We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hostal not hotel - but great location”
Review of Bahia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bahia Hotel
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Cadiz
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Hostal not hotel - but great location”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at a cost of 78 euro p/n. This was the most expensive place we stayed in our 2 week trip in Andalucia, and was also the smallest room. However, it was clean with en suite and air con, and despite overlooking a busy street and being so close to a main square, it was quiet (with the windows closed). Its dead central and great for easy walking to the main sites, bars, restaurants etc and even the beaches. The staff on the front desk were friendly and helpful, and even put up with our Spanglish!! There is no free parking nearby but there are some underground car parks for about 20 euro p/n. We found a space on a street off Avda Andalucia, outside the city walls, and about a 10 min walk to the hotel for free!! The beach at Playa Victoria is lovely, and full of locals on a Saturday which makes for great people watching!. There is a great tapas place at the end of Plocia to the hostal, called Aljibe (I think)- worth a try for some unusual tapas.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JuliaandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    25
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
9
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I really liked this if it were to have some of the privileges of a hotel but you weren't treated as a guest like you would be in a hotel, you are treated like a backpacker. That being said, the rooms are really nice and the bathrooms are small but adequate. Absolutely wonderful location and the tapas bar all the way on the end of the street and to the right has amazing food and I would have eaten there every night. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyGolightly23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Ignore most of the massive negative reviews. My wife and I stayed here in September, 2011. Yes it has small rooms. Yes it lists it's self as a 3 star when it is infact a 2 star. And yes it is on a pedestrian street with four late night tapas bars. But; it is one of the cheapest accomodatoons in Cadiz. It's clean and well run. And as for the noise at night: you are in Spain. If you aren't already aware of their desire to stay out and socialize until 1am a tapas bars...surprise! This was a pleasant stay in a hostel 2 blocks from train/bus station and walkin distance to every sight, beach and monument in town.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryCrisdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2008

As September is mostly still regarded as peak season in Cádiz, we ended up paying full whack for our two nights at the Bahía, i.e. EUR 76 per night for a twin room. Considering that this rate is room-only (the Bahía doesn´t offer breakfast, although you don't have to go far to find some), I have to say that it is more than we normally pay for a modest hostal (we managed to stay comfortably in central Madrid for EUR 55!), but then space is limited in the old city and I think this sort of rate is not unusual.

However, we were pleased to find on arrival a friendly, chatty (in Spanish) welcome, and a lift to take our cases up to the second floor. Although smoking is allowed in all rooms, the communal areas on the second floor were smoke-free, and in fact we didn't notice any smell of smoke in the room - it all smelled nicely of soap, as so many Spanish places do!

Both bedroom and en-suite bathroom were clean but on the small (and a touch dark) side, but had all the necessary facilities (incl. air con & TV) and comfortable beds, and despite having a room facing the street (complete with mini balcony), and being near a busy square, the noise level wasn't at all bad (the balcony has double doors, although one didn't quite close fully).

Being an hostal rather than a full-blown hotel, there is no lobby/foyer to speak of (just a reception desk at the entrance), but floor 1has a communal area with comfy chairs and a coffee table with various magazines.

The location is certainly handy, being within walking distance (for us, at least) of the port, the railway station and the Comes coach station (walking from the latter took us perhaps 10-15 mins, with suitcases), and unlike in some cities this doesn't mean the location is seedy - the surrounding streets are pleasant and it is right next to the Plaza de San Juan de Dios and within a few minutes' walk of the Cathedral.

Shopping-wise, the old city doesn't do too badly and the central market and Supersol and Carrefour Express supermarkets aren't far away. The Hostal is also not too far from the new part of town, should you want to go.

Originally, I was thinking of going for the Hostal San Francisco, which is even more in the heart of the old city, but had to give up that idea as they simply refuse to take bookings for fewer than three nights (likewise their affiliate Hostal Canalejas, which I also had my eye on), but in the end we were reasonably happy with the Bahía and can recommend it as a straightforward, well-positioned base in the enjoyable city of Cádiz.

  • Liked — A good base to explore the old city
  • Disliked — Perhaps not the best value for money we've ever had
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Zochtu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2006

My wife & I stayed for 2 nights at Hotel Bahia while our kids were staying with their grandparents.

Obviously there is a shortage of bed-space in the old town of Cadiz due to its geographic location, but although the hotel is well situated in a quiet street and fairly close to the main attractions, it's not worth paying EUR70 per night to stay here. Our room (307) was small and functional but in need of a serious make-over. The small double bed squeaked loudly (enough to wake my wife in the night each time I moved !) and the bathroom was nothing more than basic and functional.

There are no communal areas, not even a storage room for luggage which is just left in the hall.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel; it seems to me to be catering for the budget end of the market but charging mid-price rates.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room standard
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank El_Sueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cadiz hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
0.2 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
1.2 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#5 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
H2 Salymar
H2 Salymar
#15 of 29 in Cadiz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Convento Cadiz
Hotel Convento Cadiz
#4 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Hotel

Property: Bahia Hotel
Address: Calle Plocia 5, 11005 Cadiz, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bahia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing