We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok rooms, €15 per day to use car park was extortionate”
Review of Occidental Cadiz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Occidental Cadiz
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

On arrival we discovered that the hotel would be charging us €15 per day to use the hotel car park! Rooms were of decent quality, reception staff not friendly and seemed as if it was an inconvenience just to have to deal with guests

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

We spent there 5 nights, off season. We got a superior room with a discount. Clean, comfortable, good location- 5 minutes from the beach, around 15-20 minutes to the old town. Close from the train station. I wouldn't mind staying there next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IlonaG611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed at the Barcelo for a week whilst visiting Cadiz and the surrounding area. The hotel is modern,clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly, efficient and helpful when needed. The hotel bar and restaurant is quite reasonable and not excessively expensive. It should be noted however that this is very much a business type hotel, if you are looking for tourist type accommodation then this may not be the most suitable venue in and around Cadiz.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Avenida de Andalucia can be a little noisy as they are located facing a busy road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank portlorj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We booked two rooms here for our family as we wanted to spend one day in Cadiz on our holiday in Spain on our way through to Granada for Christmas. The hotel is modern and rooms are clean and have everything you need. Beds are good and comfortable. However the hotel is sterile and characterless. More a businessman's hotel.

As it turned out we arrived on a Monday and everything was shut so really could have given Cadiz a miss or just stopped for a couple of hours because it was a waste of time. Really not much to do here if the main two attractions are not open. The church was open but not enough for a whole day.

My main comments for the hotel are below:

Location: we were disappointed with the location. It is not close to the old part of Cadiz and is quiet a walk. It is on the main busy road going into the town. There are no nice places to eat close by if you want to walk quickly to get something in the evening. Really not a nice place to stay if you are a tourist. I have not marked the hotel down for this as it was our fault for checking this before we booked. If you want a hotel close to the old part of town and where the main tourist things are then give this place a miss.

Service: Disappointing. We arrived and no one helped us with our bags into the hotel or even once we booked in. I really expect more from a four star hotel.

No double beds: We thought we booked one superior double room and one twin room. However we were told after we arrived that they do not have double rooms only a double suite. Which we did not get. Disappointing .

Facilities. There is really not much of a bar downstairs for a drink. They do have a room service menu which we did not use. They charge you 3 euros to use this. Wifi is free in the rooms.
There is a supermarket up the road if you want to stock up on food and drinks

Parking: Parking is 20 euros a day but there is no valet service. Once again not really good enough for 20 euros .They make you park the car yourself. They open the door for you and direct you into a lift which is very tight. Make sure you only have a small car otherwise it would not fit. There did seem to be heaps of parking in 24 hour car parks close by which may be cheaper than the 20 euros at the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zitaaussiemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Our global meeting was held at Barcelo, Cadiz. We had stayed for one week. The swimming pools facilities are excellent so is Spa. Each room has a balcony and chair.
There is private door to go to beach which was clean and nice. Only disappointing part was food served in the restaurants. The staff was inadequate to prepare hot meals and a group of 200 delgates from world over found it difficult to communicate as they could speak only in English.Very limited options were ther for Vegetarians.

Room Tip: north wing rooms have good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kasuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed in 2 bedroom apartment for 5 nights, note this complex is adjacent to the Hotel and under different management, however check in is still at Hotel and have full use of Hotel facilities. Apartment was great, 2 kings beds, large living area, excellent bathrooms and great balcony overlooking pools and ocean. Hotel pools excellent. Breakfast good and evening buffet very good. Staff obliging in f&b outlets and at gym. Was excellent value for money at end of high season, I understand the propery closes over the Winter/ Xmas period. Barossa Beach 5 minutes away, lovely sand and strtches for about 6 km's.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BootsSouthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

I don't like to give bad reviews but this hotel was a real let down. We chose it because we have stayed at several Barcelo Hotels and they have all been excellent. The Barcelo Cadiz is not in the same league. We have stayed in city Barcelos in Barcelona and Seville and they were both spotlessly clean and had a great design and feel about them. The Barcelo Cadiz is in quite a good location one street away from a great beach and a 10 minute walk from the heart of the old town. It also has a garage for parking although you get taken down in a car lift and it was not large. Bigger cars or bad drivers will have trouble parking. The hotel itself is much like a not great travel lodge. Our room was not very big, it had worn ripped laminate floor and it seemed tatty and it wasn't spotless. The corridors have drab carpets and the one on our floor needed a good hover. There was a cleaning lady walking about spraying air freshener everywhere, it was so strong, she would have been better to get the hoover out! No bath in our room and the reception staff had been so uninterested when we checked in that I couldn't be bothered asking him to change us to a different room. We were booked in for 2 nights but left after the first night.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scottishtravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
0.5 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
0.5 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
1.4 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 28 in Cadiz
1,783 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Victoria
Hotel Playa Victoria
#8 of 28 in Cadiz
675 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Spa Cadiz Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Cadiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Cadiz

Address: Avenida de Andalucia 89, 11009 Cadiz, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Cadiz)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cadiz
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cadiz
#5 Business Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range: £61 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Cadiz 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Cadiz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cadiz Hotel
Barcelo Hotel Cadiz
Barcelo Hotel cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing