We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and clean room”
Review of Bahia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bahia Hotel
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Cadiz
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Two star hostal with attached restaurant. Stayed on second floor with small balcony over looking the street. Balcony has two sets of windows to keep the noise down. Nice bright and clean room with good air con. Small bathroom typical of the old city hotels. Reception was friendly and english speaking for one reception, the other reception was spanish only but friendly as well.


Near ferry terminal and rail station.

Second night in cadiz.

Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chinatravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

If you like to be treated with anything resembling respect and decency, don't stay here. First of all, the name is 'Hostal Bahia' - this is most definitely NOT a hotel. Having read the review in The Rough Guide of Spain, my partner and I decided to try the Hostal Bahia for a couple of nights in Cadiz. I went in first and asked (in Spanish) whether they had a double room, to which I was told yes. Once we finally got into the room (spent aaaaaaaaages looking for a parking space nearby, bear this in mind if you are driving, we struggled and it was only for a motorbike) we found that it was a twin, and to be honest calling it shabby is too kind. The room was tiny, as was the bathroom, neither of them terribly clean. As a 'hotel' you may expect some kind of toiletries, but as this is definitely a hostal there are none.

We asked if there was a double room, as we had asked for, to be given a shrug and a 'i'll let you know' from the man on the reception. We were undecided at that moment whether to stay one night or two (we were too hot and tired to even attempt looking elsewhere there and then), so he said we could let him know.

A couple of hours later we went into town, to check out the area and also see if there was availability in any of the hotels, without any sucess. On returning to the hostal we spoke with another, very pleasant gentleman on reception, saying we would indeed stay 2 nights as planned. We saw him check the schedule in front of him, confirmed it was ok, and said we were booked in for 2 nights.

The next morning we decided to have an easy day (we had been travelling a lot and needed a rest) - go out for a late breakfast and a bit of sight-seeing in the old town. As we walked out the main door we saw the man who had checked us in at reception originally, talking on his mobile. He broke off from the conversation to tell us, with a smile on his face, that the our room had been booked by someone else, there were no other rooms, we couldn't stay another night, and we had less then an hour to check out. We explained that we had spoken with the other gentleman on reception and he had confirmed we could stay, but this man basically told us - tough, get out.

I got very upset at being treated this way, but we had no option but to pack up and leave. Whilst we were waiting at the desk to handover the 78E for the one night we had spent there (way too expensive, in my opinion), I could understand every word he was saying in Spanish as he was taking calls and accepting bookings for that night.

The awful treatment by one horrible individual has totally ruined any good memories I may have had of Cadiz. By all means visit the place, just DON'T book at the HOSTILE Bahia.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at a cost of 78 euro p/n. This was the most expensive place we stayed in our 2 week trip in Andalucia, and was also the smallest room. However, it was clean with en suite and air con, and despite overlooking a busy street and being so close to a main square, it was quiet (with the windows closed). Its dead central and great for easy walking to the main sites, bars, restaurants etc and even the beaches. The staff on the front desk were friendly and helpful, and even put up with our Spanglish!! There is no free parking nearby but there are some underground car parks for about 20 euro p/n. We found a space on a street off Avda Andalucia, outside the city walls, and about a 10 min walk to the hotel for free!! The beach at Playa Victoria is lovely, and full of locals on a Saturday which makes for great people watching!. There is a great tapas place at the end of Plocia to the hostal, called Aljibe (I think)- worth a try for some unusual tapas.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JuliaandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I really liked this if it were to have some of the privileges of a hotel but you weren't treated as a guest like you would be in a hotel, you are treated like a backpacker. That being said, the rooms are really nice and the bathrooms are small but adequate. Absolutely wonderful location and the tapas bar all the way on the end of the street and to the right has amazing food and I would have eaten there every night. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HollyGolightly23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Ignore most of the massive negative reviews. My wife and I stayed here in September, 2011. Yes it has small rooms. Yes it lists it's self as a 3 star when it is infact a 2 star. And yes it is on a pedestrian street with four late night tapas bars. But; it is one of the cheapest accomodatoons in Cadiz. It's clean and well run. And as for the noise at night: you are in Spain. If you aren't already aware of their desire to stay out and socialize until 1am a tapas bars...surprise! This was a pleasant stay in a hostel 2 blocks from train/bus station and walkin distance to every sight, beach and monument in town.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgaryCrisdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2008

As September is mostly still regarded as peak season in Cádiz, we ended up paying full whack for our two nights at the Bahía, i.e. EUR 76 per night for a twin room. Considering that this rate is room-only (the Bahía doesn´t offer breakfast, although you don't have to go far to find some), I have to say that it is more than we normally pay for a modest hostal (we managed to stay comfortably in central Madrid for EUR 55!), but then space is limited in the old city and I think this sort of rate is not unusual.

However, we were pleased to find on arrival a friendly, chatty (in Spanish) welcome, and a lift to take our cases up to the second floor. Although smoking is allowed in all rooms, the communal areas on the second floor were smoke-free, and in fact we didn't notice any smell of smoke in the room - it all smelled nicely of soap, as so many Spanish places do!

Both bedroom and en-suite bathroom were clean but on the small (and a touch dark) side, but had all the necessary facilities (incl. air con & TV) and comfortable beds, and despite having a room facing the street (complete with mini balcony), and being near a busy square, the noise level wasn't at all bad (the balcony has double doors, although one didn't quite close fully).

Being an hostal rather than a full-blown hotel, there is no lobby/foyer to speak of (just a reception desk at the entrance), but floor 1has a communal area with comfy chairs and a coffee table with various magazines.

The location is certainly handy, being within walking distance (for us, at least) of the port, the railway station and the Comes coach station (walking from the latter took us perhaps 10-15 mins, with suitcases), and unlike in some cities this doesn't mean the location is seedy - the surrounding streets are pleasant and it is right next to the Plaza de San Juan de Dios and within a few minutes' walk of the Cathedral.

Shopping-wise, the old city doesn't do too badly and the central market and Supersol and Carrefour Express supermarkets aren't far away. The Hostal is also not too far from the new part of town, should you want to go.

Originally, I was thinking of going for the Hostal San Francisco, which is even more in the heart of the old city, but had to give up that idea as they simply refuse to take bookings for fewer than three nights (likewise their affiliate Hostal Canalejas, which I also had my eye on), but in the end we were reasonably happy with the Bahía and can recommend it as a straightforward, well-positioned base in the enjoyable city of Cádiz.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Zochtu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2006

My wife & I stayed for 2 nights at Hotel Bahia while our kids were staying with their grandparents.

Obviously there is a shortage of bed-space in the old town of Cadiz due to its geographic location, but although the hotel is well situated in a quiet street and fairly close to the main attractions, it's not worth paying EUR70 per night to stay here. Our room (307) was small and functional but in need of a serious make-over. The small double bed squeaked loudly (enough to wake my wife in the night each time I moved !) and the bathroom was nothing more than basic and functional.

There are no communal areas, not even a storage room for luggage which is just left in the hall.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel; it seems to me to be catering for the budget end of the market but charging mid-price rates.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank El_Sueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
1.7 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
1.2 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#6 of 28 in Cadiz
787 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
6.9 mi away
H2 Salymar
H2 Salymar
#16 of 28 in Cadiz
136 reviews
63.7 mi away
Hotel Meson Fuente del Pino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Hotel

Address: Calle Plocia 5, 11005 Cadiz, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range: £43 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bahia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing