We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, tiny rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Patagonia Sur
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Great location, tiny rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

This was the last of five hotels we'd stayed in on our break and the most expensive so after four great hotels we were disappointed to find the room so small. The ensuite being nearly as big as the room. Some of the rooms are larger incorporating a desk/table & chair plus the two nice rooms on the roof.

The breakfast selection was fine and there is free wi-fi in the room.

There's an underground car park about 300m away at 20 euros per day which we used. The hotel location is excellent, only 100m from the main cathedral square. Cadiz is a pleasant city to explore with plenty of historical attractions, bars, restaurants shopping and relatively few non-Spanish tourists.

Room Tip: If you can't get one of the two nice rooms ask for one with a desk & chair to avoid getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SugarloafView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    128
    52
    10
    6
See reviews for
34
202
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Location is great, two minutes walk from the Cathedral (and pretty much everything in the old town). The staff was friendly. The breakfast was lovely, but they do not offer any other meals (we were there on a terribly rainy day and my hubby had to run somewhere else to get us a sandwich).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julija_St
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MADRID-SPAIN
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

The owners, an argentinian family, also stay at the reception desk. They, and other receptionists, are helpfull and kind.
Simple rooms, not very big, but very modern and clean.
Very close to the Cathedral, excellent situation in the old town, perfect for visiting the city and not very far from de beach. Buy if you are thinking about beach hollidays, this is not your hotel in Cádiz!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to have more light, but anyway as it is in city center and streets are so narro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARISADO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We chose room #52 and it really does have a huge L shaped private balcony with a great view of the cathedral. We sat on our balcony, enjoyed some wine and watched the sun go down.

I can't speak about other rooms, but I am sure they can't compare well to this one. If you come try for # 52.

Service is great. Location is great.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thegunrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont-ferrand, France
Level Contributor
192 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Location is fine, one minute walk from Cadiz cathedral.
The hotel is extremely over rated.
Breakfast was good but this is just a very basic hotel with small room, small bed, poor bedding, and low soundproofing of doors.
Staff is not friendly.
For us, during our overall stay in Andalusia, this our worst experienced and only disappointment. .

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gl0be_Tr0tter_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Lovely hotel located in old quarter of Cadiz central to most sight seeing areas. Very close to cathedral. Car parking at Canalejas located near port e20 per day which was a little bit expensive but secure. Staff very welcoming and helful. Recommended great restaurant. Hotel only has small number of rooms and is very busy, so need to book in advance if travelling at weekend.

Room Tip: Only room left was on 5 floor. Room 52. Initially put off by description of "attico room"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolElaineS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Mountain, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

While in port in Cadiz my wife and I were in need of wifi in order to check on our business and communicate with family and friends. We had no luck getting a signal at any of the public venues so we went into Patagonia Hotel Sur and explained our situation. A young man named Francisco sat us down in a lounge/breakfast area, turned on the lights and provided us with the hotel wifi code. In spite of the language barrier and our not being guests of the hotel we were very impressed with the warmth and hospitality provided by this young man. Thank you Francisco, you have a bright future in the hospitality field and you are a credit to your employer.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwinMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
0.2 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
0.8 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
1.3 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#5 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
0.7 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 29 in Cadiz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Convento Cadiz
Hotel Convento Cadiz
#4 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patagonia Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patagonia Sur

Property: Hotel Patagonia Sur
Address: Calle Cobos 11, 11005 Cadiz, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patagonia Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened recently in the historical centre of Cadiz, the modern Hotel Patagonia Sur Cadiz can be characterized for its exceptional location in the heart of the historical city centre of Cadiz, among the business, administrative and touristic districts of the city. In addition to its incredible location, the 3 star hotel prides itself on its friendly staff and close, personal relationship with its clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Patagonia Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing