We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Playa Victoria
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
Hameenkuja 2 b 30
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel on the beach”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We selected this hotel because it was the only hotel in October to keep their pool open.
Although it was on the beach it was good to have a pool on the premises in case the ocean
turned stormy and made swimming impossible.
We had booked a twin room but when we arrived there were no twin rooms cleaned, so we had to wait till next afternoon to get what we wanted.
The room was spacious and the view from the 6th floor was beautiful. The balcony was overlooking the ocean and a good place for sunbathing.As was the sun terrace beside the pool (the pool didn´t get much sunshine.)
The one thing we missed was the lack of coffee or tea making facilities (we brought our own,
which was, of course, prohibited).
The bathroom was huge, the toilet was separated from it with a sliding door and it had a lot of
space for your beauty boxes etc. small things.
All in all the room was exceptionally good.
The weather in early October was fantastic which made our week special.
One thing :there was an odd smell downstairs and in the public areas. I think it must have been something to do with the sewer system.

The hotel prices were high, so we didn´t use their services very often

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eki123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    309
    119
    24
    12
See reviews for
121
356
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We selected this hotel because it looked to have nice modern rooms, great balconies overlooking the ocean and had decent reviews. Our stay was over a weekend at the end of September.

I would say that the hotel is OK overall. Not looking for complaints. Somehow overall it seems to fall short but not badly.

We had a room with an ocean balcony. The room was not as nice as the web images. It was well used and getting towards being shabby. Probably just under par maintenance. The balcony was great but the furniture bad. It looks like all rooms have balconies but at the back they overlook streets and we wouldnt have used them. I think also the 1st floor balconies at the front have no view of the ocean due to the swimming pool structure.

On arrival we were informed that we did not have garaging in the room rate. Cadiz looks like a nightmare for parking so we paid the 17 Euro per day for parking in the basement car park and left the car for the duration of our stay.

Wi-Fi was about 11 Euros which we did not purchase. There is a cafe outside in the hotel building which doesnt seem anything to do with the hotel and it provides Wi Fi free.

Cadiz is a great city for a short stay. This hotel is OK but not exciting.

Room Tip: Front rooms above floor 1 best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowMak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadiz, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Moved to Cadiz to work and booked in the hotel for a month in August.
Was OK for a while as is clean and location is central and right on the beach.
Wears off a little as room is small and when wife moved in after 10 days felt as though the lack of space and in room seating was disappointing. No tea or coffee making facilities meant many trips to local cafe's. Hotel restaurant not opening for dinner until 8:30pm was a pain (limited menu from in Hotel cafe if required).
Chose a bad time as August is holiday time and beach is host to dancing and mega noisy large screen filmshows which start at 10pm, right next to hotel. Party revellers all night as eateries do not appear to close at all if people continue to stay.
Plaza outside the hotel doubles as the local skateboarding track/freestyle arena and as no-one eats til late this continues until the early hours.
Parking at 18 euros/day, laundry at 25 euros for a small load, internet at 18 euros for 3 days and buffet dinner at 25 euros/head are all over the top making it an expesive long term stay.
Pool is tiny and does not get the sun in mid summer until 1pm although there is a sun terrace that gets it from about 11am.
Cannot fault service and rooms cleaned and tidied well. Never once had soap left, had to ask every time we needed (strange).
Balcony is nice though furniture is plastic and cheap.
All in all, may have been happy for a long weekend or even a week if on holiday but very average for a 7000 euro bill for 30 days and we ate out 75% of time.
Would recommend short term or out of season.

Room Tip: Overlook the beach if you want to watch a film in Spanish and miss the skateboarders
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noelyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I would have given this a four-star review for its friendly service, nice breakfast (on a lovely terrace overlooking the beach), comfy beds, location (right on the beach), and in general being just what we wanted from our little vacation.

The problem was the smells. This started when we entered -- there's a fountain to the left of the check-in desk, and I don't know if there was a problem with its filters or what, but there was this unpleasant smell lingering in the air, like dirty mop-water (although I hasten to add that the lobby, and the entire hotel, were clean). Then, in the rooms (we were there for five nights and stayed in two different rooms) there was a smell of stale cigarette smoke, which was so strong that even my husband and son, who aren't sensitive to these things, mentioned it. The smoke smell was from old stale smoke, because the hotel apparently went smoke-free a few years ago -- but of course, as everyone who has ever lived an an ex-smoker flat knows, if one doesn't repaint and replace the wallpaper, the smell doesn't go away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lola_in_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

My sister and I booked a one week vacation trip to Spain. We wanted to see normal spanish life,not too many tourists..and our choice was wonderful Cadiz. One of the oldest cities in Europe,Lovely city with the generous ,beautiful Andalucian lifestyle.
we chose to live in Playa Victoria, which has a wonderful location. in the modern part of Cadiz,and yet a few miles away from old town.We had a double room,which was big and spacious,facing the sea.The bathroom was big with both shower and tub..and a separate toilet. the service was good,though it needs a bit to be worked on..But, certainly it will approve...and we wanted to be among ordinary people in Spain...that was the charm...and Cadiz is getting more tourists...We walked on the strandboulervards ,at the seaside and had a lot of wonderful fishrestaurants to choose...Georgeous codfish with saffronsauce.We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maj58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cloppenburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed her for 3 nights as a family with two connected double rooms. No complaints! Rooms, service was fine! Everything was as you expect it from a 4*-class hotel.

We got a pretty view from the balcony. The old city is within a half hour by foot along the promenade. It`s comfortable to take the bus (Bus stop in front of the hotel). A lot of restaurants and shops are in the surrounding which seems to be a housing area mainly.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, California
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Location is perfect on the Playa Victoria. Could not be closer to beach. Overall hotel was nice with a few issues.

First, when I entered my room which had dark, hardwood floors, the floors were recently oiled and it was literally dangerous to walk on and taking off your shoes was impossible. I called the front desk and a maid came to wipe it down more, but it was still dangerous and gross. I could never walk in my socks or barefeet on the floor.

I had to also work some on this trip. Unfortunately the router with 60% connectivity closest to my room, would not let me connect, only the weaker ones far away (<20%). I talked to the front desk and they tried to fix it but couldn´t, so I moved rooms which improved the situation. The new room day 2 also had freshly oiled floors.... The A/C and cooling in the mini bar were weak as well.

My only other complaint is the maids did not seem to do much in the room over my 4 day stay except clean floor and bathroom, and oil the floor. On a beach vacation, you expect them to change the sheets because of sand, but I am not sure they ever did in my second room.

These drawbacks aside, the hotel is nice. It is in good condition, in a great location. The staff is very nice and helpful. They all spoke good English. I enjoyed the pool and the poolside bar as well. It had a nice resort feel. Cadiz was wonderful and so was the beach, so overall, it was good.

Room Tip: I would avoid floor 1 seaview rooms. The rooms and balcony are level with a raised are used for sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadridClydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
0.2 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
2.6 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 28 in Cadiz
1,641 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#5 of 28 in Cadiz
717 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Spa Cadiz Plaza
2.1 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Victoria

Property: Hotel Playa Victoria
Address: Glorieta Ingeniero La Cierva 4, 11010 Cadiz, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cadiz
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cadiz
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playa Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Playa Victoria Cadiz is a big city/beach hotel with direct access to the superb beach of Victoria in Cadiz which allows a combination not easy to find: holidays at sea with all the possibilities and urban access. Luxurious and technology, built with high quality materials and the most modern facilities, well maintained and well isolated, has won several awards for energy savings. Awarded the "Q" Quality of Spains tourism organisation and ISO 14001 Environmental Management.All rooms have private terraces and ocean views. Very comfortable and bright rooms with large beds, designer furniture, sitting area and desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Playa Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Victoria cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing