We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backwater gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hospes Palacio del Bailio
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Backwater gem”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Well positioned and no more than a 10 minute walk from the major sights, it is lovely to return for a pool-side siesta under an orange tree.

Very comfortable room, bed and bathroom. Free use of the roman bath is really relaxing after a hard day of sight-seeing. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaandMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Palacio del Bailio, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for your stay and nice comments about us.

We do appreciate you recommend this hotel in Trip Advisor.

We look forward you could visit us in the future.

Kind Regards,

Alberto Pérez - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,017
    280
    71
    23
    18
See reviews for
209
941
31
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Beautiful property, sympathetically converted, blending modern with old. There is a really peaceful, serene vibe about the place. Fantastic staff; everyone from the delightful Laura in reservations who ensured we had a fabulous room, to the charming Pablo who ran the terrace and pool, to the very friendly lady at breakfast who always remembered our order, to Marcos on reception who on check out had our car already parked outside in order to ensure a speedy check out, made our stay an unforgetable one. This is by far the best service i have received in a hotel in Spain so congratulations to the team. The 2 things that let this hotel down are the patchy/weak wifi signal and the food. We ordered a pizza from room service at 2am, it was inedible and to give them credit they removed it from the bill, i ordered salt baked sea bass at lunch one day and it arrived raw, again they didn't charge and offered me a complimentary dessert (unusual in Spain), we ordered salmorejo on 2 consecutive days and the same dish looked totally different from one day to the next, clearly different chefs and no consistency. Nothing major but considering the €349 not including breakfast a night we paid these are something that should be worked on to make this a truly first class experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelkat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Maybe my expectations were too high. It is not a 5 star hotel, but there is much to like.

The good - The property is lovely with beautiful grounds and Roman ruins under the dining room that can be viewed through a glass floor. The pool provided a relaxing respite. The room we finally ended up in was large, quiet and beautifully furnished with a private courtyard.

The not so good -
There was no wifi. They told us they would send someone to fix it in our room and no one ever showed up. Then we were told that the hotel had a problem with the wifi and they were working on it. Since I see other reviews mentioning this for a while, it seems that they were not really doing anything to fix it and are lying to the guests. This is unacceptable in a "luxury" hotel, or even in a 2 star hotel, and I would never have stayed there if I had been aware that there was no wifi.

The first room we were shown was very small. There was no place for 2 people to sit other than on the bed, no desk, and immediately outside the window was a table with people eating lunch in the garden. This room was not acceptable - maybe as an entry level room, but not in the deluxe category which we had reserved. We were told that the hotel was fully booked and there were no other options. Then, "they checked further" we were told that we could have a bigger room but it would be 60 euros per night more. I negotiated that down to 40 euros and we were given a very nice room. This left a very bad feeling, however, that they were playing games and not being honest. Cordoba needs a better luxury hotel option.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorkTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I thought this was a very nice hotel. The physical property is lovely with many gardens, courtyards, nice pool area. It is a spa hotel and gives off a peaceful vibe. Our room, though somewhat small was clean, well decorated and had a nice bath. The location of the hotel was good as it was within easy walking distance of everything, but just far enough away from the hustle and bustle to allow for that more relaxing feeling. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMitch6542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The staff are friendly, but don't step in too far, they just let you wander around relaxed.
A beautiful room, though not very spacious, but with everything that is needed.
Breakfast wasn't included in the price, but it was worth paying extra.
The location seemed a little far away from the tourist spots at first, but was only a 10mins walk, which was just the perfect distance. Once you get used to the winding roads of Cordoba, it was not a problem at all. We loved the place!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank africanpygmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We arrived at the Hotel. The parking was a little hard to work out at first, there are bays outside the hotel and you can actually drive into the archway. The staff are extremely helpful, they take your car keys and sort everything out with no question, you just relax at the check in desk.

The hotel is amazing and very charming. You get the grand tour and a short history lesson about the building shortly after check in. The staff are very proud of the hotel and it's immaculate, by the time we got to our room our bags had already arrived.

The swimming pool is not massive but it's warm, even for May, and secluded. The bar staff are always floating around and it's easy to get a drink from the friendly staff.

The bedrooms are tastefully decorated and there's a minibar and room service for a few Euros extra.

The restaurant is very nice with a glass floor that reveals the old part of the House. It's lit in the evening. The restaurant staff are very professional. The food is OK, our starters were fabulous, but the main course wasn't that great to be honest. I didn't feel it was good value for money, sorry. There is also a Tapas bar. Breakfast was very good and prompt.

The spa is very nice, again friendly staff. You need to book to use the Roman baths that are under the house, this is only to make sure there are not too many people in there at once. There is no charge for the use of the pools.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we really enjoyed our stay, we will visit it again I'm sure.

Room Tip: We had a Corner Suite that had it's own little courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a two night stay at this beautiful property. My husband and I could not get over how beautifully this hotel has integrated the majestic centuries old building with modern decor and finishes. Our jr suite #19 was literally tucked into a private courtyard. It was spacious and beautifully appointed. The grounds ,including the pretty front courtyard where you can linger with a glass of wine, are lovely. A delicious and plentiful breakfast was served each day.
Lastly the front desk staff was warm and welcoming and very helpful. This is a wonderful and beautiful hotel which we highly recommend

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EllenNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.7 mi away
Las Casas de La Juderia
0.5 mi away
Balcon de Cordoba
Balcon de Cordoba
#1 of 66 in Cordoba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Palace
Eurostars Palace
#8 of 66 in Cordoba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Patios De Cordoba
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viento 10
Hotel Viento 10
#2 of 66 in Cordoba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Palacio del Bailio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Palacio del Bailio

Property: Hospes Palacio del Bailio
Address: Calle Ramirez de Las Casas Deza 10-12, 14001 Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cordoba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cordoba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cordoba
#7 Family Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Palacio del Bailio 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TravelUp, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hospes Palacio del Bailio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Palacio Del Bailio Hotel Cordoba
Hospes Palacio Del Bailio córdoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing