We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the pedestrian zone”
Review of Casa Palacio Cadiz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Palacio Cadiz
Ranked #9 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We chose Casa Palacio Cadiz for its location, right in the middle of the historic centre on a pedestrian only street.

We parked our rental car in the underground parking garage at Plaza San Antonio, where the rate for 24 hours was EUR 16,55 at the end of October 2012. Calle Ancha starts at Plaza San Antonio and Casa Palacio is then maybe 50 meters away (less than a two minute walk). We then did not use the car until our departure from Cadiz, we walked everywhere. The cathedral was maybe a five minute walk. Location was indeed perfect.

Casa Palacio must be an old residential building, nicely renovated and converted to an apartment hotel (in 2012) with about ten apartments. There is a new elevator.

The reception is only manned by appointment, we called the given number the day before our arrival, said that we'd arrive between 8pm and 9pm on a Sunday evening. We then arrived at 8:05pm and were friendly greeted by one of the owners. He made the paperwork, gave us the keys, showed us our room and then left. He told us we should not hesitate to call him if we needed anything. As we noticed that there was no hairdryer in our apartment we left him a note and a friendly lady brought us one the next evening.

Our room had no windows facing the street, only the covered patio, so there was no noise whatsoever. Our apartment consisted of one huge room with a bed, sitting and dining areas, a kitchen and a separate shower with toilet. The decor was not quite according to my taste, but everything looked new and was in perfect working condition.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bejo_hu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

We made a last minute decision to stay one night in Cádiz after growing tired with the ubiquitous tourist hordes throughout most of the rest of Andalucia. 

These apartments are located in the beautiful old part of Cádiz city, close to good value (for Cádiz) public parking (2 mins walk away - €13) in Plaza San Antonio. 

On booking, the owner requested that we provide details of our arrival time as the front desk is not manned. 
Telephone numbers are provided should you require any assistance during your stay. 

The property is located on a smart commercial street with apartments over a number of shops. There is a small sign for Casa Palacio. It is on your right hand side as you walk south down Calle Ancha. 

The owner arrived at exactly 4pm, as arranged. The property is very secure, with a key provided for the two external doors and for the door to your flat. The apartments are in a safe area of Cádiz and close to most of the best tapas bars and restaurants. 

Our two bedroom apartment was huge with access to a small roof terrace. The flats have been refurbished recently and are spotless. There were two bathrooms (one en-suite). 

There was plenty of space for my girlfriend and I to run around the apartment, like gambolling lambs. We got excited by this and decided to play with the air-conditioning controls for the apartment. The temperature can be adjusted as low as 16 degrees, so we started our siesta in the cool environs of the second bedroom. 

The apartment is triple-glazed and extremely quiet despite its location in the centre of Cádiz. 

The flat was well furnished with a large open plan kitchen / living / dining room. There isn't much in the way of basic food items supplied (olive oil, salt, pepper) but we didn't investigate fully. Most utensils appeared to be supplied (pots, pans, cutlery etc). 

Due to us only staying in Cádiz for one night, we did not get chance to try the modern kitchen facilities. There is a wonderful market about 5 mins walk from the apartments with the most amazing array of fresh fish, seafood, meat and fruit and vegetables. 

However, we wanted to sample the best local tapas bars that are only a few minutes away. Our favourite tapas bar was Cumbres Mayores. 

The nearby Plaza San Antonio was pretty. After our air-con tampering session, we showered in the separate bathrooms before venturing out to enjoy the early evening atmosphere of Cádiz old town. There were lots of affluent Spanish families sat in the square, watching their children play. Unfortunately, the beauty of the square was tarnished somewhat by an old woman who decided to appoint herself as chief urination officer. After feeding the kids copious amounts of Naranja, she picked each toddler up one by one, pointed them at the nearest orange tree, and, in an ironic piece of Spanish recycling, encouraged them to release the waste products of copious amounts of orange juice. 

We knew the world would not be the same. Few people laughed, few people cried, most people were silent. I remembered the line from the Hindu scripture, the Bhagavad-Gita. Vishnu is trying to persuade the Prince that he should do his duty and to impress him takes on his multi-armed form and says, "Now I am become Death, the destroyer of orange trees in Plaza San Antonio." I suppose we all thought that, one way or another.

When you check out in the morning, there is a metal drop box for keys that is attacked to the wall to the right before you reach the front door of the reception. You need the key to unlock the door so don't deposit your key before you open the door. And if you do, then phone the owner for help. 

We thoroughly recommend these apartments. Càdiz hotels are very expensive in summer due to the nearby beaches. Most other hotels were quoting €140 per night plus €25 a day for private parking. Therefore, compared to these poorly rated hotels, Casa Palacio was actually quite good value and, most importantly, it was located in Cádiz old town rather than along the beachfront strip 4km away, where most of the bland hotels are located. Very good. 

Recomendamos completamente estos apartamentos. Hoteles de Càdiz son muy caros en verano debido a las playas cercanas. frente a estos hoteles mal clasificados, Casa Palacio fue realmente muy buen valor. 

Y, lo más importante, fue ubicado en el casco antiguo de Cádiz en lugar de a lo largo de la playa tira 4 km de distancia, donde se encuentran la mayoría de los Hoteles anodino. Muy bien. Perfecto. 
 

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Thuram T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kali' C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ernesto b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank aridni011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Estuve en una habitación interna
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Oscar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Pilar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
1.2 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
1.6 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#4 of 28 in Cadiz
847 reviews
0.3 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 28 in Cadiz
1,925 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Convento Cadiz
Hotel Convento Cadiz
#6 of 28 in Cadiz
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Palacio Cadiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Palacio Cadiz

Address: Calle Ancha 13, 11001 Cadiz, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Cadiz
Price Range: £45 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Palacio Cadiz 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Palacio Cadiz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing