We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky place, great owner and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Patio del Panadero
Ranked #3 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales UK
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Quirky place, great owner and location”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had the biggest 'apartment' in this lovely old building. There are a couple of studio double rooms with fridge and 2 rings and I think 4 apartments which have a subdivided bedroom area. There are bed settees in these rooms and a standard double bed (apart from one which has a double and a single plus a bed settee). The building is in an atmospheric cobbled street in the old town in easy walking distance of restaurants etc. The market is to die for! Stalls with every fresh food each day and amazing fish. The owner, Guillermo is a fount of information and offers useful advice and a map marked with all you need. His English is fantastic. The apartments vary in size and the largest one has a small window which makes it quite dark and in early April, cold (the aircon will heat given time). Others have windows of various sizes. All the rooms open onto an internal courtyard and in summer I am sure the coolness would be most welcome. The bathroom was large and there was plenty of hot water. The toilet was not quite as clean as I would like but easily remedied. The bed was comfortable in the extreme and the bedding and towels spotless and changed every day if you wanted. The kitchen area contained 2 ceramic rings, microwave, kettle, coffee machine, fridge and just enough plates etc for 2 people plus a few cooking pots. There was a table and chairs big enough for 2 or perhaps 3. The TV had Spanish channels although we didn't need it. The WiFi is good throughout which we were very grateful to have. All in all this would not suit you if you want a Travelodge or posh hotel but if you like to be in clean authentic accommodation in the heart of Old Cadiz then this is ideal.

Room Tip: Decide whether a separate bedroom is what you need. Do you need 2 beds or will a standard double do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthWalesUKHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    50
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
21
116
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in Cadiz many times and after reading trip advisor we decided to try this hotel. This is the best we have found.
Guillermo is a wonderful host and as soon as we arrived we were made to feel welcome, the room was perfect very comfortable bed, great shower, lovely big windows so lots of light, the little kitchen is perfect to make tea & coffee and keep drinks cold in the fridge.
The location is perfect right in the centre easy to find, the only thing which was a shame was we only stayed for 1 night we should have stayed longer but we will go back and definitely recommend

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed for 5 nights. We got a warm welcome at the start, a great warm farewell at the end, and lots of fun and quality service in between. Guillermo and his parents are great hosts. Full of great advice and genuine warmth.
The room is very good with quality fittings. The sleep quality is excellent, the bed is great, the room is dark and the street is quiet. The room is actually a mini apartment with cooktop, fridge, cutlery etc. we didn't use it as such, but it's there to use.
The location is great, Cadiz old town is not very big, and all the great spots are easily reached.
Guillermo gave us great tips for eating spots and live entertainment.
Highly recommend this place for overall quality.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdmm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I booked this hotel for new years eve/my dad’s 60th birthday and emailed the manager Guillermo asking for recommendations of restaurants, events etc and from the start he was really helpful sending me various bits of information. When we arrived at the hotel he met us and helped us settle in and park our cars and told us all about Cadiz’s ‘must sees.’ Guillermo and his family really helped to make our trip feel extra special.

Our room was a superior apartment and was a great price for the size, there were 5 adults and 1 baby (an extra bed and cot was added) and the room was really cosy with lots of nice vintage touches. There was a hob and a fridge but we didn’t really use these as we only stayed for 1 night. There was no door between the living room and bedroom which may be an issue if there was a few of you staying for longer but for us it did not matter.

The hotel itself is a beautiful building with lots of Spanish character. It’s located very centrally to all the main attractions. We plan on returning to Cadiz as we really liked it and I wouldn’t even think of booking anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenstar1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

From the moment we walked through the door Guillermo made us feel at home. A splendid host for this family owned apart/hotel. The apartment we had for our first visit to the beautiful city of Cadiz was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean, everything we could have wanted was provided, the bed was really comfortable and even though the building is located in the centre of "Old" Cadiz it was very peaceful and we slept very well. The apartments are located in a beautiful old Spanish house and the owner has a fantastic collection of period items dotted around the building as well as modern touches. All in all this was the best place we have stayed in during our visit to Spain! If you have a chance and there is a room free, book it!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

La casa patio del panadero is a very interesting place, in itself full of charm and the owner Guillermo is its charmer , he takes time to make you feel at home, welcomed. I warmly recommend it. There was a kitchen, but we only made coffee and orange juice, the food in Cadiz is amazing, fresh and served with a smile so you won't get sick of eating out. Always listen to Guillermo, he knows Cadiz well.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravel43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Fantastic location in the middle of Cadiz with everything within walking distance. I have to admit that it is a bit hard to find the place due to the narrow streets which you find in all of the Spanish city centers. Carparking is available for a little extra money and the owner even helps you with parking your car.

The hotel is very beautiful and . I loved the big old renovated Spanish house with it’s colonial style and all it’s lovely décor and paintings. We had a nice clean room with TV, fridge and a small kitchenette (fully equipped). Beds and bathroom were awesome! Unfortunately Wifi in the room was bad so I had to go in the lobby for a good signal.

Guillermo the owner was not in the house during our stay but his parents were wonderful and very friendly. They offered a lot of information about restaurants and sights to visit.
As there is no breakfast area in the hotel I can recommend that you walk to the café next door to get a typical Spanish breakfast for a very reasonable price.

This is a fantastic place to stay in a wonderful city. Go there and you won’t regret it

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suparichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
0.3 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 28 in Cadiz
1,684 reviews
0.3 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
1.2 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Patagonia Sur
Hotel Patagonia Sur
#10 of 28 in Cadiz
323 reviews
1.7 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#5 of 28 in Cadiz
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Patio del Panadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Patio del Panadero

Property: Casa Patio del Panadero
Address: Calle San Jose 39, 11003 Cadiz, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Patio del Panadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing