We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hospes Palacio del Bailio
Nearby Hotels
Eurostars Maimonides(Cordoba)(Great Value!)
US$287
US$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
AC Hotel Cordoba(Cordoba)
US$196
AC Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tryp Cordoba(Cordoba)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$171
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Las Casas de La Juderia(Cordoba)
US$243
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Eurostars Patios De Cordoba(Cordoba)(Great Value!)
US$292
US$262
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Cordoba Center(Cordoba)(Great Value!)
US$198
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arriadh(Cordoba)
US$126
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Mezquita(Cordoba)(Great Value!)
US$279
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
San Miguel(Cordoba)(Great Value!)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Macia Alfaros(Cordoba)(Great Value!)
US$1,216
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,652)
Filter reviews
1,652 results
Traveller rating
1,212
316
78
25
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,212
316
78
25
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroman bathsglass floorold palaceconverted palacetapas barroman remainsbeautiful hoteldeluxe roomorange treesoutdoor poolminute walkfive star hotelan oasishistoric buildingstayed longermodern designloved this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
860 - 865 of 1,652 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2008

This is undoubtedly a very expensive hotel, but demonstarted true value for money with a beautiful room, gorgeous bathroom, awesome toiletries , wonderful breakfast (possibly the best hotel breakfast ever!) ,terrific dinner and tapa menus, lovely communal areas (including breakfast suspended over a real roman mosaic ), lovely pool and garden area, and fabulous service. We didn't use the spa at all but i am sure that lived up to the rest of the hotel too. A truly lovely place to stay .

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Extravatrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2008

Cordoba is one of Europe's great cities, and this hotel is a treat. The rooms are tastefully decorated, the central courtyard is a lovely place to have a drink, and the staff are very friendly. The location is not ideal (about 20 mins' walk from the Mesquita), but is very quiet, ensuring a decent night's sleep.

The hotel is let down only by its extremely average restaurant. The menu encourages you to request the recommendations of the day. When we did so, the waitress went to ask the chef, and returned with the answer: "the chef says everything on the menu is recommended". Perhaps this was lost in translation, but it seemed like a very arrogant response. I had the "scallops cooked two ways" to start with, and did a double take when it arrived at the table. What arrived was ONE single scallop served in a cold milky broth with slices of apple. This starter was priced at 18 euros, which is the biggest rip-off of anything I have ever eaten. My wife had a distinctly average spaghetti dish.

The main course was only marginally better. The pork was cooked very well, but was spoiled by a sickly sweet orange sauce. The cod was over-cooked and served with wallpaper paste. The waitresses, it must be said, could not have been friendlier, but they clearly had little idea about the food on offer. This restaurant is an exercise in style over substance, and is symptomatic of the over-wrought Michelin style of cooking that blights so many modern hotels.

Breakfast the following day was very good, mainly because the chef didn't have a chance to mess around with it.

In short, do make sure you stay in this excellent hotel, but eating in town is a lot more fun.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank matt&faye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2008

We stayed at the Hospes Palacio del Bailio during our honeymoon trip through Spain, and it was by far our favorite hotel! The decor is gorgeous and the grounds are steeped in history, the staff are great and helpful, and the location is perfect. I would recommend this hotel above and beyond any others!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank globetrottah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2008

We stayed at this hotel in the middle of a trip through Extremadura and Andalucia with our 7-year-old son in tow. It is a beautiful hotel with impeccable service. Our room opened onto the courtyard where eating and jazz took place at night but this was not an intrusion. We enjoyed the buzz and availed ourselves of tapas in the courtyard. As the hotel accepted the booking and charged for the extra bed I didn't stop to consider its suitability for a child. However I probably should have done so. The staff were very welcoming but I think the other patrons were surprised to have the pools and spa area invaded by a raucous young Australian!
The level of service and mastery of the English language was overwhelming after our stays in rural paradores -- so much so that it was a chore to drag ourselves out into the heat of Cordoba to see the sights!
How can I fault this place? Only to say that it is a little bit too comfortable and convenient to be a cultural experience. On the other hand it is a haven. You will never get the wrong food or be ignored by an embarrassed service person who dreads interracting with an ignorant foreigner here.
And the kids will love it!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank aussiesinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

This hotel lived up to all the prior reviews and exceeded expectations, which is rare these days. We spent our first two nights in Spain here, having taken the train to Cordoba after landing in Madrid, and couldn't have chosen a better place to unwind after travelling. We enjoyed the pool area in particular, lounging the first afternoon to prepare for sightseeing. The rooms were lovely, especially the bathrooms, and the entire hotel is gorgeous and extremely well designed. The staff was helpful and pleasant and spoke English very well. I only wish we could have moved this hotel to the other cities we visited. We stayed in hospes hotels in Seville and Granada, and while both were excellent in their own ways as well, neither quite had the combination of pool/lounging area and luxury of this one. The one down note was that the AC in our room didn't work as well as it should have, and they weren't able to change rooms for us to something equal or better, but did provide a fan which was fine.

Cordoba itself, while charming, proved less interesting to us than the other cities, so in retrospect, I might not have chosen to go there, but glad I did have the chance to stay at this lovely property.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxlovernyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews