We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome hostel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Caracol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Caracol
Ranked #1 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome hostel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Great hostel in a great location! Rooms are large and very clean and so are bathrooms and kitchen. Very friendly staff that always has advice on places to eat and stuff to do. Atmosphere is very nice and layed back, great place to relax!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    100
    28
    11
    15
See reviews for
10
68
200
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Arrived. Greeted with bizarre rule book which went into ridiculous details (don't put ash in the flower pots) and had a kind of joking theme that didn't really work. The place did not feel that welcoming generally, or as another traveler put it, it felt "tense".
After coming back from an evening meal I was saying good night to a friend. We were standing at the front desk talking in a normal voice. The staff member rudely asked us to be quiet and consider other people. I find it unbelievable normal conversations are not tolerated at the front desk of a hostel. This lead to me sitting out on the street (yes, this is a hospitality business, irony not lost). Except this was also too much. And then the staff just became ruder. "You see that room there? You see? Stand up and come and see! I want you to stand up and come and see! Why should they not sleep?" This continued for sometime. We were speaking in low voices outside of the property. I own and run a hostel and I would fire someone who spoke to guests like that. I'd probably fire myself for creating a hostel that basically becomes grim and stressful at night because the design seems to not have considered any space for reasonable amounts of noise. Me and my party left the next day. Out of three week trip around Spain and Morocco, this was definitely the low point by far. Avoid.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank HostalConosur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Hostel looks really nice, cosy and relaxed. Fine breakfast, rooms and bathrooms. The best about this hostel is how it looks, the people, the location and all the activities they organize. Sleeping is only not very good: the whole hostel is open, so you can hear everything and everyone... If they do something about that, it would be the best hostel I've been to I think!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Casa Caracol is one of those hostels you find once in a blue moon and never want to leave - many don't! Colourful small rooms, an amazing rooftop terrace with hammocks if your budget's tight, a starlit open air shower on the roof, pancakes for breakfast and always something delicious for the evening meal - all cooked by the staff who are super talented. Not only at cooking, but also at making you feel instantly at home and part of some magical family. They lay on walking tours of the city, outings to beaches and Roman romains and much much more besides. What they don't know about the area isn't worth knowing. Sunsets and great beaches minutes away - culture and sangria. A place to relax deeply and enjoy life to the full. Treat yourself to a slice of paradise. I loved it all.

Room Tip: Choose the ones onto the street - they have more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TangoSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Let's just say there aren't too many places where you can take a shower under an open sky. And then relax in a hammock. But even without the rooftop terrace it would be a great place. It feels like the staff live here and you are a friend who is visiting. The dinners each night really bring people together and are a good option to eat on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ilya Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Loved the place!The location is great - close to the train/buses, walking distance from local beaches, shops, cafes, restaurants, all at its doorstep. Great positive happy vibe.Loved the hammocks on the rooftop :) Super helpful staff & those who've stayed on and become a 'part of the furniture', adorable lot - Aitor, Tito, Marcos, Laura, Maria, Ivan, Gigi,Cangrejo, Elsa, Lici, Mate, Ben...they organise excursions, make pancakes every morning, play the guitar & sing, everyone eats together in evenings...when you get there you are made feel at home within minutes. It's like a family, home away from home. Something charming and magical in the air. Loved it...want to go back. It's the sort of place you don't want to leave, so I defo recommend it for at least more than 1 night, go with a smile and enjoy yourself!

Room Tip: No pool, but there is a ceilingless/roofless bathroom with a shower - under the stars ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani_love2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Its my third time to stay there need I say any more... Brilliant Hostel great location, but what really makes Casa Caracol are the staff really welcoming extremely helpful and there is always something to do - daily walking tours, day trips to other beaches, evening meals on the roof top... perfect!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cogs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
0.7 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
0.9 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 29 in Cadiz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Convento Cadiz
Hotel Convento Cadiz
#5 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.2 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#4 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Caracol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Caracol

Property: Casa Caracol
Address: Calle Suarez de Salazar 4, 11006 Cadiz, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Caracol 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original Cadiz hostel, Casa Caracol is a chilled & relaxed place. We are located in the heart of the Cadiz old town less than a 5 minute stroll from the beaches & the train/bus station. Looking for FREE hot breakfasts, a rooftop terrace with hammocks & a cool outdoor shower – rock up to Casa Caracol!! Free fast WIFI everywhere. Proudly we have been the No 1 rated hostel on TripAdvisor, Google review, HostelWorld & Holiday Check for years. What else we got? • Surfing in El Palmar • Sandboarding in Bolonia • Cheap home cooked meals every night • Cheap bike rentals • Great home cinema ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Caracol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing