We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the €5 to go in”
Review of Catedral de Cadiz

Catedral de Cadiz
Book In Advance
More Info
US$21.70*
and up
Cadiz Old Town Private Walking Tour
Ranked #6 of 90 things to do in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: 18th century cathedral with tomb of Manuel de Falla; museum displays gold, silver and other artifacts from the con;quest of the New World.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Well worth the €5 to go in”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I was not expecting to pay to go in and some people behind me were shocked, but it is free to those in the diocese of Cadiz which I think is fair. This is called the " new " cathedral as it was build to replace the old cathedral which is smaller and was being rebuilt. It is a mixture of gothic and roman style. The golden dome mimics that of a mosque and was decorated this way for the ships to se Cadiz from sea. the altar is surrounded by chapels and adornments to different saints, one can go into the treasury room and observe the very elaborately worked gold and silver utensils for mass. For me the greatest surprise was the crypt. There are two entrances on either side of the church. There was a Spanish guide with a group and she demonstrated the acoustics by clapping her hands which produced a long echo. The crypt is a beautifully shaped underground room with a very large marble statue the Virgin Mary. It also has the tomb of one of Spain's greatest composers who came from Cadiz, Manuel de Falla.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank christina1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    768
    749
    225
    61
    23
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heemskerk
Level Contributor
148 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“impressive”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

an impressive cathedral near the waterline with beautifully built pillars. further there is a crypt in the cellar. moreover nice corners wih statues or church necessities for the religion. anyway it is very worthwhile to pay a visit if you like architecture from older times.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank rofekamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great view of Cadiz from the tower”
Reviewed 28 June 2014



It would be an interesting vantage point to take in the views over the city and port of Cadiz.
Within the cathedrals crypt is the tomb of Manuel de Falla, he was born in Cadiz in 1876. He was a composer that won international recognition for his music. He was buried here in 1946 after his death.
The crypt was one of the things that most impressed me with the cathedral and is made of Oyster stone, excavated locally from the sea. It has a central vault pictured with a number of side rooms used for the burial of the cathedrals bishops and notable people from Cadiz. The cathedral has recently been re opened after an impressive work of restoration.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank billbrice07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Church needs upkeep and repair”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Unfortunately the needed repair work distracted from the overall sights of the church. This could be something special.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cozysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“expensive”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

A grand looking cathedral which dominates a lovely square not far from the harbour in Cadiz.

But would you pay 5 Euros just to go in a cathedral? No? Well neither did we! So I have rated this as poor for poor value for money. None of the other cathedrals we went to on our travels charged. OK, there is a museum you get entrance to - but, really, I didn't want to see a museum, just the interior of the cathedral.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Catedral de Cadiz also viewed

 
Cadiz, Costa de la Luz
Cadiz, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Catedral de Cadiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing