We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, friendly hostal”
Review of Hostal Alcazar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Alcazar
Ranked #11 of 40 Cordoba B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Cheap, friendly hostal”
Reviewed 21 June 2008

Hostal Alcazar locates just outside the city wall, closed to the Mezquita. The room is basic, but clean. It is also closed to the river and the garden/park. We have a nice stroll along the river. This is a simple hostal but cheap and closed to all tourist attraction.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    61
    43
    17
    12
See reviews for
35
89
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hasselt
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2008

We stayed in the appartement the Hostal Alcazar offers at 80 Euros a night. We stayed here with 4 adults. The appartement was located in a quiet street in a central location (very close to the historical center, Alcazar, etc.). Previous reviews mention that the rooms are not allways clean, I only can confirm. It is definitely not horrible, just small details. The beds are not so good quality ... too hard or too soft, but for this prices ... The rooms are always relatively cool, eventhough they have airco.

The appartement has a fridge, big plus, especially with these temperatures and a super - friendly owner. They have a (small) parking area one street from the hostal. This parking space is only for good drivers :) so the owner of the hostal went with us to park the car. Breakfast was basic, but for us definitely ok (coffee, tea, hot chocolate, toast, small croissants and some biscuits).

The owner recommanded the restaurant El Basilio, but for me this was a mistake. Horrible service and the food was, for me, below average. El Churrasco is much much much better!

I would stay here again!

  • Liked — Central location, good price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B_B_Hasselt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2008

We recently stayed 2 nights at this family run hostal. We had a room across the street from the main building. It was a very basic triple room, with 3 twin beds. The building itself had a very nice interior courtyard with tables. The room was upstairs and had a private bath. The room was very basic and clean. The beds were typical and hard. There was a TV in the room but got only a few Spanish channels. The bathroom was very small with a tiny shower that wasn't very clean. There was AC in the room which was nice. Their website states that they offer parking if you book in advance, but we were never given parking upon arrival, and lucked out finding a spot down the street. Parking is a problem as it is not close to any public car parks and spaces are very limited. I would get them to confirm in advance that you get a parking space, and WHERE.

The hostal was located very close to the old city walls and next to the Alcazar. A 3 minutes walk and we were at the cathedral. In the opposite direction of town was a kids playground about 3 minutes walk. There is a good bakery close which offered nice pastries and coffee. The hostal offered a simple breakfast for 4 Euros, but I saw it and it consisted of coffee and prepackage pastries....I think you could do better and much cheaper at the cafe I mentioned.

Over all, good location, simple accommodations. No frills but decent.

  • Liked — proximity to town
  • Disliked — mildew in shower, hard beds
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BFamilyZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irvine, california
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2008

What a great find in lovely Cordoba! We booked a junior apartment and found the accommodations to be spacious and comfortable. The hotel owner is hilarious! He really enjoyed teasing my daughter, who is in Spain studying. If you go, ask him to tell you the name of the restaurant nearby that he recommends that the locals use - it was one of the more fun meals on our trip. The hotel is very well situated in Cordoba, which is an easy walking city. No special amenities were available: no phone, hair dryer, etc., but we were only there for one night.

  • Liked — The owner!
  • Disliked — We needed a phone and had to go out and look for one.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drmmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2007

We stayed one night at Hostal Alcazar and enjoyed it. We arrived fairly late (10:30pm) but a nice older woman and her little white dog answered the door and showed us to our room. It looks like they have rooms on both sides of the street.

1. ROOM: Our room had a decent double bed, with small dresser and tiny TV (with terrible reception, didnt watch it) Nice sized bathroom with good shower, good water pressue & hot water. The room had a window that looked out into a "Patio" as well as the bathroom having a little window. The woman showed us the linen closet in the patio area where we helped ourselves to some extra pillows! The room also had an older couch and small table & chairs. The room was fairly big, larger than the ones in photos with the other reviews on this site.

2. AMMENITIES: Across the lane is the main family patio, where they serve meals (at a reasonalbe price i'm told) Parking is on another street (1 block over) and the location is a stone's throw from the Misquaita and Alcaazar...great location for a tourist. Street is super quiet and peaceful.

This is a very good budget accomodation. Not fancy, just perfect for the average budget traveler - reccomended by Rick Steve's and for good reason. I reccomend as well. Email any questions.

  • Liked — Good service, great value, Awesome location to sights, good parking options
  • Disliked — TV reception bad, Furniture pretty basic
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bartolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2007

I wasn't sure how long I was going to stay at the Hostal Alcazar, but I liked it so much that I stayed for 5 nights. It is a cute little family-run hostal where the family was friendly and helped me practice my Spanish. They gave me a map of the city and gave me a tip on when to get in free to the Mezquita-Cathedral. The room was clean & had A/C. I thought it was a great value for the money.

  • Liked — friendly service
  • Disliked — no elevator, but the staff helped me carry my luggage
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spaintraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj, usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2007

We were looking for a place in Cordoba and found the Hostal Alcazar. We rented a full apartment w/parking for the car for 50 Euros a night - great deal! The apartment was awesome - clean, secure and full amenities. The staff was friendly & helpful. Very close to the Mesquita and the ciudad viejo. Highly recommended!!!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank stewpanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
0.1 mi away
Las Casas de La Juderia
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Palace
Eurostars Palace
#10 of 65 in Cordoba
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Carpe Diem
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Maimonides
Eurostars Maimonides
#20 of 65 in Cordoba
1,287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mezquita
Hotel Mezquita
#30 of 65 in Cordoba
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Alcazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Alcazar

Property: Hostal Alcazar
Address: Calle San Basilio 2, 14004 Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Alcazar 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal Alcazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing