We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of La Marea

La Marea
Ranked #44 of 559 Restaurants in Cadiz
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

The restaurant was nearly empty so little atmosphere but service was fine despite the waiters watching the Champions League final! The food was good and there was no problem with the bill. All in all good value.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJDowsett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    177
    63
    28
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Had a really nice time here”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We sat inside cause it was still a bit chilly at night. Order the sopa de mariscos it's super tasty. And then we ordered ensalada mixta and i wanna say it was merluza con gambas y ajo. This dish was superb. Had a really enjoyable meal here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank internationalworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“BEWARE!!! Apuesta Rapido”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Lovely restaurant in a great position. We asked a taxi driver to take us to a nice restaurant with sea views. He delivered us to Mariscos La Marea. We were told to choose our seat which we did and chose pole position over looking the sea. We had a lovely meal and drinks but when the bill arrived there were extras totalling another 70% of the bill. I questioned what "apuesta rapido" was on the bill and was told it was because we had chosen to sit in the sun on the front line tables. After questioning this the extra was removed. It left a bad taste because I could quite easily have paid the bill with only looking at the bottom line.

I also wish I had sat two rows back because after 3 hours eating and drinking in the sun I burnt my head.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank costakid1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Marea M, Gerente at La Marea, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
From La Marea we have been surprised with your comment, of which we are very grateful.
So thas this not happen again we please need more information (name, appearance,..of the waiter,.number of the bill, invoice amount...).
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andalusia, Alabama
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rip off- Check your bill”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We had a fantastic meal at this restaurant BUT unfortunately the waiter had added 85.50 euros to our bill for no reason at all. When we questioned this he apologised and it changed to 8.50 euros. When we questioned this again he said it was because we had sat in the sun......... What a rip off. We had consumed red wine and we think he thought that we would not have noticed. WATCH YOUR BILL. How narrow minded? Rip us off and we won't come back......You will be out of work.........make a choice?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chica759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Marea M, Gerente at La Marea, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
From La Marea we have been surprised with your comment, of which we are very grateful.
So thas this not happen again we please need more information (name, appearance,..of the waiter,.number of the bill, invoice amount...).
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
656 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Good for a drink and cheap breakfast”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Stopped here for a few drinks on a lovely July evening. Gin and Tonics excellent. Also had a quick breakfast (coffee and toasted sandwich) one morning. Service efficient and friendly with lovely view of the sea (as most beach bars do i guess!)

Meals looked ok but this looks a drinks and lunch spot to me.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Marea also viewed

 
Cadiz, Costa de la Luz
 
 

Been to La Marea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing