We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We were very pleased we chose to stay here for a week of our family holiday. The decor is smart and clean. The rooms are above average for European hotels and feel more spacious because they have high ceilings. There is an excellent buffet breakfast with plenty of fresh fruit, meat, cheese etc (and even Cava!) Others have commented that it is in a basement room - it is, but it is well lit so that is not a problem at all. There is no need to look elsewhere for breakfast.

The staff were very helpful. We sought advice on going on a day trip to Morocco and a particular tour was recommended. We were told, rightly, there was no need to book ahead, so there was no doubt as to impartiality in the recommendation. The recommended tour was excellent (and better than doing it independently as the bus takes you places further afield you would not see on foot). We filled in a satisfaction survey while we were there and commented that we would like English Breakfast tea bags in our room (kettles are available on request) and within an hour or so a large number appeared in the room.

Food is available in the cafeteria (and room service, which we did not try). We had one meal and it was very good and not expensive. Drinks were reasonably priced too. The wine selection was very limited though. (If we understood correctly, only one each of red, rosado and white.)

The location is excellent. It is near a very good, clean, sandy beach - just a few minutes walk away. We swam in the sea a few times and saw no reason to look elsewhere. It is about a 15-20 minute walk into the town along the sea front - a very pleasant walk with good views.

Others have commented on the wifi - I did have to log on a few extra times but otherwise it worked well and was reasonably quick. There have also been comments on the air conditioning - this worked fine, though we switched it off at night to avoid getting too cold.

We would happily return and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank FrankChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Sir:
Thank you!
We are glad that your stay was as enjoyable as his words, which are the reward for our daily work.
We would love to return to stay with us on your next visit to make the city of Cadiz. It will be great having you back with us.
Hope to see you again for Cadiz or any other of our properties in Malaga, Seville and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel second time. The location is perfect. Beach is in 3 min walk and city center is easy to get (by bus -2 min, 15 min to walk).I think it is better to stay there if you want to swim. We liked Playa Santa Maria del Mar more than Playa de la Caleta. It is nice to try to swim on Caleta beach, but after that you enjoy Santa Maria del Mar more than befor. If it is not too hot, you will enjoy walking to the city center, if it is hot time just take bus (№7 or №1) or taxi (it is cheap there). We liked staff. Our room was large and clean, with good bath room. We had new room, the desing there was nice, not like tipical new hotel (our room did not have Ikea stile). It is very comfortable,that you can get beach towels in the hotel for free (10 eur is depos, will be returned after you give them towels back). I recommend you to stay there. I'll do that for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tomic55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Madam,
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
We also thank the faithful to return to stay with us and make the recommendation on this TripAdvisor Traveller Community.
The hope in Cadiz or in any of our hotels in Seville, Malaga and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I amazed this Hotel has received this many good reviews. I stayed here for one night in July and find it hard to say anything nice about it. It is at best a two star hotel.

The rooms like the hotel are old and worn out, the view is terrible and the staff rude and lack basic customer service.

The only thing I found amusing with this place is that it reminded me of a worn down Hotel in a war zone. Even the elevators seem to be stuck in the seventies.

The breakfast is decent but overpriced, in a dining room that is very depressing. You can certainly get a better breakfast in town for a better price.

I checked out the next day and found a much better alternative in the old city in terms of value and service. I do not recommend this hotel in any terms.

By the way, I had a great weeklong stay in Cadiz; it is a beautiful city!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dangaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Sir,

We are very sorry to read your opinions about our hotel but we have to disagree with it.
Our establishment is constantly renewed. A significant number of bedrooms and bathrooms have been completely refurbished this year. And we have plans to refurbish the rest of the hotel next winter. We do not agree at all when you mentioned us as “ worn out hotel”. We will suggest you to double check the rest of reviews of this travelers community, as well as others websites. Any TripAdvisor users, also, can see from the images, the perfect state of our establishment. Your comparison of “as a war zone” is way out of place.

Regarding the buffet breakfast, we would like to clarify, that what you can find every where in the city, in a better price, is just a simple breakfast (coffee and toast with butter), whereas we offer un excellent buffet breakfast with fresh fruit, daily baked bread, assorted pastries, meats, hot food, fresh juices, dairy products and much more. All a range of selected and first quality products. As you will understand those are no comparable ideas of breakfast.

Finally, we would like to point you that our staff could make mistakes and errors, however I can assure your they are not rude at all. The high level of courtesy, politeness and attention to our customers, is also clear and demonstrated by the majority of other guests reviews on this website.

The last remaining thing to say is, we are really sorry to hear that your stay with us was not as pleasant as we would have wished,

Your sincerely

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

There was many pros and cons about staying in the hotel. Some of the things that did not work for us so well is the A/C, the location was a small problem because the beach right by it was not that exciting. But the good thing about it was that it only took about 5-10 minuets to get from the hotel to the fun part of the beach! There were many good things about this room though. One of them was that we had last minute reservations for three people and they gave us a very clean and huge room. It was not anything special like a suite or anything but it was very big. I hope that you enjoy your stay good luck with the A/C! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjtriptips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Sir:
Thanks for your stay and the review.
We hope that the A / C is not a problem to make your stay an enjoyable vacation. At reception we would have helped with its operation. We provided 24 hours of service to our customers.
On the beach of Santa Maria del Mar, just 2 minutes from the hotel, is one of the quietest beaches of the city. If what they wanted was more bustle, Victory Beach is also very close to us, about 5-10 minutes. You can choose any of them to walk, without having to take any vehicle.
We hope to see you again in Cadiz or any of our hotels in Seville, Huelva and Malaga.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Communication & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This would have been a nice hotel stay but the A/C was awful and we were pretty miserable. The bathroom has no ventilation so it was even worse. We asked maintenance to check it out and they found it to be "working properly." What a shame...cause if that's as cool as it'll get, then they have major issues with their system! I wouldn't recommend this hotel for this reason.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holavick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Sir,
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Cadiz, although it was not as pleasant as we would have liked.
I would like to make a few considerations regarding the air conditioning. Every year before the arrival of summer time we make constants revisions of the air conditioning system of the hotel. Please believe us when we say, we have not detected any failures on it, nor even any complains or enquiries from any other guests regarding this aspect. However we are going to investigate in depth what you tell us.
The right temperature for a room is approximately of 24 to 26 degrees. It also depends of each persons cold-heat sensations. We have adapted the air conditioning system to reach the level of comfort needed, however (depending of the heat in winter or the cold in summer) guest could have exceptionally, different sensations.
We hope you can find our explanations satisfactory. As you can confirm, there is not complains about the air conditioning system, in any of the guests reviews.
I take this opportunity to salute you.
Your sincerely

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The hotel has a good location near the major beaches and a 15 min walk to the old centre.
We expected seaview but got none, instead we had a view over a few dilapidated tennis courts. Very ugly.
Breakfast average and overpriced. You can have a typical Spanish breakfast in any café for more than half the price.
The hotel offers parking for 11.50 euros/day which is reasonable keeping in mind that finding a spot around the hotel seems almost impossible.
Next time around though, we'll definitely stay in the old town instead.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcberlin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Sir,
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Cádiz.
And if you allowed me, I would like to get through some considerations of you comments. Sadly we cannot offer any sea view rooms at our hotel because we do not have any, despite the proximity of major beaches of Cadiz as yourself told us.
Regarding to your comment about breakfast, what make us different, respect to other places close to our hotel, is that you cannot find what we serve in our full buffet breakfast; a variety of fresh home baked breads and pastries, meats, cheeses, olive oil from near by locations, cut fruit, natural juices, fresh products and hot plates….all this together with the classic coffee or tea, soy, skimmed or whole milk, a selection of dietary products…. You will agree that for a different price from any other breakfast serve in the city, we offer more and better quantity and quality of products and service.
Finally, I would like to remark, that our hotel compare to other establishments of the old town, from where we are just a short distance away, have also the advantage to be located a hundred meters walking distance from the beach Santa Maria del Mar. Further more any person could have anything needed for a pleasant holidays; beaches, monuments, shops, culture, etc….
We hope to see you again for Cadiz, I take the opportunity to salute you.
Your sincerely

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Loved the room and the location to the beach is grand you can turn right and walk along it for miles to the new town stopping at lovely beach bars on your way the entertainment and choices are far more modern and you get music and much more vibe as well as sea views lacking in old town....turn left and off to old town more traditional small cobbled streets sit outside the cathedral and enjoy sundowners ....gorgeous!!! Lovely bars and restaurants but read reviews on here and stick to those to many tourist trap tapas bars which are very mediocre ...back to the hotel room was great had a top floor room with balcony as it was a smoking room great big room lovely bathroom and surrounded by all you could need...pharmacy supermarket coffee shops...the biggest let down was the wifi it worked for one hour on arrival bit of a pain had to go to wifi hotspots in town to look up things and email...but it's free ....if you want to be in old or new town this is neither here nor there in the middle if its beach you want this has the best beach 30 seconds away

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank chipevans77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Sir:
Thanks for your stay in our hotel and for your comments.
The location of our hotel is very good, because of its proximity to the beach of Santa Maria del Mar and the excellent connection to the historical and artistic center of the city. We are glad that you liked and enjoyed your stay in Cadiz.
On the other hand, we note the wi-fi function, in order to proceed to solve this little problem.
Hope to see you again for Cádiz or any other of our properties in Málaga, Seville and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
1.5 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 28 in Cadiz
1,924 reviews
0.5 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#4 of 28 in Cadiz
846 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Convento Cadiz
Hotel Convento Cadiz
#6 of 28 in Cadiz
417 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Victoria
Hotel Playa Victoria
#7 of 28 in Cadiz
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Puertatierra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Puertatierra Hotel

Address: Avenida Andalucia 34, 11008 Cadiz, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cadiz
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cadiz
#4 Business Hotel in Cadiz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range: £69 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Puertatierra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Cadiz, is just a few metres from the beach (in southern Spain). It is a 4-star establishment, set in the historic, artistic and commercial centre of the city. It has 98 large rooms, free WiFi, rooms for meetings and wedding receptions, parking facilities and a wide offer of services to make your stay in Cadiz as comfortable as possible.Hotel Puertatierra is situated in the commercial and business centre of the city of Cadiz, very near the Convention Centre, which is the venue for a multitude of conferences and events of all kinds. It is less than 100m from the Santa María del Mar beach.Our hotel is just 10 minutes away on foot from the historic quarter of the city and its monuments such as the Cathedral, the Roman Theatre, the Falla Theatre, the monument to the Cortes, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Monte Puertatierra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puertatierra Hotel cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing