We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great, friendly, extremely central”
Review of San Miguel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Miguel
Ranked #31 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

great, friendly, extremely central, affordable, fantastic place to stay. close to cheap restaurants/ pubs.
200m from a Roman Palace from 43 AD
suggest you use bike hire from next to palace ruins.
wonderful location, clean, neat, lovely atmosphere

Room Tip: with balcony is great. no fridge or kettle lovely courtyard
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hapy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
There are newer reviews for San Miguel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

It's very much like a 4.5 TripAdvisor hotel: Everything was great. The central courtyard could pass for something from a movie! The rooms are cute, and in a unique way(as opposed to only being nice, but generic). Also surprisingly large rooms/bathroom. Service was good.

Location is in the middle of old town - so that's a plus. In Cordova, old town is still very much used for regular business (i.e., not just tourism), so that also means the hotel is also just down from a supermarket, and a lot of shopping options.

It's walkable from the train station, though it's a bit confusing the first time. Coming in, due to not wanting to waste limited time while lost- we opted for a taxi. When leaving for the train station, we just walked.

If you want to walk - the "Google walking" directions sucked! The distance isn't that far, so it's better to have simple ones, rather than turn every 50m.

I don't know if anyone would want decent directions, but - open up Google Maps & follow along: From train station: Take southern exit, the one with Ave. de America. Walk SW along Ave. de America. Turn Left (south) onto Av. de Cervantes. This is along a park. Continue down, turn left (east) onto Calle Conception. Follow this all the way into oldtown, it empties into Plaza de Tendillas - a rather large plaza, can't miss that you've entered it. Multiple options from here, but one option: From your perspective when entering: Take the alley/street in the *center* of the left (North) side of the plaza. It forks - take the right fork. The hotel is right there on the left. One in Plaza de Tendillas you are very close though, so there are multiple ways to go.

If in doubt - ask people for Placa San Miguel, for which the hotel is named, and right next to it.

Last two other things: No breakfast included (the norm in Spain) - and, this is odd but: There's a vending machine in the lobby, but the prices are just normal market prices- not inflated at all. To me, that's a pretty good indicator of a nice place - they put that there for convenience, not profit.

All in all my favorite hotel on this last trip, and the only one I'd rate a "5"! Among the largest rooms on this trip, and pretty clearly the nicest.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

A few days before our trip we were sent a map with a different car park as they were digging up the roads around the hotel and the normal car park was not accessible. Although the route into Cordoba was a bit complicated, we managed to find the car park after only going wrong once. The car park was not very convenient as the lift stopped between floors, difficult when you have heavy bags. The hotel was nice and in a quiet area. We did not hear any noises from the street. The bedroom and bathroom were fine. A second comfortable chair would have been nice. Our window opened onto the patio in the centre of the building. No food is provided apart from a machine. Once there we didn't use the car at all and walked everywhere around the city. It's not far to all the main attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crazy_jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Small friendly hotel in a quiet area, but still close to all main attractions. The room was traditionally furnished, clean and comfortable. It is nice to get traditional decor instead of being in a room which could be anywhere in the world! Staff were charming and very helpful, and the vending machine and coffee machine in reception were welcome. It was lovely as you walked through the main doors into a small patio area (you have to have a patio in Cordoba!) The room had air conditioning, but also windows that opened. Loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roseananne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

The place is well located, quiet, walking distance from main attraction. The room is clean, large and the staff very kind. It is a very good cost benefit if you are on a budget trip. There are several good places to eat around . I will recommend it to my friends.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EGLERIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Excellent small hotel in good location in central Cordoba. Staff very helpful and speak some English, on duty 24hr. Within walking distance to all main sights. Can drive to hotel and it has parking, but not easy to find by car in the pedestrianised area. No meals available, but close to many bars, cafes and restaurants so this was not a problem. Air conditioning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The hotel is fairly well located - walking distance from most places of interest and the train station.
It is well decorated and the room we had was clean and of a decent size. Considering that the hotel does not serve breakfast (which is a negative point) and the room did not have a minibar, it would have been a good gesture to provide atleast free tea/coffee to guests. The staff were considerate but had minimum to no knowledge of English which made it difficult to get information

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamatravel762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Carpe Diem
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Paula
Hotel Don Paula
#5 of 65 in Cordoba
710 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maestre
Maestre
#23 of 65 in Cordoba
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Patios
Hotel Los Patios
#39 of 65 in Cordoba
442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Boutique Puerta Osario
0.2 mi away
Hotel Conde de Cardenas
Hotel Conde de Cardenas
#22 of 65 in Cordoba
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Miguel

Address: Calle San Zoilo 4, 14002 Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range: £36 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — San Miguel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your San Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Miguel Hotel Cordoba
San Miguel córdoba
San Miguel Hotel córdoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing