We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful accommodation”
Review of Hostal Alcazar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Alcazar
Ranked #11 of 39 Cordoba B&B and Inns
London UK
Level Contributor
187 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful accommodation”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We found this hostal in the Rough Guide. Having spent the prvious night at a Parador this was at the opposite and of the price spectrum. €50 for a double, breakfast not included, but free parking for the bike in an underground garage. Very well-located and although basic met our needs for the night and there are plent of cafes close by to get breakfast. Not sure what the going rate for budget accom is in Cordoba but this was OK. the proprietor, who was very friendly recommended a restaurant up the street as being more authoentic than the more touristy places. We were not impressed by the food or service we received up the street, however.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seangriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    61
    43
    17
    12
See reviews for
35
88
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ivanic Grad, Croatia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We arrived at this nice place, to find owners perfectly welcoming and helpful, providing us with every information a traveler could need (like where to eat, what to see and how to gain free access to sites).
Place had older furniture but ih really tastefully furnished, clean (and was cleaned every day of our stay), with basic facilities. Place has terrific value for money.
Location of the hostel is perfect for visiting the old town, providing great place to rest from sight seeing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hijeroglif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
365 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

A secluded refuge in the old city. The furnishings are a little worn and no free breakfast, but at 60 Euros for an apartment for 4 persons I won't complain. I was lucky to find parking on the street near the hostel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City West
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

If you are looking for a place to spend only 30 euros a night and have a safe place, a private bathroom, a clean room and a good firm bed, Hostal Alcazar is the place for you (and really, what more could you expect for only 30 euros a night?). According to Rick Steves' guide book, Hostal Alcazar is the best of the low priced options, and while we didn't try others, I would have to agree that it provides the basics, and the people are extremely helpful and friendly.

It is difficult to manage arriving at the hostal if you are driving. The closest you can get is a road that runs along a small park and has a tourist information kiosk at the corner. The person at the tourist information center directed me back a ways, then across the park and down some steps. When I reached the hostal, Demitro, who speaks English, asked where my husband and the car were and set out to find them because, as he said, we must deal with the car first and then the room. In order to find the garage where the car can be parked (for 8 euros a night), you must have Demitro's help, and even if you could find it, you couldn't unlock it. He helped my husband bring the bags, and then we dealt with the room.

The room was tiny, and Demitro was concerned that the bags might not fit, but we got them in. He gave us directions to the Mezquita, which is quite close, and we set off. The hostal is conveniently located for everything in the historical section.

In summary, it would not be possible to find friendly people or lower rates for a clean, safe room with a firm bed and a private bathroom. However, paint is peeling, and the hostal itself is very basic.

Room Tip: If driving, be prepared to have someone else go to the hostal and get help; there is no other way to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pstreet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cordoba hotels

Bilbao, España
Level Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My boyfriend and I went to Córdoba on a day trip so we just stayed at this hostel for one night.
We paid 35€ for a double room with private bathroom (toilet + shower + washbasin) and air conditioner, which was a little old but still working.
The owners of the hostel were very kind and helpful.
The hostel is near the historic center of Córdoba, few meters away from the Alcázar and the Cathedral.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Agree 100% with Traveller69Phuket! We arrived in Cordoba on a busy weekend with no accommodation lined up, in a ridiculously wide rental car. Owner Fernando(?), wife and son were extremely helpful not only in providing accommodation, but almost holding our hands to get that monster car parked. Also, they provided good advice on restaurants. Very friendly, inexpensive and central to the sights.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orion_TTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Hostals and Pensions provide the cheapest no frills en-suite accommodation in Spain if you are on a budget and want to be close to the main sites, most of which you have to pay to enter. We found Spain to be unexpectantly expensive during our stay, although accommodation in the Hostals was reasonable. Breakfasts and tea and coffee making facilities are uncommon. Go to the nearest Tourist Information office and obtain widely available street and accommodation maps, as these offer much needed guidance when seeking a place to stay. Free parking is hardly ever available and it can be costly if you have to use Public sites. You therefore have to balance out the additional cost of this against the extra cost of staying at a hotel which offers free parking. Although this type of accommodation is often plentiful and well placed, remember that the Spanish eat and socialise very late, so noise can often be a problem for light sleepers.

Hostal Alcazar is the nearest Hostal to the Tourist Information booth as you enter Cordoba. It is situated in a quiet, pedestrian only street, next to the historic centre. Secure parking is available at 5 Euros per day and basic breakfast at 3 Euros per day. Good English was spoken and the owner very helpful. Accommodation was a little basic but clean, of reasonable size and the room was made up every day. Cordoba sites can be walked in a day and the shopping area is not huge. There are plenty of restaurants and coffee bars around. Represented good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for one across the alley in the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller69Phuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Palace
Eurostars Palace
#9 of 65 in Cordoba
2,330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Casas de La Juderia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Maimonides
Eurostars Maimonides
#20 of 65 in Cordoba
1,256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Carpe Diem
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Patios De Cordoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Alcazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Alcazar

Property: Hostal Alcazar
Address: Calle San Basilio 2, 14004 Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Alcazar 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Alcazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing