We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sea Food, Big Portion!”

Taberna El Tio de la Tiza
Ranked #15 of 546 Restaurants in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Sea Food, Big Portion!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have been to Taberna El Tio de La Tiza 1 day ago. It is located in the city center on a small and typical andalusian street with flowers on the walls. Staff was very friendly and helpful, as well as they don't speak English, they have English and French menus. (English is not a problem at all in Andalusia thanks to its sociable people.) There you can find almost every kinds of Andalusian fishes and tapas. Portions are very big, we had half portion of Calamar but it was big enough for two people. My husband had sardines, we guess that sardines were weighted almost 500 gr.
We had 2 portion of fresh fish, calamar, grilled pepper and 2 glasses of vine, paid only 40 euro in total. The only thing we were not happy about restaurant was little flies. Anyhow, if you are in Cadiz for few days this restaurant can be the first choice for the dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gizemaksumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    272
    71
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great seabrass”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

A very nice restaurant at a great location. The selection of seafood is is impressive. We went for the grilled seabrass which was.... magnifique!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Louis v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

On the positive note firstly: the location is great. A very attractively lit courtyard square, which felt lively and was perfect for people watching as families and couples meandered along between the taberna's entrance and the busy tables. Sorry to report, but that was the start of a poor restaurant experience. It was more than half an hour after we were seated that someone took our order and even longer before the food arrived. Two out of four of our group were served food they hadn't ordered, a third order was incomplete. The food was greasy and I'm afraid, mostly inedible. The waiters were the most bizarre I've ever come across. They weren't rude, they didn't rush us, but they were totally disengaged. They didn't care about us, or any other customers. We wished we'd just stuck to an aperitif and eaten elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulsgirlrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best lunch under the sky of Cadiz”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed in Cadiz for 3 days and had lunch here several times, it was so good to sit under the sun, eat fresh seafood, first of all softest pulpo a la gallega - and have a glass of jerez in the end. Very friendly staff, changing menu, in the center of walking routs of Cadiz.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amarezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Cracking seafood”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here with friends from Seville, had fantastic tapas.

The adobos were fantastic as were the fried fish. Although we had mostly seafood , the meatballs were also superb.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank terry5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taberna El Tio de la Tiza also viewed

 
Cadiz, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Taberna El Tio de la Tiza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing