We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly good pension and a friendly dog!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension El Portillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pension El Portillo
Ranked #7 of 36 Cordoba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Everywhere
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfectly good pension and a friendly dog!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed here one night in April, the pension is very clean (both the rooms and the place in general). It is aesthetically a very nice place with a very typical courtyard. The owners are friendly and always available if you need them. The location of the pension is ideal, only a short walk to the Mezquita, not far from the city centre and near some good bars and restaurants.
Didn't find out the name of the dog but he's always around in the reception and is super friendly!!

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    61
    21
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
65
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

This family-run establishment is a lovely place -- the antique decorations (they have an old sewing machine that reminded me of my grandmother!) were a nice touch, and so is the cute dog! It's quite a walk to the city centre establishments, but not too far off from La Mezquita, which is why we chose this place. The room was a nice size and clean, along with the bathroom. I wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GG4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Beautiful building in the heart of Córdoba's historic Jewish quarter. Quiet location but only a few minutes walk to numerous cafés and bars on the way to the Mesquita. The Mesquita itself is only about a 5 minute walk, along with the river and the Alcazar. The rooms are in a large family home. The owners are friendly and accommodating, and although they did not offer a map or advice on where to go, I feel sure they would have gratefully provided the information, should we have felt the need to ask. Our room had a small balcony, air conditioning and a lovely hot shower. Also wifi is available free of charge in all the rooms. The only aspect I may change is the fact that you are not given a key to the outside door, entry works on a 'ring the bell and we'll be happy to let you in, regardless of the time' basis, which is great but I did feel a little guilty coming back after midnight!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cactuschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

i loved this place, nice simple decor, clean and no fuss would stay here again. a break from all the new swanky places ived stayed in a real taste of old Spain 10/10 from me thanks to these guys for the best informatuion of places to go and things to do

Room Tip: get one with a balcony for those hot Spanish evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

This is a very cute pension. I loved the decor which included some antiques. It's located a short walk from the Mezquita and Plaza del Potro. My room was spotless and a simple (it was a single) with a nice balcony. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inspired21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Me and my friend, females aged 50 and 30, stayed in room no 2 of Pension Il Portillo in May 2012, for 2 nights.
The place is really charming. First, it is located two steps away from the Mezquita and the Alcazar, on Cabezas street. Just reaching the place is like making a trip in the past, since from the main street you pass under an old arch and on a narrow street. The pension occupies an old house, with white walls and yellow window frames, typical Spanish architecture. The entrance lobby is tiled and old furniture and decorative objects are on display. Even the system used for the door closing is charming, a lever in the wall. Note also that all the “paintings” on the walls of the staircase and in the room are in fact giant puzzles – I wonder how many years have been spent to put all those pieces together.
The room was basic and small, but its charm was the small balcony overlooking Cabezas street. The owners of the pension were nice and welcoming, always smiling and ready to help, even if they spoke just a few words of English.
Considering that we paid 42 euros per night for a double, and this during the Patios Festival in Cordoba, we both considered that Il Portillo was real value for money. If you are looking for luxury amenities, you have to find another place, but if someone wants a real taste of traditional Cordoba, Il Portillo is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alia_Aliena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Loved Cordoba felt like being in a time warp. Pension lovely, nice owners and great location. Not as cheap as other travellers said and I thought it was very noisy at night, much more than we experienced anywhere else on our trip. Air con on the wall but no controls :/ not sure i'd use it again....would probably pay more for a quieter place.

Room Tip: Probabl avoid rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gadabout010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.4 mi away
Las Casas de La Juderia
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Patios De Cordoba
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Palace
Eurostars Palace
#8 of 70 in Cordoba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hesperia Cordoba
Hesperia Cordoba
#13 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Carpe Diem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension El Portillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension El Portillo

Property: Pension El Portillo
Address: Calle Cabezas num. 2 | Vehicle Access From San Fernando Street, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension El Portillo 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Pension El Portillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension El Portillo Hotel Cordoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing