built around a hidden courtyard, with plants fountain hammock and table and chairs. Lovely old tiled floors and walls, and very atmospheric. We were given room number 3 Ceiba on the first floor a magical room which overlooked the central courtyard. Room was lovely. Breakfast was fantastic, we sat outside in another small courtyard, with a continental breakfast. Staff was the owner who was very helpful. Secure parking was available and close by. Perfect location in the city centre. We would return and of 9 hotels we stayed on our trip around Spain this was number 1!!!

Room Tip: You need to reserve parking when you book this Hotel. Be wary of narrow roads if driving. If you go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raybmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel L, Propietario at Casa de los Azulejos, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thanks a lot for your comments and choosing us for the best between 9 hotels in Spain. It is like a big hug to the whole house. Thanks again.

Best regards

Manuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and glad we booked well ahead as it was during the Patios of Cordoba Festival in early May and Cordoba was very busy. We chose a suite which was a large room with lounge and two comfy reading chairs and TV as well as a huge bathroom. All rooms have heating and aircon and ours had windows overlooking the back of the hotel which was quiet. We had room No 5.
Breakfasts were served from 8.30 till 10.30 and were continental with cereals, different fruits, breads, cheeses and meats, jams, pastes and olive oil was provided. Good coffee including cappuccinos or Twinings tea by teabag or leaves was also provided.
Manuel was a great host as were all the staff at reception and they were very helpful with restaurant recommendations, booking taxis etc. The room was wonderfully clean and bright and comfortable
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davwend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel L, Propietario at Casa de los Azulejos, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Many thanks for your comments!!!
We are now preparing the maintenance work for this summer and we maybe make some arrangement in Buganvilla (#5) to make it a better room.

In the meantime plants are growing really strong and we have already got some strawberries from our "palet-potager" in the breakfast terrace. The mint is ready and we will soon offer some "mojitos".

Best regards

Manuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.4 mi away
Hacienda Posada de Vallina
0.5 mi away
Las Casas de La Juderia
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mezquita
Hotel Mezquita
#32 of 65 in Cordoba
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Carpe Diem
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viento 10
Hotel Viento 10
#2 of 65 in Cordoba
797 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eurostars Patios De Cordoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de los Azulejos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de los Azulejos

Address: Calle Fernando Colon 5, 14002 Cordoba, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cordoba
#21 Family Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range: £59 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa de los Azulejos 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Plaza de la Corredera, the house is a sensory delight and a recreational exercise of colonial architecture. Its conversion into a hotel in 2002 emphasized its colonial character full of colour and plants and with the Andalusian hospitality. Life at the hotel runs around the leafy courtyard coated by tiles from the Menasque factory. On the main floor, marble and wrought iron are embraced by the palm and banana trees, and the flowering clivias, bundled with the majestic balustrade and the marvelous plasterwork vault of the main staircase painted by Javier and Nino Gamboa with “the four elements”. Once in the rooms, the traditional andalusian style is reinvented creating original and very comfortable spaces. The large windows, handcrafted furniture in noble wood, hydraulic floors, old glass doors of the corridor and main balustrade are combined with the most modern facilities. The alcoves celebrate the meeting of cultures with contention but always ready to show some surprises: a chest of drawers of the family, a historic item, a fireplace rescued from the original building. The hotel has a sacred space: a library full of rare references and specialized in gastronomy, architecture, travel and art, ranging from titles recommended by the Institute of Architects of Córdoba to the latest travel guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa de los Azulejos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Los Azulejos Hotel Cordoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing