We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 4 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Staff , welcoming, friendly and efficient. All you would expect. Room large, beds comfortable and everything provided to make your stay comfortable.
Bathroom was wonderful. A modern designer had been let loose here and had come up with something different, pleasing and functional. The shower would rival Niagra Falls, and the glass wash baison and surround together with the Crome, came straight out of a glossy magazine.
Location of hotel is good, 5 minutes walk from beach, or 20 mins walk (10 mins bus) from wonderful old city of Cadiz.
Best of all was the great value for money. Strongly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank titooo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear Sir:
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
We are glad that your stay fell short of what you deserve, and that you liked our facilities, location and personalized service.
Thank you, thank you very much for your recommendation on this TripAdvisor Traveller Community.
We hope to see you again in Cadiz or any of our hotels in Seville, Malaga and Huelva. We will be happy to help.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
MONTE HOTELS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (878)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 878 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for almost a full week the location is great the ocean is right around the corner near sightseeing as well. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I didn't eat breakfast there due to 2 cafes right outside, the rooms and bathrooms were very spacious too..

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Sir:
Thanks for the review and for your stay in our hotel.
We are glad that your stay was enjoyable. We hope that the next time you stay with us to enjoy the products of our breakfast buffet, highly regarded by our customers.
Hope to see in Cadiz or any other establishment of our chain in Malaga, Huelva and Seville, where we will be happy to assist you.
Best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We really enjoyed our four night stay here; the room was big, the bed large and the decent sized bathroom had a great shower. It was all spotlessly clean. The room overlooked the derelict tennis courts so was very quiet. There is a reasonably priced car park which was great, although we did find space to park in the street at the weekend. The staff were very pleasant, efficient and helpful; we filled out a satisfaction form on line and put that tea and coffee making facilities would be welcome and the next day a tray with kettle and all the bits was provided for us. The location is great, the sea is a minute away and the old town a half hour walk along the sea front. There is are restaurants and cafes within a few minutes walk for dinner or breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizzieWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Sir:
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
Knowing you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and the best prize we can receive for our work. We are glad that your stay with us was to your liking.
Hope to see in Cadiz or any other establishment of our chain in Malaga, Huelva and Seville, where we will be happy to assist you.
Best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This is a nice hotel at a reasonable cost. The rooms were clean and comfortable with a garage for parking. Centrally located, friendly and helpful staff...what more could you ask? I was very pleased with this choice of hotel especially considering the service, cost, location and quality.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank specialone1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Madam,
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
What our customers say when they leave they are happy is something that we are happy because we feel we have been part of their enjoyment and relaxation.
Hope to see in Cadiz or any other establishment of our chain in Malaga, Huelva and Seville, where we will be happy to assist you.
Best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Check in was quick and efficient. Was given a room that overlooked a derelict rooftop sports court- not very pretty, However, the room had a very comfortable double bed.
The sleeping area was small and cramped & even though it was unseasonably cold in Cadiz, the room was hot. The air conditioning was inadequate. The only way to sleep at night, was with the windows open.
Room 615 was cramped & the fire escape plan showed it as actually room 616- so at some point the room numbers have been altered.
The hotel has free hotel wide wifi, but the service & signal strength was patchy.
Breakfast was adequate, but like the Monte Triana in Seville, they seem to run out of cups or spoons etc & this hotel's breakfast room wasn't busy. It's like the Monte chain don't have enough cutlery & crockery, so you have to wait for it to be washed. Very odd.
Again like the other Monte hotel I stayed at, The Puertatierra has a bar / cafe that is closed all afternoon. It also has a menu that is very limited if you are staying any length of time.
However, it is a pleasant tourist hotel situated a few minutes from the beach & 15 minutes walk into the old town. Buses are frequent & have a flat rate of one euro.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Narrabeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Sir:

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments.
If you allow us we also would like to make some remarks about your appreciations.
The air conditioning is working during the time of the day we think is most needed in our hotel. Not all our guests normally sleep with the air conditioning running. For us this is a way to gain a significant savings in energy and emissions, we can contribute to create a sustainable environment.
On the other hand, we take note about the mistake of the room number on the fire escape plan, due to a printing error that is going to be corrected immediately.
About the Wi-Fi service, it is free connection every where in the hotel, however the hotel configuration makes some Shadow areas and also it depends on the number of customers using the service at the same time.
We are willing to make a trace of the cutlery and crockery, even though we think we have enough stock, so we can avoid any more situations as the one you comment.
It is true that our cafeteria is close the afternoon, due to the low flow of clients on that period of time. Our menu has a variety of plates suitable for short and medium stays.
Finally, we review to be at just 2 minutes away from the beautiful beach of Santa Maria del Mar, in wich we hope you have enjoyed our Sun and coasts.
We would like to thank you for considering us ”a pleasant tourist hotel”.
We hope to have you in any of our hotel in Málaga, Huelva or Seville. Until then, best regards.

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff was very helpful. They had a desk set up in the lobby with a computer, laptop dock and printer that could be used for free which was very convenient for printing out details of things we wanted to see or directions to get to certain places. The breakfast was pretty good and the location is great. Less than 5 minute walk to a beautiful beach and just a few minutes longer into the old city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
The location of our hotel is something to stand out, like you, many of our customers. We are pleased that the facilities and services were to your liking and they enjoyed their stay.
Hope to see you again for Malaga or any other of our properties in Cádiz, Seville and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The hotel was easy to find and we were able to leave our car in the hotel garage (11.5 € per day) which was essential as parking spaces were hard to find. The location was good and it was just a short walk to the old town, which was fascinating. Our room was enormous, very modern, clean and very comfortable. We were on the first floor at the back so were not disturbed but it is worth asking for a room on a higher floor. We were disappointed with the breakfast which was below the standards of other Hotel Monte’s and for the cost of 11€ should be better. Overall reasonably good value for money

Room Tip: Ask for a high room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaizieLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Madam,
Thank you for your comments and for staying at our hotel in Cadiz.
Unfortunately you will not find to their liking breakfast, although his words believe that your stay with us was to your liking.
Hope to see you again in Cadiz or any of our hotels in Malaga, Seville and Huelva.
Until then, accept my best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
1.5 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 28 in Cadiz
1,849 reviews
0.5 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#6 of 28 in Cadiz
816 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Victoria
Hotel Playa Victoria
#7 of 28 in Cadiz
693 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Argantonio
Hotel Argantonio
#5 of 28 in Cadiz
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Puertatierra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Puertatierra Hotel

Address: Avenida Andalucia 34, 11008 Cadiz, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cadiz
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cadiz
#3 Family Hotel in Cadiz
#4 Business Hotel in Cadiz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range: £67 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Puertatierra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Cadiz, is just a few metres from the beach (in southern Spain). It is a 4-star establishment, set in the historic, artistic and commercial centre of the city. It has 98 large rooms, free WiFi, rooms for meetings and wedding receptions, parking facilities and a wide offer of services to make your stay in Cadiz as comfortable as possible.Hotel Puertatierra is situated in the commercial and business centre of the city of Cadiz, very near the Convention Centre, which is the venue for a multitude of conferences and events of all kinds. It is less than 100m from the Santa María del Mar beach.Our hotel is just 10 minutes away on foot from the historic quarter of the city and its monuments such as the Cathedral, the Roman Theatre, the Falla Theatre, the monument to the Cortes, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Monte Puertatierra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puertatierra Hotel cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing