We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible Bathrooms. Smelly Rooms, but located very central” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Francia y Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Francia y Paris
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Cadiz
Bielefeld
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Horrible Bathrooms. Smelly Rooms, but located very central”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

The Hotel was not good at all. The Rooms are quite big, but the Bathroom is absolutly disgusting. the Rooms and Hallways are really smelly. We wanted to stay 2 nights, but changed the hotel after the first night. The Location is perfect of the hotel, nice bars and restaurants nearby... But from the inside I would not recommend going there. Breakfast is not worth to be called breakfast. Better go out and get a coffee somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 21Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    33
    36
    17
    19
See reviews for
14
55
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2006

Stayed at start of May. It had a 70s decor, depressing and smelly. Bathroom light did not work plus one light in the room. All for the price of 82 euros a night.

Plaze outside is noisy even on week nights. My partner and I found Cadiz to be incredibly boring and run down, the only saving grace being the sea views. So as there was not much to do we looked for another hotel. We found Hospederia Las Cortes de Cadiz. The rooms were new and beautiful, fridge, laundry sevice, all for 88 euros a night.

Stayed one night at francia, when we went to check out, we found that reception had already charged my partners card- without his permission or warning, meaning they by-passed the pin and signature option- AND charged him for 4 nights instead of the original 3. This has since been rectified.

Don't stay in this hotel. We won't be.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maria99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cadiz hotels

Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2006

We chose this hotel because of its location & atmosphere,, in a piazza in the old town, surrounded by cafes, pubs, old church, etc. Got over the smelly room (like sewer coming up the pipes) by opening the windows...we enjoyed a late night drink outside, music playing. HOWEVER, the noise of people talking & drinking did not stop when the restaurants closed, it just became louder. Had to close the windows, and with the smell & noise, did not sleep all night.this was weeknights.moved to another hotel asap in the morning- did not venture into breakfast - all must have heard about the bad breakfast - empty !

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lozmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2005

The good news is the location. This hotel is smack in the middle of the old city and all the most attractive sights and good eating places are incredibly close. Cadiz is a wonderful, atmospheric city and very underrated - if you are going to Andalucia don't neglect it in favout of better-known cities. Our room (we had a bedroom 'con salon', which meant a little extra room with a sofa, TV, desk & chair - only Spanish channels on the TV but think of it as educational !) ) was clean, reasonably-sized and comfortable, though not by any standards luxurious. The staff were helpful. Breakfast is, as the other review says, not a strong point.

The bad news is that (when we stayed there at least - end of 2003) the beautiful square on which the hotel is located becomes a gathering place on weekend evenings/nights for an outdoor teenage drinking gathering. The level of noise this generated made sleeping rather difficult on Friday & Saturday night, although it all sounded very convivial and with none of the threatening undertones you might find in a similar gathering English city .

So I would recommend staying midweek !

Best restaurants in the city: La Ciguena, El Faro.

  • Stayed December 2003
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wolfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2003

Hotel is located on a charming plaza with wine bars and next to a church. Rooms however are very simple and not big. The breakfast (euro 7.50 per person) is terrible, just an old croissant or a roll with coffee/tea. No cheese, no toast, no nothing. You are better off spending your breakfast money in one of the caffees.

Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Las Cortes De Cadiz
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patagonia Sur
Hotel Patagonia Sur
#10 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bahia Hotel
Bahia Hotel
#17 of 29 in Cadiz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Argantonio
Hotel Argantonio
#7 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francia y Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francia y Paris

Property: Francia y Paris
Address: Plaza San Francisco 6, 11004 Cadiz, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Francia y Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Francia y Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francia y Paris cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing