We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a great location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Convento Cadiz
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I loved this hotel! It is amazing and a beautiful building. The conversion to a hotel has been done sympathetically and nothing of the old convent has been lost by the modernisation of the rooms. Spotless and clean, lovely staff, great location, there is nothing to fault in this hotel. Stunning!!!! Also visit the church, it took my breath away! Cadiz is an amazing place and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Convento Cadiz
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

I booked this hotel based on the reviews but was bitterly disappointed with the location, which I found quite isolated. I had intended to stay for five nights but after the first one, I checked out and explained the hotel and its location was not what I had expected. I was made to pay for two nights since the manager insisted that it was their cancellation policy. However, I was checking out earlier because I was unhappy with the place. This should be covered under consumer law. The customer has a right to check out earlier if he is not satisfied with the hotel. I plan to escalate this but please beware if you have not been here before that you might end up with the unpleasant situation I was left with - having to pay an extra night -which in a country such as Spain with strong consumer protection laws, I should not have been billed for.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for their policy in writing, should you not be satisfied with the hotel and decide...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingTemplars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, General Manager at Hotel Convento Cadiz, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014
Google Translation

Estimados Sres,

Tal y cómo ya les contesté por privado al mail por Ustedes enviado quiero agradecerles sus comentarios sobre el hotel pero, igual que repiten su comentario por aquí, les reitero por esta vía nuestra discrepancia con su observación.

"Tuve el placer de tratar con su madre a la salida del hotel y desde mi responsabilidad en la dirección del establecimiento mostrarle e imprimirle, para que las tuviera, las condiciones de la reserva. En ella se detalla que, modificaciones o cancelaciones con menos de 48h (2 días) conllevan una penalización de 1 día. Debido a eso se modificó la fecha de salida pero se le aplicó la penalización correspondiente.

De la misma forma tanto a la llegada como a la salida, a la recepcionista de turno y a mí directamente, la Sra. nos informó que la reserva la hizo su hija y que se habría equivocado. Esta información me la repitió a la salida cuando me comunicó su deseo de cambiar la ubicación de sus pernoctaciones y que, amablemente, le ayudé a encontrar la mejor oferta en Jerez. Así mismo me recalcó que “le gustaba el hotel pero que el hospital se encontraba lejos” pero eso no es una falla, error o mala ubicación por nuestra parte sino un error, tal y como nos comentó, de su hija (persona que le realizó la reserva) por lo que no corresponde la devolución de la penalización.

Espero comprendan que las razones y motivos esgrimidos no corresponden para la devolución de la penalización y que desde Hotel Boutique Convento Cádiz hemos procedido con total honestidad y profesionalidad con la Sra. intentando buscar la solución mejor para su problema."

Un saludo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is in a very convenient location. If you arrive by public transport you can see it across the road from the Train Station, Bus Station and the municipal Ferry. Once there you are a few minutes walk from the old centre of Cadiz. It is a converted convent and this has been done well. The public areas retain all the beauty and grace of the original building yet the rooms are very modern and well equipped. Beds are comfortable and the room is spacious. There is free Wi-Fi if you need it and plenty electric plugs for your gadgets. Great bathroom with an effective shower. It is great to stay in such a historic building and made our stay in Cadiz very special.

Room Tip: Rooms are named after saints. If you have a favourite why not ask?
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieNot55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I don't understand why this hotel is rated with only one star, I was a little concerned when I booked it, but was attracted by its historical charm. Once I arrived, however, I was pleasantly surprised. The building is a centuries old convent, but has been remodeled and all the facilities are ultra modern, including a very efficient elevator. The room was very comfortable and sound proof. The breakfast was excellent and well priced. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit Cadiz. If you arrive by car, do park before attempting to drive to the hotel. The GPS will take you though streets that are way too narrow.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TereArzola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We felt honoured staying in this national monument and wouldn't swap this experience but acknowledge it wouldn't be to everyone's taste. It is part of the Santo Domingo church and convent and the church too was absolutely stunning and worth a visit in its own right. We could hear the delightful bells and chimes which work during the day. The rooms are arranged around the cloisters which were tranquil and clearly centuries old. The church sacristy runs from the cloisters straight into the church!
Excellent for a one star but a relatively austere presentation which we felt appropriately and sympathetically reflected its history. E.g.few pictures and none in the room.
We had a suite which was very large, room 206. The bedroom window overlooked the old town and the church, and the salon overlooked the old town narrow streets.
Location: Very well placed for the old town. Very easy to walk to everything.
Room: Spacious with a huge, firm bed and two televisions! Hanging space but not many hangers. Four small drawers. Because of its age the walls are very thick so there was very little noise.
Bathroom: Shower and basin only. Plenty of hot water and good pressure. No hairdryer but had read about this and took my own. One issue was that there is no shelf in the shower for your own products so feeling around on the floor with ones eyes shut was a bit tricky. Towels were very soft and fluffy.
Breakfast: We agree that this seemed soulless and so we didn't partake but there are lots of places very nearby.
Parking: Parking in the station was very close and very reasonable at 10 euros per day. Pay in the station. Helpful in finding the hotel, follow the station signs in the city and you won't be far away.
Small fridge and minibar. Prices were reasonable.
Gym: There was a small room with a cross trainer, bike and treadmill.
Staff: Last but not least, they were very helpful indeed. More than happy to make bookings and provide information. I also left some things behind which they are more than happy to send on to me for which I am very grateful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoardmanMijas_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This hotel was previously a convent and was just recently converted into a hotel. The first floor, lobby and hallways still reflect the old architecture and history of the building which was very neat, and the rooms were very clean, comfortable and modern. Both the price and location were also great. The only problem we had was that we were unable to connect to the wifi in our room but we were able to use it in the hallways and lobby so it was not too much of an inconvenience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I have to say that for me is a priviledge to stay in a place with historical value such as the HCC. We found the place with no issues. It is true that parking is not so convenient, but again, staying in such a special place is worth the trouble. Definitely recomended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crammarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
0.6 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
1.5 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
0.3 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 28 in Cadiz
1,741 reviews
1.1 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#6 of 28 in Cadiz
770 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patagonia Sur
Hotel Patagonia Sur
#10 of 28 in Cadiz
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Convento Cadiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Convento Cadiz

Address: Calle Santo Domingo 2, 11006 Cadiz, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Cadiz
Price Range: £63 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Convento Cadiz 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Convento Cadiz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing