We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprising vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hospes Palacio del Bailio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hospes Palacio del Bailio
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
Duffel, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Surprising vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Normally we go for our Automn break vacation to the Canary Islands (still nicely warm). Our 9-year old daughter loves this vacation as at the pool she always makes new friends and good fun. This year however, all hotels were full due to a lot of travellers choose for the Canaries i/o Egypt. So I had to look for another place. I decided for Cordoba as for a long time I wanted to explore this historical city. We were a bit concerned as this was a way different holiday for our daughter, but she loved the whole week! Not one complaint. This city has so much to offer. But the hotel exceeded our expectations! When I started my search, I found the Hotel Hospes Palacio DelBallio. It is an 16th century old Palace who has been transformed into a luxury hotel with respect to the old palace. We arrived late in the evening, and the arrival was already spectacular as you first drive in these narrow streets (YOU NEED GPS!) and the final street before you arrive at the hotel, the street ends just in front of the old Palace entrance. Immediately someone was there to pick up the luggage, no worry about the car as they drive the car to a separate parking. In no time we were registered and could put our feet under the table in the tapas restaurant. The other restaurant is Menzo's and you eat in a most spectacular "patio" The floor is glass(transparant). Beneath you see the rest of a Roman villa with the mozaik floor visible. Waw! Service is everywhere perfect and with a smile. My complements to the 5 Christina's and Silvia for their kindness, smile and superb service. If I forgot one name, I apologize! Breakfast was very complete, Fresh squeezed oranges, All kinds of fresh fruits etc..Our room was very nice, the bed heavenly, the badroom big with all comfort. Must see is absolutely the Mezquita, the Kings Fortress, but explore the city as we did as you discover each time something new. You can walk the whole city. Also go for the Flamenco evening El Cardinal near the Mezquita. No discussion - simply the best. We for sure go back! And to Cordoba.

Room Tip: We were staying in room 16 which is at the groundfloor. Very nice, no window, except a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Palacio del Bailio, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Client,
We are delighted to hear your holidays choice was fully satisfying for all your family.
Cordoba city offers an ample variety of tourist activities, apart the possibility to enjoy a mild climate in Autumn and delicious Andalusian cuisine. Also our hotel has several open court yards, indoor spa pool and outdoor pool, and different food and beverage offer in charming spots, so children and their parents could feel really confortable.
Let us advise you other Hospes destinations like Granada, Sevilla, Madrid, Alicante, Valencia or Mallorca where your family could enjoy as well Hospes special relaxing atmosphere.

We look forward to receiving you in your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Alberto Pérez Prieto
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    978
    274
    70
    22
    17
See reviews for
200
913
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

My husband, our 4 year old and I just got back from our 8 day tour in Andalucía.
The tour included Cordoba, Granada and Seville.
First stop was Cordoba and beautiful Hospes Palacio del Bailio, in which we came after a long trip from Milan by airplane and then after landing in Seville we took the train to Cordoba.
We came pretty tired but after entering this beautiful hotel in really beautiful old building at the city center, immediately, we all felt much better.
From the moment of arrival the reception staff was welcoming, friendly and helpful, so we felt like we came home after a 15 hour journey.
We booked a Dreamer room which was on the ground floor with little balcony and not too much light and no view, but it was beautifully appointed, lot of space, huge bed and really quite so we had a nice sleep.
The bathroom was also very nice, lot of space and nice shower.
Every bit of the hotel is perfectly decorated and designed. There is a small, but very nice swimming pool at the back of the hotel in a very nice garden.
The breakfast was served in really nice restaurant with glass rooftop and glass floor where you can see the Roman ruins.
The breakfast was very good; there was a good selection of fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, jamon Iberico, cheese, croissants, juices, coffee... Everything we needed was there to enjoy nice beginning of the day.
Adjoined restaurant was the Tapas bar in which we had dinner on the first night. The food was very good with 5* prices, which are more or less normal for higher category hotels.
The only thing I would suggest is for the restaurant staff to improve their English. If you are eating a good food and need some suggestions on wine, it would be advisable to get some more information about good local wines and the reason why take one, and not the another from the wine list.
At the end, I have requested to take a look at the other types of room (it is helpful for my job) and the reception staff was very happy to show me the hotel.
There are different kind of rooms beside the Dreamers, but they all, even in the same category are different in size and in position in the hotel. Since, this is building in the old city on 2 floors, even if you are on the second floor, there will not be a spectacular view. But, with such a nice property and staff, you won't need the view.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone who likes boutique, design hotels, intimate feeling, great reception staff and wonderful location. If we come back, this is the only hotel in which I would stay!

Room Tip: Even if you pick a Dreamer room there is no specific size for each category. It doesn't metter w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeljkadurovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Palacio del Bailio, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments about us.

Coming to Andalucia it is an experience we highly recommend to everybody because of the heritage, wheather, people, food ...

In the same way you will easily find the same scent of Andalucia staying with us; our hotel is integrated in the old part of the town, and our guest will find Roman ruins, original XVIII paintings or could walk through Andalusian court yards.

At the same time our guest will profit of all the 5 hotel advantages, like confortable large bed, stunning bathroom, full range breakfast or high class gastronomic restaurant.

Most important your family fully enjoyed with us and feel like to came back and recommend us! What else could we ask for!

We would recomend you to visit another Hospes Hotels and catch the scent of Madrid, Alicante, Valencia, or Mallorca.

Kind Regards,

Alberto Pérez Prieto
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I beautiful mix of modern and ancient. Beautiful!! Plus, the fresh papayas in the room were a great snack! The frescos in the dining room (a covered courtyard) and then glass floor looking down at the excavated roman baths.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank applebrownb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I suppose that like most people I visited Cordoba as a tourist to see its many historic sites - dating from Roman times - and to learn about the history of Andalusia and the sad ramifications of the Spanish Inquisition.

The old part of the city occupies an area which can easily be covered by foot and I chose an hotel within walking distance of the sites which offered a comfortable respite from each day's sightseeing.

Hospes Palacio del Bailio occupies good sized grounds and has been modernised in a manner sympathetic to the Moorish heritage of Cordoba while offering a luxurious and comfortable atmosphere.

My friend and I had standard rooms which were in a building separated from the main hotel by a charming garden and swimming pool. We did not have any views to speak of although we could have upgraded on arrival to suites with nicer outlooks. As we did not expect to spend much time in the rooms we did not think the premium was justified for us.

The rooms were well equipped and fitted out to a high standard.

From the moment of arrival the staff were welcoming, friendly, informative and helpful. This is not a cheap hotel but the personal and professional standard of its management are worth its price.

There are two restaurants which adjoin one another. The one with the glass floor revealing Roman ruins below provides high quality dining and also a good breakfast. The other serves lighter, tapas style dishes. The wine list is good but, like the food, it is not inexpensive.

They would have needed to sharpen up their room food service and their evening turn down service to win 5 stars from me, however to err is human and our stay was divine.

Room Tip: You may like to enquire as to the outlook. Our rooms were a little dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel is a converted palace. The building is spectacular - you feel as if you are living in history. The garden is particularly beautiful - well maintained plants, orange trees covered in oranges and a lovely quiet atmosphere. The pool is small but elegant. In the evening there is a strong and lovely smell of Jasmine - so lovely.
The staff are friendly and helpful, giving advice on drive times, parking, and helping book restaurants.

However we were assigned rather substandard rooms, overlooking a narrow street and very close to the opposite building - looking straight into the opposite neighbours rooms. This was unnecessary because the hotel was quite empty and I am sure we could have had a view of the garden. I guess we should have asked to change but we arrived at 12.00 midnight and we were keen to get something to eat before we went to bed.

The lovely smell of the garden was not replicated in our bedroom. There was a really horrible smell in the room and in the bathroom - sort of stale and lavatorial. I did mention this to the staff on the first morning, and they did sort it out so the following afternoon when we got back from sightseeing it did not smell any longer. However that night, after we had had dinner the pong was back. I reported it again on check out but our very considerable bill was not reduced. This was a bit of a disappointment.


The room was warm so we slept with the window open - there was a lot of noise from the street on Friday night but Saturday night was quieter
The dining room is built over beautiful roman ruins - interesting. The roman baths need to be booked - which we did. The cold bath was the same temperature as the lukewarm bath so we decided to use the swimming pool for our cold dip.

Don't make the error of eating the crisps that are left in the room - they are part of the mini bar and they are charged at 3 euro.

Room Tip: ask for one overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahk8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whipsnade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

" You'd like extra pillows Sir? Of course. Soft, large, small, down? ...we'll bring them right up.." Five-star hotels in my experience fall into two categories: those that offer glitz and marble bathrooms, half a dozen restaurants, a patina of courtesy and not much else ( most) and those which blend impeccable taste, style, old-fashioned Spanish cortesia and comfort.. without breaking sweat. The Hospes in Cordoba falls squarely in the latter category and shoots straight into my top 20.

This exceptional property also manages a trick which very few conversions ( it's a 16th century palace built around three lovely patios) manage without ending up with dungeon-like rooms shoehorned into claustrophobic spaces: it's interior is a contrasting modern blend of cool white and black marble, pastel colours, outsize chandeliers like silver honeycombs, comfy furniture and an ever-so-slightly quirky mix of styles encased in a handsome old building.

The staff are professional and charming without being obsequious, cheerful and relaxed and, unusually for such a team, young. We were there in early November so enjoyed the added luxury of being upgraded, with quiet, unfussy modesty, and not having too many other guests. Inland Andalucia is the sensuous, vibrant, laid-back heart of Spain (away from the insanity of the Costas) and this hotel captures its essence.

Its breakfast room has a glass floor which looks down onto the remains of a beautifully preserved Roman villa. So you sit munching salmonejo drizzled in olive oil and scrumptious scrambled eggs with acorn-fed Iberian ham perched over 2000 years of history. Food is good. Tapas yummy. Decent wine cellar. I don't know why it describes itself as a "boutique" hotel ( a silly term which all-too-often hides a multitude of shortcomings) because it's much more.

It's pricey. And there are little imperfections: the funky square sinks in the marbled bathrooms don't have plugs which in a region parched of water seems daft. And there's hardly any shelf space. Towels could be fluffier. Bedside tables are awkward. It's as if, at the very end, the designer went slightly haywire. They could provide free mineral water at the price..but Wifi is free. Bedside lighting ( something even many top hotels can't get their head around) is good for that cosy,late- night read. Spa is a little cramped which, in the heart of a city once the centre of a Moorish empire with sumptuous Arab baths is disappointing. Still these are quibbles. Splurge on a deluxe room or suite overlooking the verdant garden and swimming pool area if you can. They will park your car for you if you drive ( and actually it's much easier getting into most of Cordoba than,say, getting into the old town of Seville)

The Ritz it is not or the Carlyle. But it is special. You arrive tired and leave refreshed. Oh, and it's very quiet.

Room Tip: Deluxe or up to get a view overlooking garden patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slowflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoknapatawpha
Level Contributor
173 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel, tucked away in the side streets of Cordoba but only a few minutes' walk from the main tourist sites. The hotel is built on Roman ruins (which you can visit) and is a beautifully restored palace, which, thanks to the large amount of glass and marble used in the restoration is full of light. The rooms are similarly light filled, spacious and modern. The service is excellent, warm and friendly. The ambience is luxurious and intimate. The hotel restaurant is also first class, well up to Michelin star standards. If you're visiting Cordoba, a small gem of a city, there can't be a better place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuentinYoknapatawpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.5 mi away
Balcon de Cordoba
Balcon de Cordoba
#1 of 70 in Cordoba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.7 mi away
Las Casas de La Juderia
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Palace
Eurostars Palace
#8 of 70 in Cordoba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Patios De Cordoba
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viento 10
Hotel Viento 10
#2 of 70 in Cordoba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Palacio del Bailio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Palacio del Bailio

Property: Hospes Palacio del Bailio
Address: Calle Ramirez de Las Casas Deza 10-12, 14001 Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cordoba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cordoba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cordoba
#7 Family Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Palacio del Bailio 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hospes Palacio del Bailio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Palacio Del Bailio Hotel Cordoba
Hospes Palacio Del Bailio córdoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing