We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, friendly Cadiz!”
Review of Hostal Fantoni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Fantoni
Ranked #33 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Cadiz
Reviewed 3 January 2007

We have stayed several times at Hostal Fantoni, and consider it as "our special place". We have always had very nice rooms - the best beeing the one on the roof - and the pension is spotlessly clean. There has been some redecorating lately, and one of the guys in the reception has learned some English last winter! (That's nice, as my Spanish is rather rudimentary…)
The hostal is situated in the old, central quarter of Cadiz - famous for its picturesque charm This part of the town is very quiet and laidback, but with a lot of shops, bars, cafés and churches in the narrow, cobbeled streets. A charming little botanical park, a nice, little beach by the old lighthouse. There is an old fort with free art and historical exhibitions, and it's also a great place to picknic. Torre Tavira has an Camera Obscura and a great wiev over the town and the sea surrounding it.
We would also like to mention Grimaldi's, a very good family restaurant by The Market. Exellent food, and very charming owner!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Dukken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2006

I paid 45 Euros for single occupancy of a double room (no bath) in Nov 2006 (but did knock it down from 60). I didn't find it noisy at all in comparison with so many other pensions in Spain - it is on a back street so didn't have the toddler-screech of the scooters all night! The room was clean and well cared for, the bathroom cleaned every day. The heavier guy behind the desk was a bit grumpy, but the other guy was very helpful and friendly. Excellent location - short walk to the train station, very short walk to bus stations - and bang in heart of old city, too. A basic place, no doubt, but fair enough if it's what you're after.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElBizco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2006

We stayed at Hostal Fantoni for 2 nights in May 2006 paying Euro 55 per night twin share.

The first impression we received was how loud and noisy our room was. The rooms only have internal windows to a hotel corridor which is fully tiled, so that you can hear the footsteps and every word spoken around the hotel and everything echoes. We could hear the reception telephone ring from 2 floors below as if it was right outside our room! Together with the constant sound of the washing machines which seemed to operate 24 hours a day, and the noise of guests coming and going, we hardly got any sleep during our stay.

The rooms are very small, but are spotlessly clean as are the bathrooms. The rooms are very hot, and much warmer than outside, so we needed to have the airconditioner on all the time, which just added to the noise!

The people who run the hotel did not appear very friendly or helpful.

The hostal is very centrally located, close to shops and and all the tourist attractions, and everything is within walking distance in Cadiz.

While it is still quite cheap, we found the rate of Euro 55 per night (without breakfast) was overpriced compared to other hostels/hotels we stayed at in Spain and would recommend this hotel to budget travellers only after having exhausted all other possibilities.

On a further note, while we thought Cadiz was fine, there is not a whole lot to see and do as a tourist. It is not on the beach, and apart from the cathedral, there isn't really much else to see. The seafood market is worth a look and they have a good selection of stores (very good Zara store) but if you have limited time in Spain, you may wish to make it a day trip or an overnighter as we felt 2 nights was far too long.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roaming12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2005

I stayed at Hostal Fantoni in September and I found it to be very simple but adequate for everything that I needed. It was run by a gaditano family and was spotlessly clean. Although I had an internal room, it had a window into the central courtyard so it was still cool in the heat of Cadiz. It was just tucked behind La Plaza de San Juan de Dios so it was just a stones' throw from some lovely restaurants, the port and the train and coach stations. Very convenient and all for just 25 euros a night!

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Vichyjuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHILIPPEF55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freezingmery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Ivo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
0.1 mi away
Bahia Hotel
Bahia Hotel
#15 of 28 in Cadiz
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cadiz Inn Backpackers
Cadiz Inn Backpackers
#18 of 39 in Cadiz
236 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 28 in Cadiz
1,850 reviews
1.3 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#6 of 28 in Cadiz
817 reviews
0.2 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Fantoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Fantoni

Address: Calle Flamenco 5, 11005 Cadiz, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Cadiz
Price Range: £38 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Fantoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Fantoni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing