We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down the best hostel I've stayed in”
Review of Casa Caracol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Caracol
Ranked #1 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Hands down the best hostel I've stayed in”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great location. Great people. Great hostel. I planned to stay here for two days and ended up staying a whole week. The atmosphere is very friendly which makes you feel at home instantly. They have dinner together every night, day trips to El Palmar and Cabo Trafalgar, lots of chill hammocks, a rooftop shower and much much more. Stay here if you want to have a good time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabianschilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    105
    30
    11
    15
See reviews for
10
75
206
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Casa caracol is a beautiful hostel filled with beautifully happy people. I only booked for two days but stayed for 6 because I didn't want to leave. The atmosphere is very relaxing and friendly. Traveling by myself, I made so many great friends here. This hostel offers some great day trips and the staff makes dinner every night for around 5 euros.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenz157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed at Casa Caracol with three university friends and we had an amazing time. It has a cute little terrace with hammocks and an outside shower if you want that! The people were very nice and accomodating and fun and knew all the best things about Cadiz. It was a great environment for young people with music and games and going out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Casa Caracol was a fantastic place to call home over the course of a long weekend. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the place itself was delightful. The terrace is such a treat and I particularly enjoyed the BBQ with strawberry mojitos. I would highly recommend this place and would happy to go back.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a good nights sleep, don't go for the hammock. It may be cheaper but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lalunabrilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Córdoba, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Only got to stay there one night because I was travelling on to Morocco but I would definitely stay here the next time I go to Cádiz. Good location with only a short walk from the station, really warm and welcoming atmosphere with helpful staff and a good nights sleep - pretty much everything you want in a hostel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aislín J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed at this hostel for 3 days and 2 nights and it was an incredible experience that I'll never forget. As soon as I walked in the door, the staff was extremely friendly, welcoming and informative. The beds were simple and comfortable and the bathrooms were very clean. For no extra charge they lent me a lock to use for our personal lockers in the room (though I doubt I needed one because the environment is very safe). I loved that they did cheap, delicious family dinners every night (pizza, paella, salad, etc.). The terrace was also a great place to hang out with chairs and hammocks. I met people from all over the planet: South Africa, Canada, Hungary, Italy, etc. I even met some one I shared mutual friends with from back in the USA. This is the type of hostel that offers plenty of services: bike rental, free walking tour, surfboard... but will also let you go and do your own thing and create an environment for everyone to mingle. Whether you go out or stay in, you'll have a good time. I definitely plan on returning to this hostel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elanya2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay at Casa Caracol!
We planned on staying for a day and extended it to 5! Delicious food, amazing staff, always had a hot shower-crazy cool outside shower too! Really cool vibe overall, would definitely go back in a heartbeat!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ShannonOsztonits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
1.2 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#5 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 29 in Cadiz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
0.3 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Convento Cadiz
Hotel Convento Cadiz
#4 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Caracol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Caracol

Property: Casa Caracol
Address: Calle Suarez de Salazar 4, 11006 Cadiz, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Caracol 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original Cadiz hostel, Casa Caracol is a chilled & relaxed place. We are located in the heart of the Cadiz old town less than a 5 minute stroll from the beaches & the train/bus station. Looking for FREE hot breakfasts, a rooftop terrace with hammocks & a cool outdoor shower – rock up to Casa Caracol!! Free fast WIFI everywhere. Proudly we have been the No 1 rated hostel on TripAdvisor, Google review, HostelWorld & Holiday Check for years. What else we got? • Surfing in El Palmar • Sandboarding in Bolonia • Cheap home cooked meals every night • Cheap bike rentals • Great home cinema ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Casa Caracol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing